We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a unique and wonderful flovors!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Patio Restaurante-Cafe Bogota

El Patio Restaurante-Cafe Bogota
Carrera 4 A No 27 - 86, Bogota, Colombia (La Macarena)
2826121
Improve this listing
Ranked #267 of 1,190 Restaurants in Bogota
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: La Macarena
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a unique and wonderful flovors!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Liked: the shrimp cocktail appetizer; the fried eggplant with honey and cheese; pepper steak; spaghetti side; and coconut pie. Liked the building, the architecture, and interior design.

There was not a thing that I tried that I displiked.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Romance Abounds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

How El Patio functions so well given the limitations of its space is a mystery.

The restaurant is cozy to the point of feeling miniature, and the surprise in this, is that one never feels uncomfortable or cramped. In fact, the environment is so alluring, it begs you to lean in closer to your dining companion. This, along with with candle lit tables, mismatched dishes and silver, here and there antiques, and knick-knacks in every nook and cranny, inspires an undeniably romantic ambience.

Look around, the couple to your right are holding hands under the table, behind you another trade soft kisses, nothing is awkward about this, no one is self conscious, and you needn't be either. You are in a lovely and special place.

The service is relaxed, and the food is excellent. A perfect restaurant for the starry-eyed.

Highly Recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Business lunch or romantic dinners… just go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

In a street with many restaurants in La Macarena neighborhood I was lucky to choose this small but delightful cozy place.
Excellent food, personal service and I discovered that you can mix Campari with tangerine freshly squeezed juice… a very pleasant surprise.
I went for a business lunch… the place seems better appropriate for a romantic dinner; GO for either of the above!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Cozy as a french bristró”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This small bistró is located in La Macarena area (downtown) where you can find many small restaurants with excellent food. We had lunch and we are so happy we found this beautiful place. The food is excellent, the chef is right next to the customers, talking and preparing all sorts of entrees. His crispy eggplants with goat cheese and honey drops are to die for!!! I highly recommend this place in Bogota.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food in a romantic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

El Patio has been one of my favorite restaurants in Bogota since the 90s. It was always relaible and a hit for romantic dinner dates (or for business lunches if having meetings in downtown Bogota). At night it looks like what I imagine a Paris neighborhood bistro looked in 1920.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Patio Restaurante-Cafe Bogota also viewed

 
Bogota, Colombia
Bogota, Colombia
 

Been to El Patio Restaurante-Cafe Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Patio Restaurante-Cafe Bogota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.