We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An expensive disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Vieja Restaurantes

Casa Vieja Restaurantes
Av. Jimenez No. 3-63, Bogota, Colombia
342 6752
Improve this listing
Ranked #194 of 1,117 Restaurants in Bogota
Cuisines: Colombian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“An expensive disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Service was mediocre and the food was not up to scratch. We waited ages before the waitress took any notice of us. The empanadas were superb but my Ajiaco, a traditional Bogotá dish I have had many times, was not tasty at tall. I was sure something was missing in my Ajiaco. I asked a waiter what happened because it just did not taste like the usual Ajiaco. He said he would bring me some Guasca, the herb used to give it its distinctive flavour. He never brought the herb. Of course they never put it in at all in the first place. This is a very traditional Colombian restaurant which seem to have lost direction. Sad really because it was an institution for many years. Our bill was almost 150,000 Colombian pesos (around 90 US dollars) for three so I left feeling rather angry as one could get much better stuff in Bogota for this amount of money. We did not add service charge to the bill. They should get their act together.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    41
    27
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great ajiaco Bogotano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Went to this restaurant with some friends. Service and food were excellent, a little pricy but it's worth it. There ajaico is the best I ever had. Good wine, good service, good food, what else can you expect? Great time with friends.
SantiagoZamudio

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A must in Colombia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a Colombian chain of restaurants in many place over the country. They offer EXCELLENT and pretty AUTHENTIC Colombian food. They use prime quality ingredients. The staff is dressed in traditional Colombian clothes. NB! For Colombia, the prices are VERY HIGH.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Ok food, but great atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I've tried three of the locations, and found them to be good and consistent. It's also a great place to bring a first-time visitor to Bogota since it is usually set in an old house, and have several typical dishes from Colombia. However, with the food, there are some hits and misses. My favorite dish would have to be the fried fish (mojarra), just wished they gave me more green vegetables instead of corn as a side salad.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“A wonderful birthday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Mi esposa maravillosa took me here for my birthday. I had ajiaco which was the best I have ever had plus they gave me another bowl free. The atmosphere is a delightful old house in downtown Bogota. There was a live pianist who player happy birthday for me. Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Vieja Restaurantes also viewed

 

Been to Casa Vieja Restaurantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Vieja Restaurantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.