We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sanalejo Cafe Restaurante

Sanalejo Cafe Restaurante
Avenida Jimenez N.3-73 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
3346171 - 2719045
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #209 of 1,013 Restaurants in Bogota
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Colombian, International, Creperie
Good for: Romance
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Came here one afternoon after a trip to Monserrate on the basis of the favourable reviews on TripAdvisor.
Sadly the restaurant failed to live up to expectations.
The positives;
The patacones with hogao were good.
The "baby beef" was juicy, cooked to perfection and full of flavour.

The negatives;
Everything else.
The ceviche lacked flavour and spice.
The pork steak was bland beyond description. It was dry and for all I know I could have been eating cardboard. It is still beyond me how any chef worth his salt can serve a dish of dry fried meat with French fries without any sauce and think that the diner will be happy...
The crepe was bland and lacked flavour as well, bland cheese and the ham was tasteless.

Service was swift, but disappointingly when the quality of the pork was challenged no comment was made, much less an offer to discount the plate from the bill.

Another place best avoided.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My friend and I stumbled upon this restaurant when wondering around La Candelaria and were pleasantly surprised. We were given the table closest to the fire which was excellent, as it was a bit chilly outside! As we were on a tight budget, we opted for the mixed grill for 2. A large platter stacked with a variety of meats and sausages was brought out which was delicious. The service really was excellent, with the waiters making conversation with us in English.

It doesn't look much from outside but it is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megeve, France
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Very nice and cozy small small restaurant with a great fireplace that, believe me, in rainy season it is highly appreciated !!! The food is very good and typical from the region

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park CA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great food; unfortunate billing experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful food. Very nice atmosphere. We ordered three different dishes to share. Half bottle of Chilean wine. Then we just had to try an unknown, to us, dessert. Called for the bill, paid with a credit card, and left overfed, which is easy to do. Down the stairs, out on the street. The waiter chased us down the street, saying that we had not paid for the dessert. (was left off the bill). Went back and paid the equivalent of $4.00. The owner had made the waiter chase us down. I said in my perfect English, that was not good management style. Felt sorry for the waiter, and disappointed with management. Converted a pleasant experience into an unpleasant one.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great little venue for a cosy meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The fire place is a big draw - a real bonus on chill days/evening. The decor will keep you transfixed for many minutes as you try and figure out just what the common theme is (and what done some of the things hanging from the walls actually are).

Once you've settled in you'll love the food and very attentive service. It's a little pricy with most meals over 20k (we're travelling on a tight budget) but was worth it - we both had pork chops which were cooked perfectly.

It doesn't look like much from the outside (like many places in Bogota) but definitely worth going in.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanalejo Cafe Restaurante also viewed

Bogota, Colombia
Bogota, Colombia
 
Bogota, Colombia
 

Been to Sanalejo Cafe Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanalejo Cafe Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.