We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Coastal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Coastal Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Coastal Hotel
1 & 2 Area M Plantation | Le Ressouvenir, East Coast Demerara, Georgetown, Guyana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Battleford, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My first time to Guyana, and although in a pretty environment, Georgetown was a jumbled mess. The Grand Coastal Inn, however, was an oasis. It is kept very clean, the staff was super nice, and it was affordable. I would definitely go back here when in Georgetown.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    37
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
9
5
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have had two associated foreign business groups, who were visiting me, stay at the Grand Coastal. All of them have spoken well of the clean and comfortable accommodation. The hotel situated on the main highway along the Atlantic coast, east of town. It is only a 10-15 minute drive into the main business sector of Georgetown and thus convenient for business visitors. The hotel has a nice little pool for relaxation after a busy day. There is a pleasant poolside bar to help you shed the stress of a hard day downtown. Try an Eldorado 15 year old Demerara rum with coconut water - this is the local elexir to cheer you up and replenish your electrolytes.
The staff are efficient and polite. I have eaten dinner there and the service, although somewhat slow a la Caribbean, is good. The menu offers you a good choice of local foods and international dishes.
Above all, the prices are right!! Good value!

Room Tip: Everyone says - ask for an upstairs room. It is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanessburg, Gauteng
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is more like a lodge or bnb. If you can, avoid ground floor rooms opposite the dinning area. It is noisy in the morning and at night. The food takes about 40 minutes on average but otherwise its a nice, clean place to stay. The staff will go out of their way to accomodate and help you. They are all friendly and will interact with the guests and make them feel at home. One of the best hotels in Guyana

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ind
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Mahendra was the manager, allowing us to get our rooms early. The staff was very kind and helpful. The area around the pool and Christmas decorations was stunning and beautiful. This is a terrific place, food was great, great, great. Wonderful, well run place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethem, Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo, Guyana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Dinner with Brazilian friends was excellent!!! Wonderful menu to choose from. Open fire grill adds great atmosphere to healthy eating. Management and staff were courteous and friendly. Great variety of Guyanese liquor to choose from along with good wine selection.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was lodged at this hotel whilst in Georgetown on a business conference. Friday 2nd November 2012 and left Monday 5th Nov 2012.
I took my girlfriend along with me on this trip.
The first thing that I had me startled was the room rates. This had me sceptical until I saw how wonderful the rooms where. The layout of the room including the amenities and access points were well thought out...Kudos to the management / owners on that point. E.g. The curved Bathroom shower curtain.

The best surprise of the trip was the Saturday night dinner for 4 adults and 3 kids. The food was excellent. Te pork spare ribs was one of the best I've had across the world. The Grilled Trout was juicy and Fettuccine Alfredo was cheesy enough that 3 bottles of wine was downed. The bill was meagre compared to what you would pay for that quantity and quality anywhere else in the world that serves such good food legally. Did I mention that I even ordered pork spare ribs to take with me on my flight out? lol

I must of course be fair and give some constructive points:
1. the lack of privacy for the pool. E.g. too close to chairs, bar seats and grill.
2. The ultimate worst pina colada eva! but the excellent and well priced wine eroded that. Also, I wasn't charged for the cocktail because I didn't want it!
3. The waitresses appear overworked sometimes and look and act tired. They are helpful...but cranky sometimes.
4. Leak from Ac condensation on the line
5. After the first 2 bottles of wine...we were informed that they were out


Best points for me:
1. Best food- Maxwell house coffee at bf with shrimp omellete? USD 8...comp if u are a guest!
2. Cheap wine
3. Hot water , best tv , comfy bed and sheets , working ac , Cable- no complaints....worked better than expected.
4. The front desk was willing to convert USD to Guyanese dollars with no hassle.

All in all...I will be visiting this hotel again. And I've recommended it to many others.

Room Tip: I stayed at 205- no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed in august arrived early was allow early check in at no extra charge, staff was friendly did everything to make my stay comfortable , price was including internet , hot and cold water , gym , pool , room was clean , towels a bit stiff but the desk reception said she will make a note and follow up on getting them soft .
Desk reception always smiling and helpful , house keeping not so pleasant but tidy , restaurant staff friendly but takes too long to come back to my table ,food i give an excellent taste i love very much out of all the restaurants i ate at, the ambiance is beautiful I felt relaxed would recommend it for family with kids as it is a safe environment not too much activities or persons on business , love the gym excellent service for the price .

Room Tip: taxi takes over 15 minutes to come make sure you make your request in advance or you will be late if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Coastal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Coastal Hotel

Address: 1 & 2 Area M Plantation | Le Ressouvenir, East Coast Demerara, Georgetown, Guyana
Location: Guyana > Demerara-Mahaica > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Coastal Hotel located on the East Coast outside of Georgetown has been enjoying business in Guyana for about thirteen years. It's a 40-room facility that has grown to become one of the best places to stay in terms of our affordable prices, fantastic service and delicious food. The menu has many options to choose from since we cater to various international guests, yet doesn't forget about their own people with the Flavors of Guyana on Wednesday nights. Some of the best local dishes Guyana has to offer are served this night. Grand Coastal is home to many other amenities such as a fully equipped gym, pool, complementary broadband Internet and cable television and other luxuries that are sure to make your stay pleasurable. Our smiles are bright, our service unmatched and our hotel is your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Regatta Hotels so you can book your Grand Coastal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Coastal Hotel Georgetown
Grand Coastal Hotel Guyana/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Coastal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.