We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best quality dinning in Port Moresby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bacchus

Bacchus
Jackson Parade | P.O. Box 1942, Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
+ (675) 324 5200
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 24 restaurants in Port Moresby
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Israel and the US
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Best quality dinning in Port Moresby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

At the world class and faboulus Airways Hotel, I finally decided to try this well know dinning landmark - I wasn't disappointed.
Firstly, before sitting down I checked the menu to make sure it wasn't terribly priced - it was OK, similar to some of the better restaurants in town and not too crazy.
Ordered the antipasti as a starter with a bottle of Shiraz, the bread selection was terrific, the best I have had it town (which isn't known for its baked goods at all....) but the antipasti was a bit amaturist - cocktail olives mixed with very high quality baby greeks?
The Antipasti was good, but very small portions and only 4 tapas.
The main dishes were excellent:
I had the lamb shank which melted in my mouth, wasn't terribly fat, and served up on gratin and roasted veggies which blended with it perfectly. and the juices from the shank - - heaven!
My dinning partner enjoyed Reef Fish fillets, on the same setting as with the shank, absolutly delicios.
Both dishes cost less than 100 Kina each.
Steaks served around us looked amazing and cost 100-140 Kina.
Didn't try deserts.

Recommended for very high level dinner meeting wanting to pamper your guest, romantic dinner or special group occasion - there is a private room there for about 18 persones.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    8
    13
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is attached to the Airways hotel and has been regarded as the best restaurant in town for some years. Only problem is that it is very expensive.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance & good food but pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you've just come in from the bush then this is very pleasant: white tablecloths, excellent service, good food etc but pricey!! Piano player on a baby grand tinkling the ivories with laid back easy listening music gives a lovely ambiance. It is NOT the hotel main restaurant overlooking the pool and with amazing views as the previous reviewer has thought - easy mistake to make - the Bacchus is tucked away outside the main hotel building and has no views of anything! I liked the little touches - different breads & oil/balsamic vinegar brought without asking, the amuse bouche to start and a palate cleanser between courses. However the waiter got our side dish wrong! It was very quickly rectified though and the food (we had the grilled fish) was absolutely delicious. Great for a romantic special occasion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The ultimate fine dining experience in Port Moresby!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Located in most exclusive Airways Hotel. Fantastic view from higher elevation and next to pool. Excellent service. Good buffet and very pricey. A la carte available. Celebrated my wife's birthday at this special place in Port Moresby. It is very classy and ultimate fine dining experience in POM.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Great food and service - but very noisy if there is a group”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My table of four people were all very happy with our meals and the service was by far the best I have experienced in Port Moresby. The venue, while beautiful, has terrible acoustics. There was a large table (approx 15 people) seated near the middle of the restaurant and all the smaller tables suffered through the noise. It turned what should have been a lovely dinner between friends to literally a shouting match. We are well used to Moresbi prices, but still got a bit of a shock when the bill came (PGK 750 per couple). I think if we had been able to hear ourselves think and enjoy the piano music, then the price would have seemed more reasonable. We enjoyed the food and the service, but are not likely to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus also viewed

Port Moresby, Papua Region
Port Moresby, Papua Region
 
Port Moresby, Papua Region
Port Moresby, Papua Region
 

Been to Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacchus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.