We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Hotel Guyana International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Princess Hotel Guyana International to your Saves list
Princess Hotel Guyana International
Public Road | Track BS, Block Z, Plantation Providence, East Bank, Georgetown, Guyana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is one of the worst hotel to stay at. I have stayed at this hotel on several occasion and it continue to deteriorate with every stay. I have had to change rooms many times on several stay, many things does not work in the rooms, terrible beds, no hot water, TV is very bad when working and many more problems. The breakfast is o.k but most of the other meals are awful. Service is really poor, elevators not working and the list go on and on. Do not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: it does not matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    22
    18
    26
See reviews for
23
13
5
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Princess Hotel in Guyana has improved the facilities which offers much entertainment. There is a cinemax, a disco and a games room where children can enjoy playing not video but machine games..I was impressed with the dining room service there is an omlet station and a great buffet breakfast..dinner is also buffet especially the desserts..there are menu meals from which you can choose..buffet or menu..

Room Tip: Third floor because its a short 'step' down if electricity goes..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

One of the best things about the hotel is it's location. Away from the hustle and traffic but still close to the town area. Great pool except that the hotel allows people other than guests to use the facilities (pool) by paying a fee. I didn't like that. However I love that there is a casino on the premises and I love the ambiance of the surrounding. The staff is friendly but the food could improve a bit. All in all a good comfotable relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

One can stay in the hotel and be entertained 24 hour restaurant, night club Casino and games arcade. Lovely spa and gym at your disposal as well as a beautiful swimming pool. Rooms are clean and tidy. And the staff is quite polite.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

98% of the Staff was unpleasant and unfriendly, they had No concept of hospitality and customer service. They didn't say good morning just walk right pass you. I ask for extra ice when I was by the pool and the waitress was not happy. Casino Manager was VERY rude and give us a hard time, our family that lives there was not allowed in the casino, we spend a lot of money to enjoy the amenities of the hotel with them. Didn't like the room, tv was small, shower water pressure was low, hallway carpet smells moldy. I agree with one of the comments above, for a fairly new structure the hotel is run-down, and a lack of maintenance. On the last day the hotel loss power(blackout) which means no lights and no elevator for several hours. We had to carry down our suitcases from the six floor. If this is the best guyana has to offer they have a long way to go. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY STAYING HERE!


  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in this hotel after Suriname Airways canceled my flight to Paramaribo. A couple of notes:

1: the staff was nice and accommodating insomuch as they could be.
2: the hotel reeked of paint and apparently mold.
3. Ceilings drooped, clearly from poor construction or water issues.
4: provided buffet lacked anything that tasted good. Having lived in the Caribbean before, this included all the Creole food as well as the "gringo" food. Suriname airways paid for this buffet - they may be the ultimate cause.
5: ac was off when I entered the room - I don't believe my room temperature ever made it below 75 ish degrees (24C)

The good:
1. Consistent electricity
2. Good Internet connection
3. Very friendly staff

Long story short - stay elsewhere.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

To be honest, if it was not for the warm hospitality of the local staff i would rate this hotel terrible. It's also very noticable that the staff is treated poorly by management/owners. The owners of this property are foreigners who are abviously in the country to make money and bank else where. AC in the room did not work, I had to sit outside my room to use the "free" Wifi. No hot water and the water pressure was very low. If you have a sinus problem this hotel is not for you. But as i said before the friendly staff will work with you to make you comfortable. The owners need to know that there staff is important to them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Hotel Guyana International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Hotel Guyana International

Address: Public Road | Track BS, Block Z, Plantation Providence, East Bank, Georgetown, Guyana
Location: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A first of its kind, Princess Hotel and Casino has set the bar for hotels and the hospitality industry; the largest hotel in Guyana. The Princess Hotel and Casino features two hundred well appointed and incomparable rooms including: presidential suites, VIP / executive suites and the most spacious double and single rooms; all well appointed with the most modern facilities. The hotel offers free wireless internet and complimentary breakfast to all its guests.To complement its world renowned accommodation the hotel incorporates the 'Healing Waters' wellness spa, a spacious conference facility which transforms into a stylish ballroom, boardroom, an elegant royal restaurant, gym and outdoors sporting facilities; including lawn tennis, basketball, volleyball, football and badminton. Its star attraction, the largest pool to be found anywhere in Guyana comes complete with the convenience of a modern poolside bar. It is the place where the only casino in Guyana can be found.As one of the world's most electrifying casinos, whatever the pleasure, there is always the perfect game for the avid gamer. The Princess Casino Guyana boasts over 250 slot machines and a wide range of table games such as Blackjack, Roulette, Three Card Poker and Stud Poker. Also, high-limit tables for premium casino players. Princess Bet which forms part of the many attractions allows for smaller betting on any sports game; from football to cricket, to ice hockey. As is customary, Princess Hotel and Casino maintains its prowess with its newest addition 'Club Next'; a classic new night club where fantasy meets reality. With its unique combination of art, fashion, celebrity status and service, 'Club Next' has added a new spin to night life in Guyana. The state-of-the-art lighting, sound effects and an exclusive decorative theme are just a few of the features that 'Club Next' brings to clubbers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Princess Hotel Guyana International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Guyana International Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Hotel Guyana International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.