We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what it once was” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Port Moresby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Port Moresby to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Hunter & Douglas St, Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Port Moresby
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“not what it once was”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I can not believe this Hotel carries the very good name of Crowne Plaza our bookings were stuffed up( so glad I took my iPad to prove it had been booked and payed for) room was dirty and smelt of mould we had no towels. food was average but I must admit the staff were very friendly.This Hotel is in need of a serious update to bring it in line with Crowne Plaza standards.

Room Tip: Stay at Airways
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the level of service you received. It is definitely not acceptable and your feedback has been shared with the team.

If you do choose to stay with us again I ask that you contact me personally so that I can ensure a great experience.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

David Bowen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    33
    38
    9
    6
See reviews for
1
3
12
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at the Crowne due to domestic flight cancellation, so was at the expense of Air Niugini, perhaps this had a bearing on how ordinary we found it. Our room was clean, and so was the bathroom, but unfortunately an unpleasant musty smell in the room. The bed was very comfortable, but the bed covering (bedspread) was not looking so clean. Nothing at all in minibar and after 4 calls to try and get some bottled water we gave up. We ate in the restaurant which was pleasant enough and food was of reasonable standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby.

Please accept my apologies for the level of service you received. It is defiantly not our usual standard and I have personally spoken to our Food and Beverage Manager and Executive Housekeeper to prevent it occurring again.

We were very pleased to hear you found our rooms and bathroom clean and beds comfortable.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

David Bowen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have had a 47 year association with PNG & I've seen this hotel from it's birth (under a different brand) & I've stayed here many times, had many a fine meal and enjoyed the company of friends at numerous functions. I stayed here again this month on a visit to Port Moresby, and while the staff did their best to make my stay as comfortable as possible (for which I say "thank you"), the Crown Plaza is now a rather tired old lady, resting on her laurels of a bygone era. The hotel needs refurbishing, from top to bottom. Gone are those halcyon days, with average 80% occupancy and little competition. It's time for this hotel to re-invent itself!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear 255069GeeBee,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Crowne Plaza around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations regarding being dated. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I left the Grand Papua Hotel and moved over to the Crowne Plaza because not only could they provide me internet service, they gave me access to the executive lounge. It was a great deal. The internet worked fine and I was happy on that score.

The staff were very responsive and took great care of me. The breakfast good, the bacon among the best I have ever tasted. Also, the fresh scones were to die for. In the lounge, evening happy hour, wine was open pour, hard liquor on request. The grazing was good (not great, but pretty good), and one could easily make dinner of it. My room was clean, the bed excellent, and I slept well. There is a nice pool and a small spa if you want some very competent pampering. It is not a new hotel. If you have to have shiny, go next door. But for service orientation, good dining, and friendly staff, choose the CP.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby.

We were very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular liked our Club Lounge and breakfast facilities.

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our team. They work extremely hard every day to ensure our guests have a great experience when staying at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby and they will take a lot of inspiration from your feedback.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

David Bowen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong KOng
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

They call the country land of the unexpected and that's OK, but if you want to experience the hotel of excuses try this property if you want to believe in incompetence, excuses and absolutely the worst service in the world. When you ask for something expect fairy tales and happy horse.
I have stayed here several times and it's always the same, of course I'm forever hopeful that it's changed it hasn't. Management never replies and even a simple request for some ice takes 4 requests and then the usual answer is there is no ice left. Go down to the lounge and you will see ice. Bad Food, Bad service and Bad attitude shrouded by polite incompetence.

Room Tip: If you can get a room less than 400 consider yourself lucky
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby.

Please accept my sincere apologies for level of service you received. It is definitely not the usual level of service here at the hotel.

I have personally reviewed your feedback with our team to ensure the issues you have highlighted are rectified.

I have also sent you a personal message with my contact details for you to contact me when you next travel to Port Moresby so that I can ensure you have a great stay if you choose to stay with us.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

David Bowen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Enjoyed a 3-night stay. Made my booking online and found myself on 6th floor which entitled me to club amenities (private lounge, gym, etc) although I did not have the time to use them. Room was a good size (two queen-size beds) , modern and very clean and had a good view of the city centre. TV reception was good and room was air conditioned. Extras included security safe and ironing board. Only niggle was lateness of room servicing (not till late afternoon on one of the days). A feature I much appreciated was the elevator security card access to the guest room areas. In fact the standard of general security at the Crown was very reassuring (a must in Port Moresby). Main restaurant staff very welcoming, menu was varied and good value buffet meals were on offer. All staff encountered were very polite, friendly and helpful. One area I found could be improved was the business centre. The computers provided were tired and very very slow. In the end I gave up trying to use the internet. Any regular traveller to Port Moresby will understand that exorbitant prices and indifferent service are par for the course. But on this occasion I can say I enjoyed my stay at the Crown Plaza and will return there on my next business trip.

Room Tip: I only tried one room and it was very good: very clean, well furnished, quiet with good city view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimPollockGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Kiwi_Wanderer, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby. I am pleased to read that we met most of your expectations. I note your points regarding the lateness of room servicing and the less than satisfactory products in the business centre. In regard to the room servicing, when you are next staying with us , please advise us of your preferred servicing time and we will ensure your room is done at that time. The business centre products will be rectified over the coming months. Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Tim Pollock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Over the years I must have stayed in this hotel 20 plus times, from its genesis as the Port Moresby Travelodge through to the present day. For years, it was the only good hotel in the capital, and played hosts to Queen Elizabeth, Presidents, Prime Ministers and the rest. It has a good history.

Alas!!!! no more

I was booked in a club floor for a mere PGK850 per night (US$400)..I know all hotels in PNG are outrageous but, my goodness you could get a suite at the Intercontinental for that price.
After a long, all night flight. I was shown into a room on the 7th floor, which had the most revolting smell coming, I think, from the carpet. There were no slippers, or bath robe, and no mini bar. Its saving grace was a really comfortable queen size bed, but the choice of covering was a bed sheet (unironed) or a very heavy bed spread (and goodness knows who had been sleeping on that before!). No duna, no covering.

The window overlooked the street and an all night betel nut market with accompanying noise. Not nice.

The club lounge, however, was pleasant and had a reasonable selection of drinks. The charming club manageress who looked after the lounge remembered me from 20 years previously. I've grown older, but she is still a petite lovely lady.

My second day had not improved the stench and I requested a change of room. The new room on the 9th floor was far more satisfactory...with full mini bar,. but still no slippers. One would have expected a reasonably coffee percolator with real PNG coffee, but not to be.

A redeeming feature of the hotel, and indeed all of Port Moresby is the cable TV system which luxuriates in 200 plus channels.,I guess residents need such entertainment. There is not much else to do!

Breakfast for club floor guests was in the main restaurant, and was quite satisfactory. However, over the five days I was there, the hot food selection never varied.

I had booked a taxi for the second morning, but it did not arrive. It turned out that no booking had been made..I was quite late for an important appointment which did not improve my mood of disappointment.

The club lounge has internet connection, but a password is needed to activate the computers. On a sunday, when the lounge was unattended, I requested, and then waited for 30 minutes before a staff member came and fed in the magic password. It should never happen.

The swimming pool is small but pleasant, but at the time I wanted to go for a swim, the deck was full of politicians and supporters, and I felt very uncomfortable.

I am a platinum ambassador member of IHG and I filled out a comment card to the GM listing all these points of concern. However, no reply has been forthcoming. Hence my report on Trip Advisor.

Port Moresby is not for the feint hearted, and one expects the hotels to be a haven of security, relaxation and first class amenities, especially for US$400 a night. Unfortunately the Crowne Plaza lives on its past reputation


.

Room Tip: overlook the ocean, not the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimPollockGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear donalddaniels,

Thank you for your detailed comments of what was obviously a less than satisfactory stay at Crowne Plaza Port Moresby. First, please accept my apologies for not responding to your inhouse guest comment card. Unfortunately I did not receive this. It is very disappointing to read that the state of your first room was not up to the Crowne Plaza standard. We are continually striving to provide both a product and service that meets our client requirements and it is obvious from your comments that we failed in a number of areas. The failure to provide slippers, robes and minibar in our executive level rooms is not acceptable and again I sincerely apologise. I note your comments in regards to the bed covering option and am pleased to advise that we will have Dooners in all rooms before the end of the year. We are also in the process of reviewing our breakfast offering for our Executive level guests to ensure we have a rotating menu of Hot food items. Again, thank you for your comments and shen you are next returning to Port Moresby, please do not hesitate to contact me so that I can meet with you personally.

Kind Regards

Tim Pollock
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Port Moresby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Port Moresby

Address: Cnr Hunter & Douglas St, Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Port Moresby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Crowne Plaza Port Moresby and you'll discover a different perspective on Papua New Guinea. Crowne Plaza Port Moresby is situated on a hilltop in the heart of the business district and commands panoramic views of the Coral Sea and surrounding inland areas.Conveniently located 15 minutes from Jackson's International Airport, it makes visiting Port Moresby a highly comfortable prospect for business traveller. Crowne Plaza Port Moresby's contemporary design is unique, capturing the rich vibrant essence of the indigenous culture. With superior accommodation, an Executive Club Lounge Floor, guest facilities and business services, Crowne Plaza welcomes you to a safe,secure and relaxing haven in Port Moresby. For someone who travels often for business, the Crowne Plaza Port Moresby is a welcoming oasis that sets a new standard in hotel accommodation for Papua New Guinea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Port Moresby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby Hotel Port Moresby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Port Moresby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.