We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a quiet street in Chapinero” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lugano Imperial Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lugano Imperial Suites to your Saves list
Lugano Imperial Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 70 A # 7-62, Bogota, Colombia (Chapinero)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 232 Hotels in Bogota
San Francisco, CA USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“On a quiet street in Chapinero”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I'll start by saying that I would definitely stay at this hotel again. There were a few things that I will point out, in hopes that it will be helpful if those things are important to you. I will finish with the good things.

There are 3 room types: (superior suite, which is a studio; grand suite; business suite). I stayed in 2 of those types as they put me in the "superior suite" on the first night before I realized the next morning and changed rooms (I had booked the mid-range, grand suite). But, either there are differences within the room types, or the room descriptions are inaccurate. I found at least two major booking sites with the same inaccurate description. The description for my room type listed that it had a deep soaking tub and two bathrooms. Both rooms actually only had one bathroom and it had only a large shower stall with a bench to sit down. No tub. Without exaggeration, it took 5 or 6 minutes for the water to be warm enough to step in. After that, you could adjust it to very hot if desired.

There was no way to change the temperature of the room. No controls, nor any vents that I could see. The lighting in the bathroom was limited to 2 halogen spot lights over the sink, making it very dim at night, but fine during the day due to the portico window in the shower.

Things that were just ok: breakfast, fine if you just want an omelette, cereals or breads. The juices were better than average, though. A few other buffet items that changed daily, but only a very small amount out.

The good:
* very friendly staff. The security guards, the desk staff, kitchen staff. Probably the cleaning staff, too, but I didn't interact with them.
* The view was very good, at least for the last 3 nights in the room on the 8th floor.
* The suites are huge and nicely decorated. Plenty of closet space.
* The rooms have a boom box, that plays both CDs and cassette tape. Bring your mix tapes!
* There is a basket with things like toothpaste, full sized toothbrush, deodorant, etc, but they are not free as another reviewer stated. The price list is next to them.
* The hotel is located on a quiet street that is a safe and an easy walk to restaurants or stores nearby.

Note: if you use the hotel's car service to the airport, the cost is USD$50. If you have them call a radio taxi for you it is only COL25,000 (USD $12.50, currently)

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors (there are 9 floors) at the front (x02, x03) have a great view. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas A, Guest Relations Manager at Lugano Imperial Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por sus observaciones. y reconocimiento, su calificación la tomamos para mejorar para usted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Suites hotel right in the center of the restaurants in Chapineria in Zona G. Very safe. Comfortable walking day or night but still has a lot of character. The suites are huge with kitchen and living room. Once we stayed in a studio. Another time with two bedrooms and a separate living room. Quiet, comfortable, amazing. They even give you toothpaste, deodorant, etc. Breakfast is included but is not always great. Make sure to get the juices, though! They're amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas A, Guest Relations Manager at Lugano Imperial Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
We are very thankful for your generous comments and insights, we live to serve. Reviews such like this encouraged us, not only to continue but to exceed your expectations at the next opportunity we have to serve you. Thank you. PD. Your opinion has been shared with our team, who is who deserves the recognition. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Here you get value for money. The rooms are large, with good space for your clothes and a quite large kitchenette. The clerks at the front desk were very kind and helpful. Good restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas A, Guest Relations Manager at Lugano Imperial Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su calificación, le esperamos nuevamente, y sus comentarios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very modern clean hotel. Relatively quiet for a Bogota hotel. Only negative is bed is not good for a bad back...is firm...but no box spring.

Tons of great eateries in short walking distance..ex Armadillo, Harry Sasson plus many less formal fun looking places

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas A, Guest Relations Manager at Lugano Imperial Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you, please receive the greeting from all our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

For the past three years, I have commuted to Bogota for work and have stayed at a number of suite hotels. Lugano has become my "home away from home." During this period, I have stayed at Lugano for well over 6 months, and I can state unequivocally that it is the perfect hotel for the business traveler in Bogota. The area is very safe and quiet, yet close to the financial center and the Zona G (gourmet) and near all the best shopping malls in the city. The suites are very large and modern, each with two plasma TVs, some with two baths, and a full kitchen. The included breakfast and light evening meals are superb, and the food in the restaurant is among the best I've eaten in Bogota.
But what truly distinguishes Lugano from other suite hotels in Bogota, and elsewhere, is the exceptional service, the best I've witnessed in any hotel in any country. Everyone, from the reception staff (Felipe and Diego) to the cleaning staff (especially Nancy) and the restaurant staff go out of their way to make every guest feel at home. As an example, when I needed the conference room for a week and the one downstairs was booked, they outfitted a suite to serve as a work room, without charge.
The Lugano is a truly exceptional boutique hotel that caters to the business traveler in Bogota and makes us feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas A, Guest Relations Manager at Lugano Imperial Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you, Dear guest, today we wish to answer your complaint. We deeply regret the difficulties in your experience for which, there is no excuse. We beg you to forgive us for what happened, I can guarantee that we have solved each of the processes involved.
If appropriate, we are willing to offer that we try and ensure that we have improved for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had no idea what to expect never having been to Bogota but this place was lovely. We had a HUGE very modern room on the 2nd floor with an enormous outdoor area adjoining it. It had a full kitchen, great bed and nice bathroom. All the people working here were terrific and always offering to help with anything. Only tiny complaints would be the room needing airing out when we arrived, and there were only 2 channels in English on the TV. Otherwise a superb choice in a really good neighborhood!

Room Tip: I would try to be up a bit higher if I came back here - we were just above the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas A, Guest Relations Manager at Lugano Imperial Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you, for your generosity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Centrally located with large clean rooms and friendly service.
I would highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.
Lots of restaurants near by and knowledgable hotel staff to help you.
Very well priced for it's location and amenities.

Room Tip: I liked the front facing rooms and did not find them noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas A, Guest Relations Manager at Lugano Imperial Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks, this neighbourhood, is one of the most representatives of the City. We chose this location, to offer you the best place nearer to most important small, workplaces and companies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lugano Imperial Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Imperial Suites

Address: Calle 70 A # 7-62, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > Chapinero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Bogota
#40 Business Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Imperial Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lugano Imperial Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugano Imperial Hotel Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lugano Imperial Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.