We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hostel in the Candelaria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anandamayi Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Anandamayi Hostel to your Saves list
Anandamayi Hostel
Calle 9 no 2-81 | Candelaria - Centro, Bogota, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice hostel in the Candelaria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at Anandamayi at the beginning and the end of our trip through Colombia. Place, service, garden and rooms are just excellent. There is also breakfast, but this is rather basic. The hanging mats to rest are a must to do!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    17
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
15
24
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hostel was almost too good. It has spoilt me for other hostels! I planned to stay about 5 nights, and ended up staying 11.

Things that make this hostel great:

- A lovely garden
- A good included breakfast: an egg, 3 pieces of bread, 2 types of jam, fresh sweet tomato juice, tea and coffee (the tea is always available, and there are 3 different types), cheese, hot chocolate. The staff were often nice enough to leave the 'cleaning up' 'til a little later when scruffy, sleepy guests slept in 'til almost 10am
- Lovely rooms, with extra blankets, 'treasure chest' lockers big enough to fit all your valuables easily, bedside tables and individual lamps
- Little extras like hot water bottles at night (so spoilt!)
- Friendly staff
- A safe environment (the front gate and door are kept locked, and you buzz to be let in 24/7)
- Great, clean individual bathrooms with toilet, shower, basin all-in-one; plenty of room to change and decent hot water. Towels provided.
- Calm and peaceful atmosphere. Sometimes quiet music playing, a central kitchen/common room which is often lovely and warm, heated by a wood stove. This is obviously not a big party hostel, but the setup means it is easy to meet other travelers, and it is close to some good bars and restaurants too.

One thing to note: there is a tip included when your bill is calculated. I chose to not pay this after only 10 minutes in the hostel, but was more than happy to tip well at the end of the stay (you can put cash in the little treasure box near one of the doors in the kitchen). Tips are for good service, and I certainly felt the employees at Anandamayi did great work keeping the place clean, with friendly conversation and smiles, advice, and other little kindnesses.

I've been traveling for about 9 months (this trip) and have stayed in countless hostels over the last 12 years. This place makes my top 5. Do yourself a favour and stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We were so happy with our choice to stay at this hostel. It is very well looked after and the owners have spent a lot of time creating the place. We loved the peaceful theme throughout. The hammocks were plentiful and we enjoyed using them throughout the day. The location in La Candelaria is great. The staff were absolutely incredible, they were always on hand to help and were lovely people. We recommend this place highly and really made our stay in Bogota a great one!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A calm hideaway in a superb spacious colonial building perfectly located in the charming Candeleria district, a few steps from busy Piazza bolivar.
we came as a group of friends and loved that the building had multiple courtyards/gardens between the rooms where you can practice yoga, socialize with fellow backpackers, or just relax on a hammock.
the rooms are very comfortable, nicely decorated and very clean.
breakfast in the kitchen was very homey, more like "do it yourself", but all the ingredient were there, and everybody pitched in to help. We turned out having great breakfasts, meeting new people every morning.
the staff were very kind, but did not speak any English, we manage however to communicate with the few spanish words we know and sign language, they even gave us souvenir gifts when we left.
I'm certainly coming back to this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hostel is absolutely beautiful. Situated in La Candelaria, it's walking distance to many museums and historical sights (Museo de Oro, Museo Botero, Casa de Nariño, etc). The staff was very accommodating and provided everything we needed. Breakfast of eggs, toast, tea and coffee was included, and the cozy kitchen was a central place for meeting other travelers. It did get cold at night (during late Aug), but hot water bottles for warming the beds were provided for free. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boaco, nicaragua
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Wow, am I in love with this place. It is the perfect retreat in the middle of the big city of Bogotá. We just spent three nights and it was hard to leave. The staff is incredibly kind and attentive, the design of this old colonial home is immaculate with a strong Indian influence, and the never ending tea and coffee a delight. We slept on nice mattresses with warm wooly blankets listening to the trickling waters in the outdoor garden. We had hot showers to start or finish our day. I was even able to find a small spot in the outdoor garden to practice yoga. If you are looking for a lively party or a cheap deal, just know this is not it. If you are looking to feel good and relax during your breaks from exploring the city then this is your spot. One other note, ask the staff for more details when getting their input on directions and maps as they tend to skip over a few things or simplify things a bit too much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Anandmayi is a true gem in the chaos of Bogota. You will find it difficult to do anything quickly or early while you are in Bogota because you will just want to spend long mornings lazing in a hammock in the beautiful gardens full of bonsai trees, flowers and water features. It has a genuine Buddhist feel about the place. The showers are hot, the staff are lovely and they keep a fire going constantly in the dining area which is amazing for the cold mornings.

Only complaints, the bed in the first room we had was not at all comfortable, it appeared to be made of straw. But they moved us to another room. Also the communication when booking was very poor and I see this is a common problem with other guests.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: check the beds and pillows are comfy. The ones on the street are obviously a little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anandamayi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anandamayi Hostel

Address: Calle 9 no 2-81 | Candelaria - Centro, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anandamayi is a very comfortable and inexpensive Hostel & Hotel in the most beautiful colonial house in la Candelaria old town. It has 3 poetic and colourful patios with hammocks and geraniums; a wonderful ancient garden with waterfalls, fish ponds and incredibly friendly hummingbirds; Nice and clean rooms and an attic from where you can see the sunrise behind Private Monserrate and hear the bells from the old churches and cathedral; and at sunset, the martial band when they change the guard at the presidential palace which is just around the corner. Anandamayi can lodge 27 people.' love all, serve all' are it's aims.All museums, theatres and major attractions like the Quinta de Bolivar, Monserrate Sanctuary, the Botero Museum, Gold Museum, Luis Angel Arango library, colonial churches and historical monuments are within walking distance. On week-ends you can join ecological trekking groups that follow the ancient Indian roads: lots of Sun, exercise and beautiful scenery. You can enjoy the super location of this safe and drugs-free place and yet you will be surprised at how quiet it is inside, and how friendly and homely the atmosphere is. Writers, painters and poets often stay for a long time. Price includes:A very good continental breakfast, taxes, linen and towels, hot water, free wireless, safe box, luggage storage, laundry service, common room with cable TV and lots of good films, a superb garden, good books, good vib, the possibility to cook your own food like in your own home, and take a very good rest and sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Anandamayi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anandamayi Hotel Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anandamayi Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.