We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abadia Colonial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Abadia Colonial to your Saves list
Abadia Colonial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   calle 11 # 2-32 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 240 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I travelled to Bogota to meet up with my daughter who had completed a school exchange in Colombia. This hotel was a perfect base in the city. It is exactly as advertised on Trip Advisor. The staff are friendly, the rooms clean and inviting, the courtyard a perfect place to relax at the end of the day after a meal in their restaurant and at breakfast you have beautiful views of Monserrate and the Virgin of Guadeloupe. It is reasonably priced and I would definitely return if ever I was to visit the city again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    60
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
54
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our agent booked us in this Hotel and we were not disappointed. The ride from the airport was organised by the Hotel: was fine! Though this is not a 5 star hotel with pool etc, but it was perfectly fine for 3 good nights in the very middle of the nicest district of Bogota, where most sights and museums are. Within good walking distance!
The room was ample, good beds, lots of blankets (it was cold) and heating in the evening and morning. The breakfast is fine, served in a nice room, and the staff is sweet and efficient. The pizza in the evening was OK. Better to eat down the road, near the Plaza de Boliver, and savour the best "Ajiaco in the World".
The wifi works very well, and is a boon in not yet wifi savy Colombia.
Our only remark: get a room in the second courtyard: quieter

Room Tip: Get a room in the second courtyard: quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburndale, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel could not be better located in the Candelaria district of Bogota. It is two blocks from the city's best museums, and the ambience of this district is by far the best in Bogota. The hotel itself is clean and classy and serves a delicious breakfast every morning. We were also repeatedly helped by the front desk assistant, Patricia, who was more helpful than we could have hoped. The one downside is that the rooms can be a little noisy, but that's typical in all Colombian hotels (and this one is much quieter than most). When traveling in Colombia, bring ear plugs or a white noise machine. We loved this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room in the second or third "part"-- as far back in the hotel as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have just stayed at this property for two nights, We had a standard double room, which was roomy with a good sized bathroom and spotlessly clean (as was the whole hotel). The room was on the ground floor. You could hear people talking as they passed by but this was never too late at night or early in the morning, so was not a problem. The room was basically furnished. It had a small electric heater which was inadequate given the high ceillings. An additional duvet stopped us feeling cold.

The staff were very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The reception staff did not speak much English and did a sterling job of interpreting my basic Spanish!

The hotel is very well located for exploring Candelaria. The streets seemed safe during the day but we were advised not to wander around at night. There are small restaurants around the hotel (including a lovely vegetarian up the road). The food in the hotel restaurant is reasonable and quite cheap. Pasta and soup are recommendable. The service in the restaurant is excellent.

Breakfast is adequate: fruit, eggs and bread with coffee/tea.

Room Tip: If you are worried about people passing your room, choose one on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paolonerocchi, Gerente at Abadia Colonial, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks to its splendid analysis. We recognize fully in his commentary.
Best regards
Paolo Rocchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Pro: Good bed, nice and silent room. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast.

Con: no espresso in the morning (while the owner is Italian)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paolonerocchi, Gerente at Abadia Colonial, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear DrTripgourmet, we remind you nicely for the search of your missed friend. You are right about the espresso, but we followed the advice of some clients who have pointed out that the noise of the coffee machine could disrupt the silence of the morning.
Best regards
Paolo Rocchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

The Abadia is in the Candelaria district close to the Botero museum. Charming place with a small court yard. Staff showed all the concerns about your safety. Breakfast was served by a lovely lady; there was enough variety in the fruit and the fruit juices every day. The location is excellent, the staff is warm and helpful and the bed was comfortable enough; I slept very well during these cold Bogota nights.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paolonerocchi, Gerente at Abadia Colonial, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and we are very happy that you enjoyed our natural juices of fruits that mother earth delight us in this beautiful country.
Best regards
Paolo Rocchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel, very charming rooms although noisy. Friendly staff, superb breakfast. Houses a good restaurant too. Good location in Candellaria. Not cheap though.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abadia Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abadia Colonial

Address: calle 11 # 2-32 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 240 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abadia Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Abadia Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abadia Colonial Bogota
Abadia Colonial Hotel Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abadia Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.