We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel, clean and friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Preciado

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asuncion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Preciado
Save
You added Hotel Preciado to your Saves list
Calle Azara 840, Asuncion, Paraguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 54 Hotels in Asuncion
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Budget hotel, clean and friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is a clean hotel in a good location in Asuncion. The staff were good, although when I was there the English was very limited. This is not particularly unusual for Paraguay. The room was large, the shower worked well and I have very little to mention as I only stayed one night. Great value, quiet and clean.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
3
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

This is a review from a stay at Hotel Preciado nearly three years ago, in Aug 2007. But I'm posting this now since TravelAdvisor helped me locate this hotel years ago plus I just found some photos I took of the place in 2007. Also, as I discovered while researching hotel options in Paraguay, finding a satisfactory hotel option in Asuncion is not an easy easy task, when you're trying to avoid (1) pricey generic business hotels, and (2) total cucaracha dumps for broke backpackers.

When traveling solo, I basically have 4 criteria for my reasonably priced overnight accommodations: safe/secure, clean, hot water, and close to "the action"... all in that order. This hotel met all of the above criteria and also offered a nice breakfast (bread, juice, and coffee) while also having arctic A/C... HIGHLY advisable in Asuncion, even during what qualifies as "winter". The hotel also has a nice little pool in the inner courtyard by a "cabana" of sorts. It's covered shelter from the sun, anyway.

The room also had a small mini-fridge that kept drinks cold as well. The main attractions and downtown square, were only a few blocks away. A trip to the city's bus station form the hotel requires a taxi or a ride on a public bus from the nearby bus stop (as I made the connection & can "vouch" for it).

Price-wise, I recall paying around $30 per night for a single room, while the room itself was fairly peaceful with non-glamorous florescent lighting in the room. The TV was fairly worthless (3 channels surrounded by lots of snowy white noise) but no big deal. It's not the Ritz-Carlton but if you're not a high maintenance traveler and just want a mid-level value in a city that seems to only offer high-end business accommodations or bare-bones cheapy dives, this place offers the rare middle-of-the-road option at a decent price.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

This hotel is recommended in an older edition of "South America on a Shoestring" by LP under the heading "splurge."

The hotel was clean, had arctic a/c ( a necessity in Paraguay) was very reasonably priced about $30 per night for a single) and within reasonable walking distance of downtown.

Bring your pocket calculators to Paraguay where there are about 4800 Guarani to the dollar!

  • Liked — air conditioning
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2005

Given a general lack of tourists, hotels in downtown Asuncion were either business class or decrepit budget, with little in between. The good thing about the Hotel Preciado is that it occupies a nice middle range—excellent in terms of cleanliness and comfort, but the price still fits within the budget category (one reason why this place is popular with the Peace Corps volunteers). The rooms were clean, airy and spacious (particularly on the upper floor), and had A/C, basic cable TV, and a small refrigerator. There is a small second floor open-air patio above the noisy street and a small in-ground pool and covered cabana in the backyard of the hotel, a peaceful place to read a book, plan your next adventure, or write postcards. For those with cars, the hotel has a large garage (entry from the street behind the hotel). The safe central location also makes this hotel an excellent choice, just a couple of blocks SE from the Plaza Uruguaya (home of a well-stocked grocery store with cafeteria) and the laid-back Britannia Pub (good food and beer, popular with locals), a basic gym, an inexpensive laundry, and the gay disco Heaven (Saturday night only, relaxed and friendly atmosphere, good music) were all within a couple of blocks of the hotel. My fondest memories are of the staff and owners, who were welcoming and helpful. The manager was willing to lower the rate for stays of one month or more and, for a fee, you can arrange for one of the staff to take you to the airport. Clean, friendly, and conveniently located, the Preciado is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2003, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Preciado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Preciado

Address: Calle Azara 840, Asuncion, Paraguay
Location: Paraguay > Asuncion
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 54 Hotels in Asuncion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Preciado Hotel Asuncion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Preciado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.