We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty little hotel in a lovely part of town - good value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casona del Patio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Casona del Patio to your Saves list
Hotel Casona del Patio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   carrera 8 No. 69 _ 24, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 231 Hotels in Bogota
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Pretty little hotel in a lovely part of town - good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed for four nights at Casona del Patio and really enjoyed it there.

Overall the hotel was very clean and a nice place to stay. It was exceptionally good value as it is in the best of part of town and was actually cheaper than a hostel for us to stay in a double room with private bathroom.

The room we had was very nice and was clean. I am very fussy when it comes to cleanliness and even I walked around the room with no flip flops on which is something of a novelty of late staying in hostels!

They provide a small 'minibar' - not a normal minibar - its actually a few baskets on the side that have sachets of shampoo, tube of toothpaste, crisps and water etc but is cheap and handy if you forget something or run out whilst you are there.

We had a tv with cable which was useful and we did get wifi in our room which was very useful.

The room was cleaned daily and the towels replaced but they didn't change the bed clothes at all whilst we were there. They did however provide us with two extra pillows when we asked though.

There was a small sitting area opposite our room which was useful for sitting and Skyping family whilst my boyfriend was watching tv! It did have a glass roof which was quite noisy when it rained but otherswise was a nice little addition.

The only small issue we had is that they charge a lot for laundry and we therefore asked the reception staff where we could find a laundrette locally and they said they did not know which was very unhelpful! In fact there is one a few streets away but it takes a few days to get the clothes back so we didn't end up using it!

The staff on reception tend to speak English which is good but the level of helpfulness varies significantly!

If you go out for the night let the front desk know as we got back at midnight one night and had to knock for a good ten minutes before we got in! Saying that it shows what a nice neighbourhood it is that we felt completely safe walking around at that time!

The area is very pretty and clearly well to do which makes it feel very safe and is a pleasant place to have a stroll, there's a good supermarket two blocks away.

We ate dinner in the restaurant one night and it was not very good, I had the raviolli and it was very overcooked to the point that the filling was rock hard. My boyfriend had the chicken sandwich which was nice enough and there was plenty of it but nothing special. The breakfast was not very good and so even though it was included we only ended up having it the first morning!

All in all this is a good budget option and feels more like staying in a nice hotel than a hostel or budget hotel. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We were in the back building next to the small sitting room which I think is called Bibloiteca Julio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casona del Patio, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for writing your opinion about the service at hotel, their comments we added much value and help us to improve, in relation to the restaurant we want to tell you that we have taken steps to correct the errors in the service and ensure the excellent quality of the dishes offered.

We are happy to know that you liked the hotel and you would recommend us thank you thank you for your preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    71
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
49
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
909 helpful votes 909 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I would call this a very upscale hostel. Our room had 3 twin beds, a private bath, and a gorgeous view of the little patio out back, mountains and everything. We stayed here only one night at the beginning of an Intrepid tour, but it was the nicest of all our (budget) accomodations on the trip. Hot water, English speaking staff, a working computer in the common area, included breakfast, and like 8 security guards guarding the front door at night. Cute bars and restaurants within a few block radius.

Definitely a safe and clean place to stay, although keep in mind that it's a ~20min walk to the Transmilenio, and another 20mins or so ride to the downtown Candeleria area so not necessarily terribly convenient if that's where you'll be spending the majority of a trip.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casona del Patio, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for writing us, your opinion is very important for us. It has been a pleasure to have you in the Hotel, we are glad to hear that you liked your stay here, we hope to see you in a future trip to Bogota.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our Intrepid tour group was booked here for just our one night in Bogota. The inn is charming, well located, and the staff was friendly. Unlike many places in the country, the staff spoke some English, which was very helpful for this language-impaired world traveler. Everything was very clean and the included breakfast bountiful. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casona del Patio, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hello, thank you for the time spent writing about us, we are pleased to know that you liked hotel and that your experience with us was nice, until a next opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, AL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for over a week, and we were very happy with the choice we made.
The main factors for us when staying on Hotels are having clean and quiet rooms, and this place was just perfect for us. We never enjoyed the breakfast due to the pacing we had during our great time in Bogota, but certainly the dinning room looked well organized, clean, and comfortable enough. The staff was very respectful, professional, and willing to help us any way possible. The hotel has transportation available all the times just outside at the walkway, with drivers and vehicles referred by them so we felt pretty safe taking any of them for a little bit more than what a taxi cab use to ask. Internet was fast enough, room was spacious, beds very comfy, nice hot shower, bathroom with sink and toilet rather small, and rooms with no fancy bells and whistles (like the ones at Grandma's home) but it were never an issue to us. Location was excellent, very close to malls, restaurants, and so on. Certainly we are willing to stay here on our future travels...

Room Tip: Room "Palacio de Narinno" at the 2nd floor (on the back side of the hotel) is very comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casona del Patio, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for writing to us, it is a pleasure for us know that his experience in the hotel was nice, we hope to be able to provide care for them in a forthcoming visit to Bogota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hostel/hotel
Location is great,close to supermarket (carulla) and malls and nightlife.
Don't bother walking around ar night,it's a safe barrio,not that hustle like in Candelaria.the hotel is very spacius,rooms super clean with comfy beds.hot showers,and a great openair patio.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Casona del Patio, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks for your comment, has been a pleasure to have him in the hotel and still we are pleased to know that your stay with us was happy, we hope to serve you in a next opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was a little taken aback on the prices of hotels in Bogota and the low rating that some of them got. I am pretty particular about where I stay, but I am also thrifty (OK, I like to save a buck). This place was great. Good wifi everywhere. Heat in the rooms. They always had a cab waiting for you when you asked them to. Good breakfast, no additional charge in the morning. QUIET in the middle of a big city. The patio and other little open area had nice flowers and vines and birds. Close to a great panaderia. And only 75 bucks! I felt like I won the lottery.
The people were nice and spoke a little english. Also, free coffee at all times. GO THERE!

Room Tip: I was in the Casa Verrey. Not fancy, but a 32" flat screen. Great water pressure. They gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Casona del Patio, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your comment, give us your opinion adds much value and we are glad to hear that du stay in the hotel was better than expected. We will be happy in a next visit to Bogota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband I stayed here four times in a month. Our three different rooms off the street were clean, comfortable, and quiet. Other patrons were also considerate. While the rooms do not have bells and whistles, the showers are great. The location is terrific, considering most of the hotels in the area are more expensive. Nearby restaurants are excellent and the hotel breakfast was just fine. There is also a van service to the airport.

The friendly staff was heroic in figuring out what I needed due to my limited Spanish. Some of the staff do speak some English. They all deserve a raise.

My only recommendation is a baggage rack or two would be helpful. I am getting on in years. I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the street. I suffer from cold so I appreciated a heater in my room to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casonabogota, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Casona del Patio, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for your comment, your opinion adds us much value, and we are pleased to know that stay at the hotel du was better than expected.

To provide a better service and help our guests now have a Bellboy at Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casona del Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona del Patio

Address: carrera 8 No. 69 _ 24, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bogota
#8 Business Hotel in Bogota
#10 Family Hotel in Bogota
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona del Patio 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with 24 rooms located in the financial heart of Bogota - Colombia, South America. A convenient, cozy and low cost experience that highlights the architecture and the cultural heritage of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casona del Patio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona Del Patio Bogota
Casona Del Patio Hotel Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casona del Patio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.