We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice building, average exhibits” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museo Nacional

Museo Nacional
AC 7 (Alberto Lleras Camargo) No. 28-10, Bogota, Colombia
57-1 334 8366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 111 Attractions in Bogota
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Colombia's oldest museum holds a vast collection of archeological artifacts, as well as modern art. The building itself is interesting—it's a former prison and many of the galleries are inside former prison cells.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice building, average exhibits”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The highlight of this venue is the art exhibition in the old chapel of representative Colombian artists, as well as the simple-but-nice outdoor gardens. The balance of the exhibits portray, rather boringly, national archeological history.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    131
    41
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Well kept, full of Colombian history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I visited the museum on a Sunday morning. First thing I noticed was there was no entrance fee.
Very well kept with history of Colombia from "El Bogotazo" and far beyong, pictures and history of presidents and plenty of religious articles, paintings and pictures.
Great way to expend a couple of hours in the museum which used to be a penitenciary.
While in the area you can vist the Gold Museum, worth seeing.
I used the Transmilenio public transportation which has a station just a few yards from the Lancaster House Hotel. Do not miss seeing the National museum, the Gold museum. Monserate church and the Zipaquira salt cathedral.
Food on the street is wonderful and tasty. For an excellent meal, dine at the hotel restaurant or other refined restaurants blocks away on avenida 19.
SantiagoZamudio

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Museo Nacional de Colombia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Museo Nacional is housed in an impressive building, and old jail, and it houses an interesting colection of Colombian history. This was my favorite museum as a child, the first place where I saw a mummy

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Visit the museum and the nearby National Parque....continue walking on 7ave to 10 street (45 min walk), and visit Bogota Centro

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Wide-ranging Collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The museum is huge-- it's housed in a former prison. My friend and I focused on the pre-columbian galleries on the main floor the day we visited. You can take photos with no flash. I would definitely go back to visit some of the other galleries-- there's so much to see! The entire history of the Colombia is here.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Nacional also viewed

 

Been to Museo Nacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo Nacional, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.