We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleepin International Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sleepin International Hotel
Save
You added Sleepin International Hotel to your Saves list
24 Brickdam | Stabroek, Georgetown, Guyana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
Donaghcloney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a great value hotel which we found to be clean and comfortable. Front desk could have been a bit more cheerful, but they were helpful. The A/C in our room was welcome and made for a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    36
    21
    3
    7
See reviews for
22
11
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
1,129 reviews 1,129 reviews
168 hotel reviews
Reviews in 335 cities Reviews in 335 cities
580 helpful votes 580 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights here with spouse on weekend trip to Georgetown. We arrived at 9am and our room wasn't available yet, but we were invited to enjoy breakfast while our room was cleaned. After about an hour it was ready. We had flown on a red eye from JFK so we took a nap for a few hours, showered and went to explore.

Front desk staff were helpful. Check in was relatively fast. There are no elevators so if you have problems with stairs book a lower floor. Room #24 was clean and comfortable. Not a lot of extra space but there was a double bed, desk/stool, chair, armoire, fridge and microwave. Bathroom was very clean. Towels fresh if a little small. Bath towels only; no hand towels or wash cloths. No amenities other than a full-size bar of soap. No hair dryer, either, so bring your own. There is an iron and ironing board, however. Room also has a private balcony with table and two chairs.

Bed was comfortable. No in room safe, but guests are encouraged to leave valuables at front desk.

Pool is nice. Towels available at bar. Mostly chairs/tables, but a few loungers.

Breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, cheese sandwiches, fruit, toast, coffee/tea, and juice. Also, each day there was a different local specialty like salt fish float (bake) or a stewed beef. Portions of eggs and fruit are served to you, but you can have as much toast and juice as you'd like.

We ate dinner one night in the pool/bar area. Prices are between $1500-2000 per entree with some daily specials also. We had jerk chicken with plantains that was very good. Service was a little slow: took more than 1/2 hour for our food to arrive.

One night there was a group from an on-site conference doing karaoke until 10pm at a loud volume. If this would bother you, do not take a room overlooking the pool as I imagine it would be quite loud.

The front desk called a 6am taxi for us on our departure day ($4,500 to GEO airport).

The SleepIn is just a few blocks from Stabroek Market and also just 10 minutes from Bourda Market, 15 minutes walk from St. George's and the National Museum. Very good location. Should we return to Georgetown, we would stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Date of stay - March 3 - 7.
We checked in on March 3 to be greeted by a front desk that lacks the first principle of "welcome". Not a smile in view or a concern on their faces when they informed us that our rooms (booked for over 3 months) were given to someone else. Not a ounce of consideration as to how to make us feel welcome by coming up with an equilivent alternative. We were show rooms at the back of the hotel and was told this is the best they can do. We eventually had to take 2 rooms. I had to share one with my brother.
We had no choice as we were tired, hungry and it was late.

Highlight:
- The rooms were very clean.
- The cleaning staff were very friendly and did not touch any of our belongings.
- The Food at the hotel restaurant were so good we actually had dinner 2 of our 4 days stay.
- Breakfast were of the local nature and very delicious.
- The bar staff including the waitresses were very professional and friendly.
-
Conclusion:
let the front desk work in the bar and restaurant so they can learn customer service. They represent the hotel first impression. Walking into a hotel and seeing people at the front desk who looks like they dont care you are here "SUCKS" - however I would only assume it reflects on the management training they had.
Note: there is a rumor amongst the "coloured" guests that white customers always get preferential treatment regardless of when they book.

HOWEVER - I would return to this hotel on my next visit to Guyana. Once I am in my room the hotel stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

On the 03 of March 2013, myself and my siblings stayed at the Sleep Inn International. I must say that the hotel was clean, the food was excellent and everyone except the front desk clerk was pleasant.
I booked my reservation via e-mail in January and received confirmation that our rooms were reserved. Upon arrival, after a long day of travelling, we were told that the room were sold to someone else who extended their stay. The front desk clerk didn't care that the reservation was confirmed approx three month ago. She provided us with other rooms that were not satisfactory to us, however, given the time of day and lack of knowledge of the city we accepted.
The women on the front desk were rude, unfriendly,and very unprofessional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The new salon and spa was amazing - the staff are very talented and friendly. The breakfast and meals are always delicious, one of the main reasons I go back. The rooms are very clean and have access to wifi. The poolside and bar are the best parts of the hotel because all the guests convene there for delicious foods, drinks, and karaoke on Thursday nights.

One of the greatest features of the hotel is the staff - they are the professional and friendly people. When you're there you don't feel like a guest, you feel like a friend who's returned to visit. The hotel has high retention rates of their staff - every year that I return I see the same people as well as a few new faces. It's an amazing culture.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our family was advised to stay at this Hotel. We had our reservations as it was ranked number 9 but is now ranked number 3. We stayed at this Hotel for almost two weeks and we were very pleased with their services and accommodations. I personally had a great fear for bed bugs, roaches and rat presence, but experienced none of the above. The hotel management ensures that approrpriate measures are taken to avoid such visitors. The hotel room and washroom were both clean and in good condition. The food served was good which eliminated us needing to go to local restaurants. Breakfast was included. The hotel had a pool which was well-kept and free internet service. In addition the patio was clean and kept in good condition. Activities included pool and tabletennis. Make sure that you confirm your reservations prior to leaving your country. Overall, I would defintiely recommend this Hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: No elevators so request a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George's, Grenada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel was ok, and my experience was good. My room was a bit small, had a balcony with not much of a view, but the room was clean, hot and cold bathroom with shower/tub combination, and a small fridge. A/c was great and quiet. The entire hotel was nice and clean, and the staff were friendly enough. Check-in and check-out was quick and hassel free. There is a pool which was great to swim in during the afternoon (i dont like the hot sun).

Breakfast was included in the cost and there is someone there to assist. The breakfast was kinda basic, but it was good. There is free wifi (nice). There is a bar area next to the pool which was great to hang-out, and the lunch was great.

The hotel has a good location in the city, especially for someone who is not from guyana. It is located on brickdam within walking distance (2 blocks away) from the stabroek market area (where all the buses are located) and 3 blocks away from regent street (major shopping area in georgetown). The other great thing about here is that on brickdam taxis are very easy to get (but someone at front desk can easily arrange for a taxi on your behalf). They also can arrange for a car rental (i didnt try this one though).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleepin International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepin International Hotel

Address: 24 Brickdam | Stabroek, Georgetown, Guyana
Location: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleepin International Hotel is a spacious, well appointed and air conditioned, hotel enjoying a fantastic location in the heart of the capital city, Georgetown. With fabulous views of the world-famous Stabroek Market and the Brickdam Cathedral, Sleepin International Hotel is about 2 minutes walk from central Georgetown, where all the stores, shopping malls and bus parks are. The self-contained rooms of the hotel have a balcony and wireless broadband internet access is available. Enjoy shopping for jewellery and clothing on Regent Street, which is just two blocks away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sleepin International Hotel Guyana/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleepin International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.