We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casona del Patio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casona del Patio to your Saves list
Hotel Casona del Patio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   carrera 8 No. 69 _ 24, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Armenia, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good choise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

It's a good hotel, without luxury, but clean, comfortable and cheap if you have in mind that is located in the Bogota's trade center. It's near from JW Marriot Hotel, the 7th street, good restaurants, cinemas and shopping malls.

Room Tip: The bedroom 'Museo Nacional' has two single beds and it was a good choise for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasonaPatio, Coordinador Reservas at Hotel Casona del Patio, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We appreciate your kind review, We are glad that our Hotel Casona del Patio was your good pleasure, not only for service but also nuesrto by our location. We look forward to your visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    80
    25
    3
    4
See reviews for
36
52
37
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Booked a triple/quad room using booking.com for less than $75USD. The hotel is in Chapinero, a nice location in Bogota. It is surrounded by apartments and urban dwellings. It is near to the major banks, the Charulla supermercado, panaderias, restaurants, and an Avianca office. Never felt unsafe whether walking day or night. The room was older and small but clean with lots of hot water, free wifi, and Colombian breakfast included, a nice treat. The staff was very helpful as some in our party were "needy" types. English is spoken by one fellow at the front desk and one other working the restaurant. With the help of the front desk, we were able to book a car for day use at 160,000COP and they helped get the times for inter-city buses, We wuld not hesitate to stay here again. Great value for the price.

Room Tip: Our second floor room was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasonaPatio, Coordinadora de Reservas at Hotel Casona del Patio, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Is very important for us to know that your stay was to your total satisfaction, we are proud that you highlight many points in favor of both our service and our tour among others. We hope to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Let's begin with breakfast. A great variety from American to Colombian dishes. All come with juice and a hot beverage, freshly made arepa(tortilla-like) or bread (croissant). Portions are enough to fill you up until lunch. There is in particular one young man who works at the restaurant (Jonhnaton) and speaks English. The restaurant staff are all very friendly. As for the room we had warm water, comfortable beds, good space, and a TV. The location of the hotel is at a very nice place. It is extremely safe to walk in at all hours of the night. Never feared walking around the neighborhood at any time in the late evening. We even walked to/from the Zona Rosa ( nightlife and upscale shopping) late at night and were safe. If I were to come back to Bogota I would without a doubt stay here. The rates are great for what you get. The room was always cleaned and they always have coffee at the reception desk. The chapinero district is in a very nice area of Bogota and it is very easy to either request a taxi from the front desk or walk around the street and catch your own cab to take you to downtown Bogota. The quality of service was good. It was clean, did not see bugs at all, it was quiet at night, there is free wifi, and if you get cold at night you can request for some extra blankets. All the receptionists were friendly especially (Bernardo and Alexander). They also lock the doors late at night, but they can buzz you in when you get there. There is always someone at the front desk 24/7. The cab ride from the airport to the hotel cost us ($28,000 COP) , I would recommend getting in line at the airport with the airport taxis as opposed to those that walk up to you. They also have the option of providing you with their transportation (truck) at an hourly rate of $22,000 COP/hr or a flat fee to the airport at $30,000COP. The walk to the transmilenio is a short distance definitely less than 15 minutes. Happy with the stay and definitely recommend it for its value.

Room Tip: Botero- triple room. Faces the street. People may be outside talking in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasonaPatio, Coordinadora de Reservas at Hotel Casona del Patio, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We appreciate your kind reply,

For us is very important and rewarding read comments like this, it is an honor to provide our best service and that you are seen in this way. We hope to have you back in our hotel and so continue doing our job and get you to be a guest more satisfechi with our service.
We look forward to having you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Romana, Dominican Republic
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Casona del Patio is more like a (European style) guesthouse than a hotel…not because of the service, facilities and rooms, but because of the congenial atmosphere. Security and comfort was excellent. Close to many restaurants, cafes, banks, stores and malls. Bogota taxis are safe, cheap (US$7 to Museo de Botero) and reasonable…took the Transmilenio for the experience.

Service, both front desk and breakfast servers, was attentive and very good. Special mention to Alexander, Alejandro and Jazmin on the front desk, who helped out with advice…nothing was too much.

Moved to more comfortable and ventilated (Casa de La Moneda) upper floor room (with outside window) because of very noisy guests above original (internal-Parque Virrey) ground floor room.

Problems with price/night…booking.com vs. (actual) hotel rate. They charged exactly the same to both Colombian nationals and foreign guests (who shouldn't be paying the 16% IVA tax!!!). Booking.com (COP$116,379) website price is misleading. In the end, and despite a lengthy discussion, we paid the hotel's website (COP$135,000) rate which included the IVA tax.
So does this mean that Colombians pay the COP$135,00 + tax (COP$21,600) = COP$156,600? If not, then what happens to the COP$18,621 difference that non-Colombians pay?

For laundry, walk 5 mins for 2 blocks to "Parque Lourdes" Lava Seco, Calle 66 No.8, tel:249.70.72 / 248.09.17, where the very hospitable owners washed and ironed for next day collection for COP$4,000/lb. In comparison, the hotel's rates were very expensive.
[Turn left out of hotel, turn right at T-junction and walk 50m to main road (Carrera 9), turn left and walk100m to major avenue (Calle 67) with Camera de Comercio de Bogota/Citibank building on LHS, cross to other side and bear left, walk 50m and turn right into Carrera 8, walk another 50m and turn left into Calle 66…laundry is 20m on the right, opposite Hoteles America.]

Went to Catedral de Sal, Zipaquira independently, and so much cheaper than guided tour would have cost. See my review “Great independent trip a Zipa!!!” (15 Aug 2013) for how we did it.

Despite this hotel price rate issue, we had a really good stay, and would recommend Casona del Patio because it is close and central enough to most of what touristic Bogota has to offer.

Room Tip: Request room on upper floor with window access to outside. Internal ground floor rooms have no throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasonaPatio, Coordinadora de Reservas at Hotel Casona del Patio, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, hope to have you soon again in our Hotel Casona del Patio, with respect to tax appointed by you at the time of booking on the website indicated that he had no tax included. we will consider your opinion of the laundry because for us it is very important to your satisfaction and comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiantown, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

For our anniversary last week, my mother gifted us with a three night stay at this hotel while we were in Bogota. All the rooms are named by different places in the city, ours was called "Casa de la Moneda" or the house of coins. The service was very good, all of the hotel staff are extremely helpful and kind. The rooms are spacious and cozy, they even have a space heater! Since Bogota is so cold it really made our nights better. The patio was so cute! and the restaurant offers good food. The water heater is not always on, so if you wish to take a hot shower at night you just have to call the front desk and ask them to turn it on for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casona del Patio, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Annie:

Thanks for writing about our service; it has been a pleasure to have you as our guest. Please make sure we will take the necessary measures to improve hot water for shower
We hope see you in your next trip to Bogota.

Bets Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for five nights while visiting family. Nice and clean, close to restaurants, a relatively safe area. We would just have liked more hot water for showers. As Americans, we hadn't been aware of the fact that the sewer system in the area doesn't accommodate toilet paper, and a small trash container is provided for that. Shampoo is not provided as part of the package, so bring your own. Soaps are very tiny, even for a hotel; for an extended stay you may want a regular sized bar. A grocery store is within walking distance. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Yes, the rooms are small and basic, but we like that. Cleanliness counts much more than room size! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casona del Patio, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Barbara:

Thank you for writing, we want to tell you that we are making improvements to ensure hot water for shower. For us have been a pleasure to have them at Hotel.

Bets Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights and had a wonderful experience. The front desk staff was incredibly friendly and professional and accomodated all of our requests. We ate at the restaurant both nights because it was convenient and reasonably priced. My only complaint was that the only waitress both nights was not very pleasant and did demonstrated the level of professional service and demeanor that the rest of the staff possessed. Had she been more pleasant our experience would have been a bit more enjoyable. Staying on the topic of the staff, I want to give special shoutouts to Alejandro and Alexandro at the front desk, both of whom provided impeccable service, great advice and were so friendly! And Fabian, who drove us to the airport this morning and chatted with us. He was incredibly pleasant. We parted with Casona del Patio very grateful for their professionality, service, friendly staff, amazing breakfast!, and more. The next time I return to Bogota I will be sure to check out this hotel, if not at least stop by y saludar al staff! Muchas gracias!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casona del Patio, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Keilasi:

Thanks for writing about our service; it has been a pleasure to have you as our guest. Please make sure we will take the necessary measures in order to improve the service at the restaurant. We are constantly training all our staff and will bring your comments into our training sessions.

We hope see you in your next trip to Bogota.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casona del Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona del Patio

Address: carrera 8 No. 69 _ 24, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bogota
#8 Family Hotel in Bogota
#25 Business Hotel in Bogota
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona del Patio 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with 24 rooms located in the financial heart of Bogota - Colombia, South America. A convenient, cozy and low cost experience that highlights the architecture and the cultural heritage of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casona del Patio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona Del Patio Bogota
Casona Del Patio Hotel Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casona del Patio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.