We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maharaja Palace

Maharaja Palace
207 Sheriff Street, Georgetown, Guyana
5922194346
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 63 Restaurants in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Georgetown
1 review
“The best restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

For the best Indian food in Guyana maharaja palace is the place to be it was the best I ever had in my life. Service over the top, if you don't understand the menu the guys are always there to help. I don't know what more to say but it's the best

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    36
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad and Tobago
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“One of the best Georgetown has to offer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Its difficult to miss the brightly lit, colorful decor at this restaurant. As a lover of Indian food; this was a saved spot in planning my trip to Georgetown. The service was impeccable, special mention must me made of Vishal whose recommendations were appreciated and spot on taste. The menu was extensive. My party ordered from the authentic Indian selections, so i am unable to comment on the Hakka/Fusion items. None of the items ordered were disappointing. Certainty a meal to remember.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barataria, Saint George, Trinidad and Tobago
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“tasty food, value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

food and service was ok. value for money, enjoyed the desserts. you have to specify exactly what you mean by spicy/ hot when ordering as spicy/ hot is somewhat mild. I enjoyed all the meals I had here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good food, but pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Food was excellent. Service was great as well. We wanted something not found on the menu and they were very accommodating. If you can stomach the explosion of color and over-the-top decor, its a nice Indian restaurant. Prices were way more than we expected, however. And it would have been nice if they could have turned down the music.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quite expensive, but big portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

A nice authentic tasting (Indian Indian, not caribbean Indian) curry place. The decor is over the top. Good service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaja Palace also viewed

Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
 
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica
 

Been to Maharaja Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maharaja Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.