We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vilar America

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vilar America to your Saves list
Hotel Vilar America
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 66 # 8 - 23 | Barrio Chapinero, Bogota, Colombia (Chapinero)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 254 Hotels in Bogota
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Was fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Not sure of the negative reviews. I thought they were very attentive and while maybe wasn't the best neighborhood, but bot horrible. Was my first time. In bogota. I speak Spanish,so maybe that helped. Ínternet seemed to come and go, but thats eems typical in many hotels. Breakfast included, but bot very good

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juandf023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Marigot, St. Maarten-St. Martin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

I stay with wife and toddler, 2 years old.
The elevator never work out. Always in maintenance. Of course carrying the stroller and stuff in the narrow stairs were a challenge. I prepaid complete week (7 days 6 nights) in this hotel because it was so cheap, but we left after two nights, terrible neighborhood, kind of commercial area (really noisy and messy on daylight but scary at sunset). This is NOT the Zona Rosa they claim on their web site. The most shocking complaint was the pros-titution!!!, the paid girls call this hotel for they services and it is really bad sharing the smallest lobby with under age girls visible attending for in calls services. Picture that !!!
I would never put my wife and kid in such companion.
Colombian service is great! but this Hotel provides such average and low end service that besides the problem with the area and facilities and the noises and the stairs and the food and the transportation and everything in the atmosphere on this "hotel" was bad. I deeply sorry the fact I prepaid it online. AVOID NO MATTER WHAT!!! SERIOUSLY: NO OPTION!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler_N0_T0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I stayed two nights in Bogota. First night I stayed at this hotel. I got in the hotel at 6 am from the airport. They were very nice and let me check in at 6am and sleep. They do not speak english but they were very friendly. Clean and nice and comfortable. Area is fine with me. Taxi is always there and guys there are ready to help me. I even forgot my jacket when I checked out and They found it for me. How nice!! It is quite place and I sleep so well.
I also stayed at the Hotel casa deco because of the high rating. I could not sleep well there because of noise. This place do not have a lot of amenties but nice and friendly hotel. I enjoyed staying there and I will go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marigot, St. Maarten-St. Martin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Honestly the service is bad, quite terrible. Angry people who hates their jobs, obviously. I book for a week and of course I prepaid for it. I have left this "hotel" after two days and one night in there. It has narrower stairs and no elevators, well, they said they have one but it was a really tinny and dysfunctional elevator (mechanic troubles).
This location is NOT the "Zona Rosa" (nicest area) they said. This is more downtown oriented and honestly you could NEVER walk to nicer area from this hotel. This is commercial neighbor but sure it might be unsafe right after sunset. Actually the hotel is used as a Motel (in Bogota the lovers go to this type of business for one or two hours). There is more: you might be surprised by prostitutes in and out of this "hotel" (they called Prepaid Girls "prepagos") .
The room is not clean I asked another room they provide another room with worst problems, they laugh loud. The new room has a strong smell of tobacco, I do not smoke hence my tragedy. They will not help you with luggage. If there is any consume in there, they will ask you for cash payment immediately they will say problems with banking device for credit cards process. I believe it and accept it. They change money under unfair rate of exchange, you do not have other option if they are asking immediate payment before you leave the table... Absolutely NO children here, is just NOT safe for kids.
If your problem is the pricing, you might have safer, cleaner, better service under lower pricing by far.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler_N0_T0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

I booked this hotel because it was so much cheaper than the others but I did regret this.

The hotel was in a rather run down back street with very little in the way of shops or street life. Even though we told the taxi the hotel address, they had great difficulty finding the hotel.
In the evening, the taxi dropped us off on a street corner and then as we were walking back to the hotel, someone chased us obviously with the intent of robbing us.

The hotel itself had no heating in the room so we were freezing cold and it was very difficult getting any sleep.

The lift was out of order. The room was on the 3rd floor and we had to go up several flights of stairs.

Breakfast was horrendous. Everything served on one plate (fruit with scrambled egg(!) )

This was not a good experience and I will be particularly careful when booking a hotel in Bogota again.

  • Disliked — Neighbourhood was very unsafe; lift did not work; no heating; awful breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mattsw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

clean and adequade. kind reception.
attention: a smart (?) trap regarding the price:
they dont accept payment in US$.
they quote the price in US$, and (at the last minute at checkout) force effective in CO (Colombian currency) with a compulsory overpriced (+15%) change.
example:
price quoted= 84 US$ (as agreed with tax included) >> (in check out) turns with a "strange convert" CO then.... 97 US$/day in debit by official rate.

Thats why I suggest attention to this "smart" kind of practice in Colombia.

  • Liked — good size and decor
  • Disliked — clean and correct
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank eagle7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

I can´t belive that for such a really value rate I was given a very nice room with modern facts, great view, amenities.
Great choice for us.
Next time in Bogota surely will be there.
Dont forget to feel that people in this Hotel is very friendly

  • Liked — Service, Staff, Location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Goodhotelchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Nico Aparta Suites
#18 of 254 in Bogota
5.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Chapinero
Atton Bogota 93
Atton Bogota 93
#26 of 254 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Morrison 114 Hotel
#6 of 254 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
84 DC
#20 of 254 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
BioHotel Organic Suites
#9 of 254 in Bogota
5.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vilar America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vilar America

Address: Calle 66 # 8 - 23 | Barrio Chapinero, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota > Chapinero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 254 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vilar America 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vilar America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing