We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel and Restaurant...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Airways Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Airways Hotel to your Saves list
Airways Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jacksons Parade | Jacksons International Airport, Port Moresby P O Box no 1942, Papua New Guinea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MAY Special !
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Port Moresby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel and Restaurant...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Actually I haven't had a chance to check-in in their rooms but my friend did and I always visits here every time. The room was very clean and the place is overlooking to the airport. They have a nice restaurant with very nice foods, they have spa and a parlor if someone needs haircut. The have a nice coffee shop with a nearby swimming pool. If you want to take a walk they have a safe and a quiet place too.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hello Aida

Thank you for your comments.
I am pleased to know that you enjoy our food and beverage facilities. As you may know we have four food outlets, Bacchus, Vue, Deli KC/Vespa room and 7Cs. 7Cs also has free wifi internet for all diners.

The Spa is the best place to be after a long day, flight or just to be there. The staff is trained and once you enter the doors you feel relaxed already. We have just won the Best Hotel Spa Award. Bliss the Spa is a divine place.

Next time you are in the hotel, please call on me and I can show you our rooms. You will love them.

We look forwrad to seeing you at the Airways soon.

Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    97
    19
    12
    2
See reviews for
8
30
26
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed at Airways in November and December with a small group. We made our bookings through an agent initially and went without a hitch, the first thing you notice in the change in atmosphere once you enter the gates, very secure and respectful staff welcome and allow one to relax and be at ease.
The first visit in November we were accommodated in the main wing, the rooms were huge, modern and clean. access to the top bar was via an elevator at the far end of the hotel, food and the view was first class, albeit pricey.

The second visit was brought forward 24hours at late notice. there were no rooms available, however the hotel accommodated our group in the private residences for the period, outstanding accommodations 3 x two bedroom apartments and 1 x two level two bedroom villa. at no extra cost. this service and flexibility is what will keep myself and my companies business for the long term.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hello AdrianHicks2013

Thank you for your comments and your business.

I am very pleased to hear your feedback as we spend a lot of time to train our people to look after the guests and make them feel welcome to Airways Hotel and also to PNG.

Our security is run by International Industry professionals backed by many CCTV cameras monitored 24 hours. Our property is spread out and have many trees and walks. A park for relaxation, a bank and a mini shop for daily nececities. They are all located in the secure parameters of Airways.

A choice of four food and beverage outlets can satisfy most guests. The food is fresh and we avoid any processed food and artificial colourings.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Airways on your next visit to Port Moresby PNG.

Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

As with all Moresby Hotels you don't get what you pay for! The price is hellish simply because it's PNG - not because of its standard! Don't get us wrong, the hotel is nice and the staff are friendly but when you compare what you get for your $$ with other destinations you may be a little disappointed. (I hope the staff get to share in some of the profits this hotel must be making!)

The rooms are nice and well kept. There is nothing in your mini bar so if you just want a coke you have to dial room service and pay the additional room service fee which is a bit cheeky! The only other critisicm we have is the bed has a doona and cover rather than a top sheet and cover - which means it's all or nothing! Not well thought through for the tropics! The restaurant and pool area is really nice overlooking the airport.


The shuttle to and from the airport is incredibly quick and efficient. If you are catching an internal flight give yourself plenty of time at the airport. Organised pandemonium is how we would best describe our experience. (But it was Xmas Eve).

The saving grace for this hotel is its location and the fact that it has a quirky restaurant area with an old aircraft wedged into the side of it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hello PJ-Scuba

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay.

I agree with you you that PNG hotel prices are high when you compare some of the hotels in Asia and perhaps Australia also. Its is worth metioning that all things are expensive here like electricity, gas, water,Security etc etc.

Thank you for your suggestion of profit sharing. Our staff are provided above average wages, duty meals, incentives, 24 hour free transport, medical services and some also get housing allowances. The hotel also supports a number of local charities like Buk Bilong Pikinini as our comittment to the society that we live in. The Airways Hotel is privately owned by Papua New Guinea owners for past 26 years.

We acknowledge your comments about the sheets.

I disagree with your comments that our saving grace is the close proximity to the Airport and a restaurant with a Dakota hanging on its side.

We have different rates for all our three different wings and the guests can chosse their price range. Our rates are very competative for the quality of product that we offer.

Thank you once again.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Port Moresby is an unsafe place to travel by yourself day or night but the Airways provides a safe haven if you need to spend a night or two in the city. The hotel staff were very helpful when I was screwed by an tour company (totally unrelated to the hotel) and my 2-week tour was cancelled at the last minute without any refund. I was very grateful for the upgrade they gave me on my return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hello YoungJa-2

Thank you for your comments. Not happy to hear that the tour company did not look after you. Our security is run by International industry professionals backed by several 24 hours CCTV cameras around the property.

I am pleased to to know that the team looked after you.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next adventure to PNG.

Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I were in and out of Port Moresby 3 times in November. I booked The Airways the first time based on other traveler's reports - they do not do this hotel justice!
We travel considerably and this is one of the best managed hotels we have ever stayed in. The manager is always around and very observant - once we left for an early flight that was delayed several hours - we returned to the hotel to wait - the manager noticed our return and ensured we were looked after - this is exceptional.
Our first night we were upgraded to a Dakota Room - we always booked this room class on our next stays - fabulous. Wifi is complimentary in the lounges and they are very nice - leather furniture, staff to assist you, coffee and tea and snacks - and then - a very nice cocktail service with appetizers in the evening - again complimentary.
The restaurants, spa and fitness facilities are top notch and the staff fantastic.
When you are in Port Moresby - stay at The Airways - don't think about the price - stay here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hello WanderingCdns

Thank you for your comments. Its always nice to receieve comments from senior reviewers. I am very pleased to know that enjoyed your stay and the staff made you feel at home and relaxed. We apppreciate it as you took the time to notice the things that we take pride in providing to our guests to make their stay a memoriable one. Especially the Dakota wing.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you to Airways on your next visit to Port Moresby PNG.

Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing dinner at Bacchus Restaurant last night.. Food was great, service excellent. I have eaten in both restaurants a number of times and the food is always excellent. A night I will remember.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hello Damian A

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your New Years Dinner at Bacchus. We appreciate that you chose to spend your New Years Eve with us. Being a frequent diner you will know that the quality of the food is high as we only use the best possible products. Avoid any artificial food colouring, MSG and processed items. The fish is fresh that we buy in the local market daily. The steaks are also local as well as top quality imports.

I take this opportunity to wish you and your loved ones a Very Happy and Healthy New Year. We hope to see you again and again at Airways Hotel.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here whilst travelling for work, we stayed in suites with lounge access. Free wifi was not available in the room which was disappointing given we were paying 500 AUD per night. Food was good and service was excellent.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello Glen D

Thank you choosing Airways Hotel for your recent visit to Port Moresby, PNG.
I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and provided your feedbck.

Thank you for your comment regarding the Free WIFI in the room. The free WIFI is available 24 hours in all our 4 Lounges and in few public areas. We are currently working on some options for free WIFI in the rooms for our guests. I am sure that you are aware of the Internet costs in PNG.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Airways HOTEL on your next visit to PNG.

With Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Airways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Hotel

Address: Jacksons Parade | Jacksons International Airport, Port Moresby P O Box no 1942, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airways Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airways Hotel is nestled into the mountainside in its own botanical gardens with stunning views from crystal clear waters of Bootless Bay to the majestic mountains of the Owen Stanley Ranges. While its surroundings are remarkable, the hotel's international reputation has been built on equally unique interiors, not to mention first-class service and a passionate attention to detail. The hotel offers finely appointed rooms, exquisite decor and world-class facilities in an environment that is calm, secure and spacious. You will also find one of Port Moresby's most popular social hubs, a place for business meetings and networking, and weekend family relaxation. While princes are always welcome, you don't have to be a prince to stay at Airways. From the moment you enter its gates, you'll know you have arrived at a place apart: a unique and unrivalled hotel where your convenience and comfort is our priority. Airways. Always a pleasure ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Airways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airways Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.