We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ajiaco Bogotano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Vieja Restaurantes

Casa Vieja Restaurantes
Av. Jimenez No. 3-63, Bogota, Colombia
342 6752
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 1,003 Restaurants in Bogota
Cuisines: Colombian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great ajiaco Bogotano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Went to this restaurant with some friends. Service and food were excellent, a little pricy but it's worth it. There ajaico is the best I ever had. Good wine, good service, good food, what else can you expect? Great time with friends.
SantiagoZamudio

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    35
    27
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A must in Colombia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a Colombian chain of restaurants in many place over the country. They offer EXCELLENT and pretty AUTHENTIC Colombian food. They use prime quality ingredients. The staff is dressed in traditional Colombian clothes. NB! For Colombia, the prices are VERY HIGH.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Ok food, but great atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I've tried three of the locations, and found them to be good and consistent. It's also a great place to bring a first-time visitor to Bogota since it is usually set in an old house, and have several typical dishes from Colombia. However, with the food, there are some hits and misses. My favorite dish would have to be the fried fish (mojarra), just wished they gave me more green vegetables instead of corn as a side salad.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
“A wonderful birthday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Mi esposa maravillosa took me here for my birthday. I had ajiaco which was the best I have ever had plus they gave me another bowl free. The atmosphere is a delightful old house in downtown Bogota. There was a live pianist who player happy birthday for me. Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Excellent Colombian food, a nice atmosphere and very friendly staff

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Vieja Restaurantes also viewed

Bogota, Colombia
Bogota, Colombia
 

Been to Casa Vieja Restaurantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Vieja Restaurantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.