We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad. Not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Bolsi

Restaurante Bolsi
Estrella 399 esq Alberdi, Asuncion, Paraguay
+595-21-491-841
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 167 restaurants in Asuncion
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Vegetarian, International, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not bad. Not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The food was a little above average but not spectacular. If you need sandwiches, etc. this place is okay. if require fine dining go elsewhere.

The coolest thing was the little electronic gadget on the table. Press the "Call" button and with seconds your waiter is at your table. Press the "Bill" button and he appears with your bill. I wish more restaurants had this feature.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    259
    177
    40
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Outdoor-Indoor AVERAGE Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

They have both indoor and outdoor sections. Place always crowded because it is conveniently located, opens till late and does cater to mostly a younger crowd. This place is ok for a sandwich, hamburger, salad or simple steak and fries. This is NOT a fancy high class place. Really, I cannot believe the reviews given this place as being excellent. It is ok and nothing more ! What is really good is the fried Argentinian Empanadas, they are well made here and what I always order (do not order the Chilean Empanadas here, not that good). If you order beer it is cold and they bring it in a bucket of ice. Again, this is not a place to have a quiet high class business dinner, it is more like a diner for casual snacks and food and noisy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“This time tried the full service restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Last time I was travelling alone so sat at the cafe counter. They now have a big sidewalk expansion with TVs and it was packed with people. This time went with a group so we sat down on the restaurant side. Very quick and courteous service. Excellent continental cuisine, I had the especial under Light Meals. nice mix of beef and vegetables

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Best restaurant so far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Popped into this restaurant for a little Sunday lunch and was impressed. The pastry and dessert counter was amazing. Make sure you order a small salad as even that is massive. Homemade mayonnaise was gorgeous. Hot chocolate and coffee were spot on!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We love this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in Asuncion for about a week and Bolsi is our favorite restaurant. The restaurant has a mixed crowd; some people come for a full meal and others for desert. The few times we were there, we ordered a few dishes with beef tenderloin/steak. The dishes were well presented, good quality, and delicious. Their curry fish soup is also wonderful. It has a separate restaurant with a more formal atmosphere next door that has the exact same menu. We really appreciate that it has an English-version menu, which is rare in Asuncion. If you happen to be in the downtown area in Asuncion, Bolsi is a must-visit restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Bolsi also viewed

 
Asuncion, Paraguay
Asuncion, Paraguay
 

Been to Restaurante Bolsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Bolsi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.