We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bohemian but Impractical” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Fatima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal Fatima to your Saves list
Hostal Fatima
Calle 14 No.2-24, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bohemian but Impractical”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Quality control in Colombian HI-affiliated hostels is deficient and Fatima may be the worst example of this. This is a large place with rooms and dorms crammed into every corner. The vibe is distinctly bohemian which would be fine if it weren't for the serious shortcomings of the hostel: it is rundown, the kitchen is totally inadequate and dirty, power outlets are few, wi-fi is limited to the reception area and the lack of light is inexcusable at night. Guests will have to find entertainment other than reading after dark.

Far better options exist nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    24
    18
    25
See reviews for
1
30
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonopah, Nevada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Fatima. The people who work there are friendly, and the attached restaurant has good food. I wouldn't mind a few more bathrooms, because sometimes there was a wait. They have a very nice common area, very large, and have a free breakfast with coffee in the morning. The guest kitchen needs more pots and pans. They could use more lockers, too. The lockers were all in use during my stay and I had to be a little bit paranoid about my stuff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The price is right, but it was very hard to sleep. I stayed in a private room and it was next to the door. I wope up every time someone rang the bell and got in the hostel. They should try to keep the music and their voices down after let's say 1-2 am. But none of this happened. Many people complaint about the noise. They have wi-fi but the connection is very bad and could only use it near the reception. It's cheaper than other hostels but I would avoid it and stay in hostel Sue which is located around the block.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This Hostal is a huge colonial house with a bee hive of rooms. The greatist thing is the location because it's half a block from the "Market Plaza" and a small park. There are several stores on the corner, a small urban soccer park, a Farmers Market (inside the building) and if you walk up the hill a Plaza where Bogota was supposedly founded. It's called "El Chorro del Quevedo" and on weekends there are street performers and college students hanging out. There is a lady with a pushcart that sells THE BEST arepas you will find in Bogota. We hung out at the park and Plaza until midnight with little signs of street crime. You could smell marijuana everywhere but no real danger and lots of people still outside. Like any big city keep your wits about you and watch your pockets.
The hostal has a great inside patio with hammocks, lounge chairs, etc and a bar that can be accessed from the hostal or from the street. The beds all have two thick blankets and the bathrooms to the back (close to laundry room) have great hot water. Just leave the pressure low, the more you open the faucet the less heat you get. They make breakfast in the morning included free. We always went to the corner to buy bread at the bakery to supplement the eggs they made at the hostal. Staff was VERY friendly and allowed up to leave extra backpacks while we took a side trip. Warning: The house is very old and the floor boards creak. So if you have a downstairs room and the people above you come in late you can hear everything they say/do and the footsteps make the floor feel like it's falling in on you. The best room is on the Laundry room side and you have to go up a couple of steps to get in and it looks almost like a small "trailer" was installed inside the house. The second best room for sleeping is one inside a huge closed with just a curtain for a door. If we make it back to Bogota I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hostel is very clean, plus hot water which in Bogota is a must! The staff are super friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included..... also Fatima is the cheapest I found in the area, excellent facilities, a great chilled-out vibe and right in the centre of things

Room Tip: the ones in the first house are the best ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

If you like DIRT, COLD, DECAYING INFRASTRUCTURES, LOUD and RUDE PEOPLE, DISGUSTING KITCHEN AND VERY SMALL BATHROOMS … then THIS HOSTEL IS FOR YOU!!!
I arrived in Bogotá at 1 o’clock in the night, and went to the hostel Fatíma. It was extremely loud. I was there with my girl, and we had a private double room but without bathroom. The room was cold, not cozy; the pillows and the mattress were coated with plastic, behind the bed linen. The shared bathrooms were really really SMALL (I think they couldn’t be smaller, otherwise they would be just for dolls) and DIRTY. I don’t know how I resisted to vomit. Many of the other Guests were really dirty people, smoking everywhere (even in the bathrooms) and leaving the dishes and the tables in disgusting conditions. We left Bogotá for a two-days trip, and we left our baggage in the room. When we came back, we found the room TOTALLY DIRTY: there was a lot of dust on the floor, on the bed, there were big pink spots on the bed…it seems that something happened on the upper floor. Yes, you understood well: the room was not isolated from the upper floor! So, they gave us another room, private with bathroom, and this was OK, clean and nice. But anyway INCREDIBLY COLD! I don’t understand how such places do not have a heating system; believe me it was freezing cold, especially in the night!!! Breakfast was poor and always the same: croissant or eggs with coffee and milk (often cold or already finished).
The personnel are gentle and it wasn’t a problem to communicate in English. The position of this hostel is strategic, close to the city center, and it was easy to reach bus stations as well as touristic places such as the Museo de Oro, Plaza Bolivar and Café Juan Valdez. It is close to several restaurants, fast-foods, supermarkets, money-change offices and every possible facility that you can need.
But please, if you like CLEAN PLACES and INTIMACY, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE.

Room Tip: Double rooms with private bathroom are the only good ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We switched to this hostel after our first night in Bogota, looking for a place where we could hang out and meet other travellers and find some helpful staff that could recommend things to do in Bogota. Instead our impression of this hostel was that it may have once been good, but has been left to ride on it's old reputation and its staff have become very lazy.
The staff were not very friendly or helpful at all, and seemed to use the common area as their own personal hang out space for them and their friends, playing loud music but in an environment where you didn't really feel welcome to hang out with them or get involved with other guests. The bathrooms were not very clean. We didn't manage to get one hot shower in the three days we were there. It was extremely noisy very late at night and began again early in the morning. It didn't feel all that secure for our stuff. I think our only positive about this hostel was the bar, which served good beers and cocktails. We changed hostels after three nights and instantly felt more at home and comfortable in the new place. If you're thinking to choose this hostel, my advice is - you can do better!

Room Tip: The dorms next to reception are extremely noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Fatima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Fatima

Address: Calle 14 No.2-24, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostal Fatima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Fatima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.