We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hmmm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guyana Botanical Gardens

Guyana Botanical Gardens
Vlissigen Road, Bourda, Georgetown, Guyana
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 18 attractions in Georgetown
Type: Gardens
Attraction Details
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“hmmm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

disappointing, with so much flora and fauna in guyana this needs developing. Guyana is beautiful and has so much potential - come on government and help it up

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    17
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Botanical Gardens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Liked these gardens. Didn't go to the zoo part but saw birds, caimans and manatees as well as people watching. Very nice walk.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Great place to see birds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent about 1 1/2 hours birdwatching in the park with a guide. We saw about 60 species including the Blood colored woodpecker and the Toco Tucan. An Anaconda was seen the day before. We also saw a group of monkeys moving around in the trees. We saw three different manatees. Our guide also had a security person along with us because there have been some problems recently. There was also a guard driving around a golf cart. It is a great way to get those first birds in before you head to the interior, may be risky to go by yourself.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice place as far as Georgetown goes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The botanical gardens wouldn't knock your socks off when compared to other gardens in other cities, however it's a very nice place to kick back for a few hours and get away from the noise of the city. I'd give it 3.5 as a rating if I could. The gates open at 6 am, and that's the best time to get there for bird watching, however it's supposedly also relatively empty then, and therefore unsafe if you're alone. Even at 8:30 am, a guy in a car stopped and said "be very careful along this road!" I made sure to go to the gardens with very little in my purse, to be sure.

I'm not a bird-watching enthusiast to the point that I had binoculars, but they sure would have helped. I did see some pretty cool species, however. My fave was a redheaded woodpecker that did a number on a tree right nearby, and I got some cool video, which I'll later post on YouTube.

The sad thing about the gardens is that they're filled with litter, despite the dozens of garbage bins around. The park worker was walking around collecting garbage in a shallow wicker basket, kind of like trying to put out a fire with a water pistol. Again, though, it's a nice place to go in the city, and apparently almost 200 of Guyana's more than 800 bird species have been sighted in the gardens.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Love the variety of plants, but needs some nurturing and more upkeep . Didn't like vendors around selling at the entrance , I feel it's a place you to relax not to shop.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guyana Botanical Gardens also viewed

Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
 
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
 

Been to Guyana Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guyana Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Guyana Botanical Gardens to your Saves list