We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Staff, Beautiful Room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels to your Saves list
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Peter Rose & Anira Streets | Queenstown, Georgetown, Guyana   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Providenciales. T.C.I.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Staff, Beautiful Room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Visited Guyana for a tour of the Demerara Distillery and stayed at the Lodge for 3 nights. The check-in was very easy. Apparently I had the best room at the Lodge, number 5. High ceilings, wood floors, big shower, great AC, fridge, cable TV, etc. You have to order breakfast and dinner beforehand, which is a great idea as the food is always ready when you walk over to the restaurant. The curries are great as were the fish cakes. The unlimited coffee for breakfast was much appreciated.
This is not the Ritz but ALL the staff make up for any deficiencies.
Just remember you need $4000 Guyanese departure tax when leaving the airport, approximately $US20.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    40
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
24
32
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Hermanston Lodge is a good hotel which is a reasonable choice. It is an old plantation property so the buildings are older but in good condition. Our family of three stayed there for several days. They gave us a double room but with a difference - there were two rooms separated by a short corridor, inside the room. It worked very well for our 15 year old having some privacy. The second room didn't have a TV but it did have the microwave and fridge. We also had a nice balcony we could use (but couldn't get the door open as lock too hard to open).
We found the staff to be friendly and welcoming. It gave the hotel a real family feeling. They were willing, although not always following through (e.g. extra pillows took two days and an extra call to get). Internet and a/c good. The breakfast was very good and dinner reasonably good. Meals can be served in your room. Attractive garden. They were very helpful at the front desk in booking tours, although they didn't try all tour companies and didn't get us to Kaiteur Falls - the highlight of the region. (Book ahead.)
The bedding is older but the beds are comfortable. Use the mosquito net or spray.
Overall not fancy but friendly and good.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road would be quieter. The windows are very thin. For a family we liked the do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is a lovely hotel with unbelievable service. Every single person on staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are large and clean, A/C and internet work perfectly. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

After being away from home for 14 years, this hotel was a added gem bonus. The executive room was spacious, this one had 2 bdrm. which was great for family. Well lite surroundings and secuirty both day and night; felt quite safe at hotel and surrounding queens town. Breakfast was to die for, would walk a mile for the saltfish & bake, and stewfish and provision. Sundays they have a brunch a must. The kitchen staff made our stay enjoyable especially Ms. Edna, Ms. Tina & Ms. Linda. And the reception staff were very helpful include Tuana, Michele & Ajay. The taxi guy Sean we used were very helpful and reasonably price. We will stay here again on our next visit; all they need is a pool to beat the heat and the breakfast should be added to the price, so to incouarge you to eat there.

Room Tip: Family excutive suite, 2 bdrm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

this is a charming hotel with great staff. don´t be afraid of staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I stayed at the Herdmanston Lodge for almost a week in mid-July. The room was very good value for money - big comfy bed, recently-updated bathroom, French doors to a balcony that runs across the front of the building. The balcony has wonderful big wicker chairs to sink into at the end of a long day.

Full breakfasts are wonderful and complementary: fresh-squeezed juices, fresh fruit, freshly-brewed coffee, eggs ordered as you wish and bacon or sausage and toast. What I particularly liked was the cloth napkins - a little touch that reflects the kind of service one gets at the Herdmanston.

The staff were very caring and interested in my comfort. Their taxi driver Holis Williams is wonderful - reliable and willing to do whatever is necessary to meet one's requirements. He collected me at the airport, drove me to and from my meetings, and then back to the airport when I left: he was never late. The reception staff - Ajay, Tuana and Latoya are responsive too.

The gardens are lovely and well-maintained.

The hotel is close to the University of Guyana and easy walking distance to the seawall, for an evening walk.

All in all, I am looking forward to returning to the Lodge on my next visit to Guyana.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear of the property, as the street can sometimes be noisy - especially on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Spent only three days but this is a great small hotel that pays attention to its guests. If you are looking for a traditional square box will lots of rooms and activity everywhere, then this may not be the place for you. Perhaps not for the younger traveler also.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels

Address: 65 Peter Rose & Anira Streets | Queenstown, Georgetown, Guyana
Phone Number:
Location: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate heritage hotel in Guyana, Herdmanston prides itself in excellent guest service. One of only a few Guyana hotels that has maintained Guyana's distinctive colonial architecture. Herdmanston hotel is perched within extensive lawns and garden which is home to some of the gentle flora and fauna of central Georgetown. While our lawns and gardens are spacious, our small hotel size allows us to offer to our guests personalized service catering for your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herdmanston Hotel Georgetown
Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herdmanston Lodge -- Guyana Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.