We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to write home about (except the eye watering prices...)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gateway Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Jacksons Parade | (Overlooking Jacksons Airport), Port Moresby 121, Papua New Guinea (Formerly Flag Hotel Gateway)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay, Play & Be Merry!
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Port Moresby
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about (except the eye watering prices...)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you need to be near POM airport this is a very convenient hotel, less that 5 minutes away.

On the plus side: the hotel has very friendly and reasonably efficient staff; a free shuttle bus to and from every flight; and clean rooms with decent showers.

On the down side: there is no gym (very important as there is very little to do in Port Moresby); and prices are very high. I paid approximately US$ 450/night on a three star-standard room, excluding breakfast and internet (both a rip off).

Room Tip: Request one of the new rooms (numbers start with 8)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Good afternoon EmilRio,

Thank you for taking the time to post your commnets on your recent stay at the Gateway Hotel & Apartments on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all feedback and take seriously points or issues raised by our past guests.

With regard to the Gym facilities, the hotel does in fact have a gym facility which you could have enquired about at the hotel reception, this is actually located in the Apartment area of the hotel and while we do not openly advertise this feature, it is certainly available for hotel guests to use.

I am not to sure about rates equivilent to US$450 per night. There are a number of excellent booking avenues to use such as wotif.com where we regular post very competiitive rates based on our occupancy at the time. Our standard price for full breakfast is K55 (in GST) which equates to around $20.00 (US).

Internet is an ongoing issue in PNG especially for international travellers who are not used to this expense, the unreliability of it and of course the poor download speeds. We are constantly working with service providers to improve this offering and will continue to do our best to offer a fast, reliable and price friendly internet model.

Again Emilrio, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Gateway Hotel on your next visit through Port Moresby, should you wish, please feel free to email me your booking directly to the hotel care of mcooper@coralseahotels.com.pg

Warm regards,


Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    36
    34
    21
    13
See reviews for
4
14
18
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have found unfortunately that every time I have been booked in here that the booking is delayed and my trip starts off with unneeded stress

This time, to add insult to injury the following happened

I was given an older room where the airconditioning did not work (much needed in this climate)

Got the room changed; aircon worked but TV not working and lights over the bed do not work either. Advised staff at front desk of this , but nothing has happened as yet

Also, ordered room service and received incorrect meal; the person who brought the meal through was apologetic and helpful however and took that back but had to make 2 trips as a receipt had not been provided

As I travel to PNG regularly I am aware of the pace here, but when a room is costing over $300 per night the expectation is that facilities will be of at least adequate standard.

I do not have a problem with the people, as they are trying to do their jobs, I am however disappointed at the seeming lack of enthusiasm shown when a paying guest (who keeps them in employment) asks for action to occur regarding repairs and does not receive any feedback at all

I will advise my people to book elsewhere as I have now come to expect an unpleasant experience if I stay at the Gateway

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear DLBrisbane,

Thank you for taking the time to respond with your comments on Tripadvisor. While your feedback is somewhat disappointing guest feedback such as this provides us a training tool for staff especially in the area of how to hand guest complaints and feedback and the importance of service to optimize guest satisfaction, especially when a problem arises.

DLBrisbane, unfortunately during some peak periods, especially during the hot weather we are currently experiencing our A/C system can be unrelaible in some areas of the hotel, power fluctuation and running on generators contribute to this problem regularly. Fortunately we have a solution to this and implimentation of this work will start in weeks ending this problem.

DLBrisbane, depending how you book your rooms when traveling to Port Moresby in the future, please do not hesitate to either confirm your booking with me directly or provide me you booking details for me to do on your behalf and I will ensure that you are placed in a suitable room that will meet your needs. I can be contact directly on mcooper@coralseahotels.com.pg.

Again, I apoligize for an inconvenience caused to your during your stay, on behalf of the hotels managment we look forward ot the opportunity to service you beter in the future.

Regards,


Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NSW
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Gateway gets mixed reviews but I always find it more than adequate. High points for quality of room ( large), bed ( king), welcome ( genuine). Very generous breakfast, and reasonable meal at night. The shuttle bus is frequent and makes arrival easy. So I will continue to stay at the Gateway when visiting Port Moresby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Bligh,

Thank you for taking the time recently to provide feedback on Tripadvisor.

All feedback provide to us is important, it provides a simple method for us to let our staff know about our guests experience at the Gateway Hotel and how they impact on this, either positively or negitively.

Your continued patronage is important to us, your point about receiving a "genuine welcome" is something that the staff can be proud of and certainly something we can build on in the future to improve the impacts of our service to increase the quality of the guest experience.

Bligh, I look forward to seeing you on your future visits to the hotel.

With regards,


Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Good:
Near the airport.
Staff are friendly.
Food is okay.
Nice pool.

The Bad:
Some staff are not very experienced leading to sometimes challenging situations.
the room rate is unbelievable high for what is no more than a 3* hotel.
Room is outdated and not large (granted I may have stayed in one of the older accommodations).
No fitness centre makes this a hotel I would not choose to stay at in future.

If you are staying in Port Moresby then you will be paying through the roof for hotel accommodation. This hotel was roughly 500 AUD a night (did not even include breakfast or internet) - a complete joke.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Duge,

Please accept my apoligizes in corresponding with you on your feedback to Tripadvisor from your stay at the Gateway Hotel and Apartments in August.

Your "Good" comments are most appreciated, staff training and development in our environment is ongoing to ensure our guests receive positive service experiences in a friendly manner. With regard to food, we are constantly changing our menu's to meet the needs of our regular clientel and I agree with you that dining around the poolside area can be quite relaxing.

With regards to the gym, the hotel has quite a well equiped gym in the hotels apartment area along with a second swimming pool and tennis court. Please next time you are at the hotel either staying with us on on a transit stop over the staff would be happy to show you through these facilities.

Duge, we also have a number of room styles, depending on how your booking was made reservation would have allocated your room. We have Premier Rooms which do vary in size however you may find our Executive Rooms more suited to your need.

The room rates at the Gateway obviously flctuate based on occupancy levels and length of stay, I am however not aware of any rates in the market place to the value of $500 AUD. Wotif.com can offer some very good specials based on short lead time or well advanced booking, you may wish to look at this when considering a future stay or please contact me directly.

Duge, on behalf of the hotels managment I would again like to thank you for your feedback and do hope to see you stay with us again in the future. Should I be able to assist with any future booking, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on mcooper@coralseahotels.com.pg

With regards,


Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is close to the international airport. The room rate is expensive by international standards. My room was very large but it may depend on which block you're in, The hotel has a nice pool and restaurant. Security is good which is a necessity in this town! Had a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Andy,

It has been remiss of me not to correspond and thank you for taking the time to complete feedback through Tripadvisor.

While I noted you visited the Gateway Hotel sometime ago (August 2011) but only recently completed the review (July 2012) I would hope that in the future we will have the pleasure of you joining us again.

Andy again, thank you for taking the time.

Regards,


Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

The services are good but the rooms are very expensive for what they are worth. The hotel is very close to airport and a free transport is provided by the hotel to and from airport.

If you are in transit to other destination, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Larry K,

Thank you for your feeback dated July on Tripadvisor.

Larry, we receive a large portion of our business due to our proximity to the airport, being able to provide a safe, secure, clean and friendly environment for our guests is our purpose. While we get it right the majority of the time, we can have problem, it is how we address these that count and having our managment and staff learn from them.

Larry, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you bakc to the Gateway Hotel and Apartments in the future, unfortunately at most times our hotel rates are driven by demand - wotif.com at the moment offers some excellent rates at the hotel which fluctuate based on occupancy, you are often able to find some specials there. Note also Larry that should you be transiting through Port moresby for the day and have some time to kill - so to speak please feel free to approach one of our Coral Sea hotels staff at the airport (International or Domestic) or look for the dark blue Coral Sea Hotels bus can pop up to the hotel for a couple of hours and take advantage of the facilities while you wait for those flights. Transfers to and from the airport are complimentary.

Larry, again your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to seeing you sometime in the future.

Regards,


Matthew Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papua New Guinea
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

New rooms are much nicer than the old ones (the rejuvenated ones). 3 minutes to airport. pool is nice and food in restaurant is really good. Service is somewhat slow in the restaurant, but staff are friendly enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel & Apartments

Address: Jacksons Parade | (Overlooking Jacksons Airport), Port Moresby 121, Papua New Guinea (Formerly Flag Hotel Gateway)
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to its proximity to the airport and excellent facilities, the Gateway Hotel is an extremely popular conference venue, particularly for delegates visiting Port Moresby. A short drive and only minutes away from both, the international & domestic terminals in the hotel's free shuttle bus, brings you to its serene ambience surrounded by lush tropical gardens and impeccable service, which provide for a memorable and pleasant stay. All 130 modern rooms, some with Internet access, plus 63 serviced apartments surround a pool which is centrally located. 24-hour Foreign Exchange desk is located at Reception. The Wild Orchid Restaurant serves some of the finest International cuisine in Port Moresby and features a buffet from a different part of the globe each night. Alternatively, choose one of Enzo's Pizzas in the Rattle 'n' Hum Pizzeria & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Gateway Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel And Apartments
Quality Inn Port Moresby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.