We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Enough, Excelent price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Centro Internacional

Save Saved
You added Hotel Centro Internacional to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Centro Internacional
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 13A No. 38-97 | Carrera 13A No 38-95, Bogota, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #54 of 224 hotels in Bogota
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Enough, Excelent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel is in a central location, 5 minutes away from the National Park and within the Bogota financial district. The rooms are comfortable, free internet service, breakfast included, clean facilities and the food is good. Service is also great. It is not a luxury hotel, you won´t find excessive details but is good enough if you go to Bogota for business or just want to stay a couple of nights. I stayed one week and have no complains. I would definitely stay there again. Thanks for all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saín A, Owner at Hotel Centro Internacional, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Señor Ricardo:

Solo me queda agradecer sus comentarios positivos sobre la experiencia durante su estadía en el hotel. Recuerde que esta es su casa y siempre encontrará en nosotros un lugar placentero para su descanso. No dude en contactarme para su próxima visita, será un placer poder atenderlo de nuevo. Buen regreso y éxito en sus actividades profesionales.

Saludo cordial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
10
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel while on business in Bogota. I had never stayed here before, but chose the location on recommendation of friends and because it was convenient to where I needed to be.
The hotel seems to be very safe, and the staff is friendly and helpful. My room was adequate. I would have preferred more space to set up my laptop (I had to move all the snack stuff and hotel/Bogota brochures off to a corner in order to do anything), and it would have been nice to have an outlet with a free plug near the desk (I had to stretch my power cord across the room to the opposte wall, which also tells you something about the size of the room). The wifi connection was very good; it never lost contact and the bandwidth was very good for file transfers. The bed was very comfortable, and the shower was nice and modern. The armoir for hanging up clothes didn't really seem to have any facility for actually hanging the clothes, as there was no place to actually hang the hangers near the top. Maybe I was just a confused gringa, but it wasn't obvious to me how to do so. The safety deposit box for valuables was odd as well; it didn't have a lock and I wasn't sure if I was supposed to supply my own lock or whatever. I couldn't fathom how one could use a padlock of one's own and make it work. As a result I didn't use it, although I would have liked to.

The breakfast is simple but very tasty and adequate for older adults (young children might starve). The folks who staff this hotel are among the most helpful and friendly I have met in a long time.

It would have been nice to have had more space to lay out my toilettries in the bathroom, but the little rack above the toilet was stuffed with the free and for sale toilletry items, and the sink had no room either. I was afrain that it might be very noisy at night, as my room was right on the street, but the traffic was minimal by about 10:00 pm, and I slept very well.

The immedaite area can be a little dangerous after dark, and there aren't a lot of restaurants within walking distance anyway. I took a taxi each night to other parts of Bogota for dinner.

I would definitely stay here again, because it is a nice, reasonably-priced adequate hotel in a great location for business.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less light pollution issues (curtains do not completely block out street lights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Very good business hotel. Meals are good (a bit expensive though). All in all staff is very attentive. Location is great; near business centre in downtown Bogota. Would repeat for next business trip. The only minus is that furniture in rooms is not very practical, would benefit a lot with bigger desks and a sofa in standard rooms.

Room Tip: If it is under your budget, go for the Jr Suite. A whole lot better than standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I stayed here for 10 days and found it to be comfortable (especially for the competitive price), conveniently located and the staff friendly and helpful. I had only one problem (with the taxi company the hotel used); but the hotel staff were clearly mortified when I told them and sorted it out for me straight away. Some reviews listed here seem to want to blame everything (including the price of stamps!) on the hotel. It is true that the staff didn't speak English (except one) but most of their clientele seems to be from within Spanish-speaking America and, in any case, English is not widely spoken in Colombia - so a little Spanish would be an advantage if staying here. The breakfast is well, generous. Colombians like their breakfasts and the desayuno here is - if you want - full-on: eggs, arepas, chorizo, more eggs, and, of course, caldo de costillas (the famous Colombian beef stew). When I return to Bogotá, I shall probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors would be quieter. Bogotanos appear to rise early, so there is some traffic no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saín A, Propietario at Hotel Centro Internacional, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback.
You are right about the level of English spoken in Colombia, however hotels must be prepared for English speakers and so we are making efforts to increase our bilingual staff. We DO attend international companies and foreign tourism which is a reason for us to keep up with our staff´s English level.
I am glad to know you enjoyed our restaurant La Cascada, it is a BIG thing for us to give you a glance of Colombian gastronomy, is a mixture of tastes and exotic ingredients eager to be discovered ;)
Do not hesitate to contact me on your next visit to Bogota, there is nothing greater for us than attending happy returning customers. sainaguirre@hotelcentrointernacional.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Overall is a nice hotel with fine accomodations, although not renewed furniture. The main thing that bothered me was that the bar was open only until 9.30 pm and closed on Sundays, but that seems to be normal y standard Colombian Hotels.
I'll be there twice and I'll just reccomend travelers to request outside rooms, because inside rooms have their windows to an internal (very small) patio and the walls are just 1.5 m away.

Room Tip: Inside rooms have the inside patio and the kitchen is right below. I would reccomend chosing outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saín A, Propietario at Hotel Centro Internacional, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for bringing this up. Our restaurant on the 2nd floor serves alcoholic beverages and attends social activities, however it is not a bar and as a restaurant it closes at 9:30 pm.
I am glad to tell you that we will be opening the Hotel Bar (yet to be named) on December 2012 right on the 1st floor. It will be a great place to socialize with travelers, have a few drinks and enjoy live music.
As for inside and outside rooms, some travelers have a very light sleep and prefer to be as far away from windows. Some prefer to enjoy the view of outside rooms. I agree with you, the travelers should request the room that better fits their needs and we usually ask for preferences in this matter when both options are available.
Again thank you for your feedback, it is the greatest tool to keep developing great service. Make sure you email me on your next visit, we value guests like you. sainaguirre@hotelcentrointernacional.com [--].
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

I would like to thank the staff of this hotel, I had such a great attention!!

I am glad to have the chance to thank the hotel staff by telling other people how great this hotel is, it is a 3 star but it looks and feels like a 5 star.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saín A, Propietario at Hotel Centro Internacional, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback!!!

You are always welcome at Hotel Centro Internacional, I do not have to stress out how important it has been for us to have your business coming back in the last few years. Attending large groups has always been an interesting challenge but with your professionalism and well planning everything just flows....
To make you feel like at home is our greatest achievement and to earn your loyalty is our greatest reward.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

I made a reservation for my girlfriend coming from Peru and her first time out of the country. The taxi overcharged her from the airport (50.000) and when she arrived at Hotel Internacional they told her she didn't have a reservation. My girlfriend was afraid to go out and look for another and they charged her 50.000 pesos for a room with 3 beds. The reservation was for a single room, confirmed to me at 28.000. So the taxi robbed her and then Hotel Internacional robbed her again. What a terrible impression they gave her. I'm very upset with this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saín A, Propietario at Hotel Centro Internacional, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hello friend. I am very sorry for your girlfriend´s inconvenience during her stay in Bogotá. We at Hotel Centro Internacional accept all feedbacks and critics and make efforts to correct any mistakes as we are not perfect like any other business. However there seems to be a MISTAKE here.
We are NOT Hotel Internacional which is the name of a Hotel located in a nearby area. It may have happened that there was confusion because of the similarity of names with Hotel Centro Internacional.
This is a different kind of hotel where rates are very different from ours. We have never had a rate for $28.000 for a single room.
My advice for you and any other traveler who may need a taxi service from the airport is to go straight to the taxi kiosk located at the pickup bags exit. They will ask for the address you are going to and will print out a receipt with the total charge. This way you will know exactly how much you will be paying regardless of the way the driver takes you.
With all due respect we disregard this negative post about us since it refers to a different Hotel.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Centro Internacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centro Internacional

Address: Carrera 13A No. 38-97 | Carrera 13A No 38-95, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 224 hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Centro Internacional 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a luxury 3 star hotel located in the financial area of Bogota. The location is very convenient for business and tourism. The historic area of La Candelaria is only 10 minutes away as well as the Monserrate cathedral, both are a “must see” in the city. You can expect a personalized attention, great food and comfortable accommodation. With 7 suites and 45 standard rooms Hotel Centro Internacional has been positioned as one of the best in their category and one of the few with a quality certification guarantee. All rooms and public areas have WI-FI available and transportation service is provided.On the 2nd floor you will find La Cascada restaurant, a very nice well decorated and incredible flavored place where you can enjoy the best of the colombian gastronomy. All rates include American breakfast. Special rates for weekends and december.All major credit cards are accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Centro Internacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Centro Internacional, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.