We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Hotel & Apartments

Save Saved
You added Gateway Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Jacksons Parade | (Overlooking Jacksons Airport), Port Moresby 121, Papua New Guinea (Formerly Flag Hotel Gateway)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in Port Moresby
1 review
“Great place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Just had a week in new guinea and stayed at gateway. Everything went perfect with our room, food andservice was great. I would reccomend anyone stay hear if going to new guinea!!! I will be returning next year and definitely stay at gateway

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralSeaHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Golfertobprice,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at Gateway Hotel & Apartments. It was heartening to read that you enjoyed your stay and will be returning, we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Staff & Management
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    30
    17
    12
See reviews for
1
11
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I recently stayed a week at the Gateway Hotel and Apartments on business.The GM Matt Cooper, Brent and all the staff went out of their way to make sure my stay was enjoyable.The room was clean and nicely furnished. The pool area was a great place to unwind at the end of a day. Thanks again Gateway for making my stay a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralSeaHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Gateway Hotel & Apartments.

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to enjoy the facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future.

Regards
Management & Staff
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

as for me I can say-no experience with broken A/C in apartment unit. Staff are friendly, but everybody has to bear in mind that this is 3rd world country and therefore you can expect some misunderstandings even though staff here are trained (second problem is fluctuation of employees in PNG itself-one day they will work just fine and then they will not show up at work for a week without any excuses.
Food is generally good but c`mon 70 kina for buffet and rates almost similar as Airways-which is way higher quality (either food or accommodation)
Management is very friendly and approachable with any kind of request (fe. gym equipment,ideas how to improve hotel etc)
So basically I would suggest hotel management to lower the rates little bit as there is no way you will be direct competition for Airways, unless you build brand new hotel....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoralSeaHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Michal250,
Thank you for taking time to share your observations; they will assist us moving forward, we strive to continuously improve the quality of or our product and service. It was pleasing to read that you find the management team approachable and receptive. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Gateway Hotel & Apartments in the near future.

Regards
Staff & Management
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Ok, so I booked into the hotel that afternoon, after waiting for an hour as the reception and service was very slow. The reception staff gave the impression that they did not want to be there and had better things to do. My room was ok except for the air-con wasn't working. At around 2am I was woken up by the noise of five drunk men sitting outside my ground floor verandah. I don't know how they got there but this terrified me!!! I called security but they were not on service. After waiting an horendous 4 hours and scared to death, I was more than thrilled to check out and never again step foot in Gateway again!!!
Warning: This hotel is not recommended to expatriats!!!!
Unless you are willing to face what I did. I highly recommend Airways Hotel and Grand Papua. These are the hotels in which I now go to and they are accomodating! The fees are higher than Gateway but it is worth it in terms of safety!

Room Tip: Do not even bother booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for this immediate feedback that will be investigated. During the night hours the hotel has a Senior Night Manager as well as a large team of security guards both in-house and contract who should patrol and monitor all areas of the hotel property. This would appear to have lapsed on Saturday evening for which there is no excuse.

Please be assured that we will follow this feedback up and find out why appropriate action was not taken during that evening when you registered your concerns about late night noise. Such behavious by guests distrubing other guests should not be tolerated at any time of the day, certainly not the early hours of the morning.

Again, thank you for your promt response which makes it certainly easier to follow up.

Regards,


Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Dreadful...On checking was given a key card for a room with an ineffective temporary A/C (cooler on balcony than in!), back down to reception for another room and was given a key card that wasn't programmed for the 2nd. room, housemaid opened door with her master to reveal a room with NO A/C! Back to reception to try a third room, which had other issues...partial A/C, no shower screen, TV remote u/s, no glasses, bulbs blown! Gave up and "acclimated"!! :-(

While in the pool noted a lad had his Kokoda trek ruined by a serious cut to the foot from one of the many chipped or missing pool tiles (despatch straight back to Oz).

Look, I know this is PNG running on PNG time but this hotel is way overpriced (room, food and drinks) with a maintenance program that is way behind. It urgently needs an overhaul to live up to it's A$300++ tariff

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Brendon,
Please allow me to take this opportunity to again apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay with us. We are undergoing refurbishment of rooms presently, which includes the full upgrading and installation of new air-conditioning units. Unfortunately this has caused some confusion within our team of enthusiastic staff as to which rooms are available for guest use especially during periods of high occupancy and with group movement.
Our tariffs are in line with what is available within Port Moresby, for which we provide a variety of facilities and services that some of our competitors are not able to. We are undergoing a period of change, your feedback will assist our management team to improve our services and highlights areas where addition training is required.
We take Guest and Staff safety seriously, work on the pool offending pool tile was completed immediately and prior to your return stay, further cosmetic tiling has commenced.
Your experience does not reflect the level of service we strive to ensure each and every guest receives. The group you travelled with are always a pleasure to host at the hotel as we have done so for many years, we look forward to that continued relationship into the future.
Once again, thank you for your feedback, it will be used in our ongoing staff training sessions.

Management & Staff
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel is probably gives even less value for money than your average Port Moresby hotel, which, pound for pound have to be some of the most expensive hotels in the world.
Where else in the world would they give you a room with broken air conditioning and a portable unit to replace it that leaks water all over the floor and means that you can't lock the room since it has to have a bloody great duct going outside, and still think charging US$280 a night is OK?
I could probably cope with not having a remote for the TV and the water supply failing, but the diaorherra from the $70 buffett made that a little more than I could take.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel. The good news is Port Moresby is about to suffer a glut of hotel rooms as new h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Trev,

Thank you for providing feedback on your last stay at Gateway Hotel & Apartments. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay with regard to air conditioning. During the time of your stay we were in the midst of a significant refurbishment program involving the removal of old air-conditioning units and installation of new units. There is no excuse for the level of you experienced during your stay, should the opportunity arise to welcome you back to Gateway Hotel and Apartments, we would welcome the opportunity to provide you with the friendly and professional service we strive to provide for each and every guest.

Management & Staff
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have stayed at the Gateway Hotel many times over the past several years (fortnightly roster for 6 months in 2011 and also for the past several months) and found it to be quite pleasant. It's my experience that things don't always go as planned in PNG however I feel that if you're are polite then the majority of the staff is willing to help to the best of their ability. The grounds are nicely kept, the pools are lovely and the gym is sufficient.

Room Tip: If they're available then request the new executive rooms... They are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for making the time to provide feedback to theGateway Hotel & Apartments on your recent stay, please accept my apologizes for the delay in correspondence to you.

The managment and staff of the Gateway Hotel and Apartments are working towards developing an number of aspects of our service to improve the guest experience, we will certainly be using your feedback as part of this ongoing training.

As well as complting an upgrade of all the hotels air conditioning system we have also completed the ongoing upgrade of gym equipment.

Again, thank you for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gateway Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel & Apartments

Address: Jacksons Parade | (Overlooking Jacksons Airport), Port Moresby 121, Papua New Guinea (Formerly Flag Hotel Gateway)
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to its proximity to the airport and excellent facilities, the Gateway Hotel is an extremely popular conference venue, particularly for delegates visiting Port Moresby. A short drive and only minutes away from both, the international & domestic terminals in the hotel's free shuttle bus, brings you to its serene ambience surrounded by lush tropical gardens and impeccable service, which provide for a memorable and pleasant stay. All 130 modern rooms, some with Internet access, plus 63 serviced apartments surround a pool which is centrally located. 24-hour Foreign Exchange desk is located at Reception. The Wild Orchid Restaurant serves some of the finest International cuisine in Port Moresby and features a buffet from a different part of the globe each night. Alternatively, choose one of Enzo's Pizzas in the Rattle 'n' Hum Pizzeria & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Gateway Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel And Apartments
Quality Inn Port Moresby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.