We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing much to talk!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Port Moresby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Port Moresby to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Hunter & Douglas St, Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Port Moresby
Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nothing much to talk!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The hotel needs refurbishment, massive refurbishment. Due to lack of supply, prices in PNG are extremely high. Service quality is below expectations at this price.
Crowne Plaza Hotel, PNG has a shuttle service for airport pick and drop. They have two types of breakfast, one for all guests, and the other for executive floor people. Gym has few equipment. I never saw it too busy.
Staff is courteous, that perhaps is the only positive side of story.
For me, the Indian restaurant just opposite the hotel was place for dinner. Rooms on the main road side are noisy.

Room Tip: Try non-smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby.

Please accept my apologies that we were unable to deliver an experience to your expectations. Your comments will be shared with the team as we continually try to improve our service offerings.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

David Bowen & TEAM Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    33
    38
    9
    6
See reviews for
1
3
12
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our team are currently in Port Moresby interviewing students and the hotel we are staying at ( next to Crowne Plaza) has no facilities available for the next two days for us to continue our interviews.
We went to speak to the friendly staff at Crowne Plaza who went out of their way to assist us.
The young man on duty at the front desk did everything to ensure we have a meeting place tomorrow. Thanks too to the security personnel who safely escorted us back to our hotel.
We will be booking with Crowne Plaza on our next visit to Port Moresby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby.

It is fantastic to read your feedback and we shall celebrate this with the team.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

David Bowen & TEAM Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Good ambiance, food at Rapala restaurant is good. Walk outside is not advisable especially after hours. ELa Beach Hotel and Grand Papua are near by. Rooms facing the Ela Beach are more peaceful, the ones facing the harbour are scenic especially the evenings. Book floors 7th to 9th as they have access to lounge and free wifi

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Ela Beach have a full view of the ocean. And the rooms facing the harbour are sceni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby.

We were pleased you enjoyed our Rapala restaurant which is listed as the number one restaurant in Port Moresby on Trip Advisor.

Booking into an Executive room is a great tip for visitors as this includes access to our wonderful Club Lounge.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

David Bowen & TEAM Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

A Functional hotel in Port Moresby nothing more nothing less.
Pro's - Staff they are friendly and helpful.
Con's- The hotel overall is warn out. Little things like room numbers on the doors, some are missing. In my room the table leg was broken the repair a poorly done couple of screws. The staff are wearing uniforms that are clean but are old have warn spots, but are clean. the pool area is loaded with broken furniture.
Overall appearance of the staff and hotel in general is poor.
This hotel is obviously a cash cow for the hotel group, little to no investment is made.
At nearly $400 a night not a good value but with hotel rooms at a premium in PM the management doesn't need to do anything to keep a high occupancy rate.

Staff are friendly and nice.
Internet speed was intermittent. at times ok not high speed though most of the day the speed was a good dial-up speed.

Airport Shuttle- Reconfirm Reconfirm Reconfirm

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the pool are quieter. Ocean view rooms in the front are quite noisy, there is a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby.

Please accept my apologies that we were unable to deliver an experience to your expectations, we are working to rectify and improve the areas you have highlighted.

We were pleased you found our team friendly and helpful.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

David Bowen & TEAM Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Was once the premium hotel in Port Moresby,the likes of Airways and Grand Papua have moved the goal posts now.
Rooms are dated looking but still comfortable.
Food is really good with a range of different themed buffets on each night.
Probably better value than the other main hotels in Port Moresby.

Room Tip: Stay away from the bar adjacent to the Hotel as its a dump and not the safest. Restaurant within th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby.

We were pleased you found our rooms comfortable and our Food and Beverage offerings enjoyable, particularly our themed buffet's. These are actually a key highlight of our hotel and enjoyed by local residents of Port Moresby also.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

David Bowen & TEAM Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I only stayed one night and it was my first trip to Port Moresby, so I don't have a lot to compare it to, but the hotel facilities and staff were lovely.

I would have rated it as excellent but there were delays in check-in. Both for us and obviously the guests in front of us. No explanation was really given as the staff scrolled through the computer.

The security was fine, high fences, people manning the gate but perhaps not as many staff as I saw at other hotels. (Where we had lunch and dinner.)

The room itself was great with comfortable bedding, a really quite air con, large room and a really big bathroom.

So in all a great hotel and would come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby.

Please accept my apologies that our check in experience was not as quick and efficient as it could have been. I have shared your comments with our Rooms Division Manager so we can review how this can be improved.

We were pleased to hear you found your room spacious and comfortable.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

David Bowen & TEAM Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I always return here when I visit Port Moresby, despite the fact that this property is in need of refurbishment. The reason? Well, I'm an IHG Platinum Member & I really enjoy the privileges that this membership bestows (location in the Club Floors, free access to the club etc), but also because, of all the hotels in Port Moresby, the Crowne Plaza is brilliantly managed by David Bowen, the General Manager; the staff are very friendly and helpful; the food is consistently good, from the cafe, the more formal Rapala Room, and even the room service (far superior, in fact, to the brand-new, classier Grand Papua Hotel right next door to the Crowne Plaza). Still the best place to stay in town, in my opinion! The rooms are comfortable and clean and have all the services one would expect from a better class establishment.

Room Tip: I don't think any rooms are inferior, really. They all boast spectacular views over the old, dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby.

It was our pleasure looking after you are we are very pleased you enjoyed the benefits of being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum Member.

We have a great team here at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby and they will all be very happy to hear your wonderful comments.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

David Bowen & TEAM Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Port Moresby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Port Moresby

Address: Cnr Hunter & Douglas St, Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Port Moresby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Crowne Plaza Port Moresby and you'll discover a different perspective on Papua New Guinea. Crowne Plaza Port Moresby is situated on a hilltop in the heart of the business district and commands panoramic views of the Coral Sea and surrounding inland areas.Conveniently located 15 minutes from Jackson's International Airport, it makes visiting Port Moresby a highly comfortable prospect for business traveller. Crowne Plaza Port Moresby's contemporary design is unique, capturing the rich vibrant essence of the indigenous culture. With superior accommodation, an Executive Club Lounge Floor, guest facilities and business services, Crowne Plaza welcomes you to a safe,secure and relaxing haven in Port Moresby. For someone who travels often for business, the Crowne Plaza Port Moresby is a welcoming oasis that sets a new standard in hotel accommodation for Papua New Guinea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Port Moresby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby Hotel Port Moresby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.