We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit and tour of the St Peter and Paul Cathedral is a must!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Peter and Paul Cathedral

Saint Peter and Paul Cathedral
Henck Arronstraat, Paramaribo, Suriname
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in Paramaribo
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
Paramaribo, Suriname
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A visit and tour of the St Peter and Paul Cathedral is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This Cathedral is known as the largest wooden building in the Caribbean. It was built between 1883-1885.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    41
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A wooden wonder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Beautiful lifesize genuine cathedral, completely building with wood. Nice and quiet asmosphere and heavenly cool inside, so well worth visiting from a clerical and personal aspect, considering its 35C outside. ;-)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful wooden church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The interior is so beautifully done. There was a service going on when we arrived so we waited outside and listened to the singing. It was lovely!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very special place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

what a stunning piece or architecture !! Very special place in Paramaribo. This used to be a Jewish theater back in the day. I was absolutely floored by the grandiose arches, carvings, etc. Everything is made of wood - every little detail. Its a very inviting church - I am Russian Orthodox and I felt very at home there. They even have a few Russian Orthodox icons - I have yet to find out how as there aren't too many Russians in Suriname.

I haven't gone to a mass on Sundays but I do hear that its a beautiful sermon. I have been to a concert at the church though. Every third Sunday of the month, there are musical concerts held at the church. It's worth going to- just one hour, but you listen to all types of music - gospel, choir, etc. Just lovely.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo, Suriname
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“gorgeous , old but still oe of our golden buildings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

the fine work of wood in the church give me another feeling for crafts and motivates that all this was made by hand

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Peter and Paul Cathedral also viewed

Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
 
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
Paramaribo, Paramaribo District
 

Been to Saint Peter and Paul Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Peter and Paul Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.