We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolate Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chocolate Hostel to your Saves list
Chocolate Hostel
Calle 12F # 2-43 | Centro Histórico La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 168 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Arequipa Region, Peru
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice quiet hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I am really surprised by some of the reviews here. This hostel is in a beautiful building in a very handy area.
We found everything very clean, bathrooms were cleaned every morning, there's soap and paper towels as well. One of the boilers was broken when we were there so there wasn't hot water in every bathroom. But where it worked it was great!!
Breakfast was small but available from 8am. Kitchen is very well equipped and common area is spacious.
We slept really well in this hostel as there were hardly anyone else staying - maybe due to these reviews? We enjoyed staying here very much, the location doesn't get any better and staff was nice and smiley.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
12
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I was in Chocolate in June and i didn't like it at all because it was so dirty and stinky. First of all the bathrooms were always smelling like rotting pipe and sometimes they didn't have toilet paper if you look on the website they tell you that their bathrooms have hot water and it is the biggest lie. They tell you that the breakfast starts at 8:00 A.M. and it is a lie too, it starts at 8:30 A.M. I was always founding powder and dirt around and it was confusing to me because the hostel has a lady in charge of the cleaning but i frequently saw her outside the house smoking cigarettes and drinking coffee. When I wanted to use some things of the kitchen i didn't find it clean. The hostel is so dark, they don´t have a real T.V. room or one comfortable social area. The women of the staff were nice people and they can give you good information about the city. This is my first time using tripadvisor and i want to do it to let you know that if you want to go to Bogota don´t go to this hostel unless you´re looking only for a bed to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed here from the 13th to the 17th of May and again on the 21st to the 23rd I have to say that the main reason why I came back to the hostel is because it is spotless , I was very impressed in how clean it is 24/7 and to me that is the most important characteristic in a hostel that has so much traffic, I must say overall it's a nice place with friendly staff although sometimes the front desk staff has a bit too many guests of their own and it's hard to find a glass or a knife for the paying customer since these "guests" are using them in their daily get togethers. I appreciate so much the nice lady that has breakfast on time and hot and ready to go the moment you step on the perfectly organized kitchen. I would like to thank chocolate hostel and I will be back! O another thing make sure to sock up on beers because that refrigerator has been empty for 4 days now!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We (couple, 41 & 50) stayed at Chocolate Hostel for two nights in April 2014. We paid $28 a night for a room with private bathroom and cable television. The room was small and the bed was uncomfortable. The bathroom was small, too, and very dirty - the rug was filthy and the cleaning schedule posted on the bathroom door showed it was last cleaned in February 2012. The common area was okay, though the chimney was not connected to the fireplace so it was non-functional. The hostel is in La Candelaria and ten minutes walking from all the sights, metro line, restaurants and shops. If not for the dumpy room and filthy bathroom, Chocolate Hostel would be a good value. There are 75+ hostels in La Candelaria and we would try another one if we returned to Bogotà.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

If you're not really into the large party hostels in Colombia, this place is for you. They keep it quiet at night, but there's a good atmosphere where you can still meet other travelers. Nice architectural touches, a homey feel, and comfy common areas make this a fun place to hang during your stay. Close to everything in Candelaria, just don't walk around alone at night, obviously.
The only downside is the Bogota weather, so the semi-outdoor showers can be hard to keep warm!

Room Tip: If you can, spring for the little single rooms instead of the dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A very nice hostal, cheap and well located, with an amazingly helpful staff! Arrived exhausted with a twisted ankle and left walking normally with a smile.. A very warmful welcome to Colombia for anybody who arrives to Colombia. Rooms are clean and nice, breakfast is decent but not very big.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights as it has a good kitchen and a decent breakfast included. The breakfast was an hour late on the second morning. There are board games, DVDs, computers and a book exchange. Not enough bathrooms/toilets and 1 of the five staff we constantly came across actually was friendly, the rest sat on the computer all day sighing when you asked for any information. We have definitely met nicer people in Colombia.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
Iku Hostel Backpackers Bogota
La Candelaria
Destino Nomada - DnHostel Bogota
La Candelaria
Hostal Bakano Backpackers
Hostal Bakano Backpackers
#48 of 168 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Explora Hostels
Explora Hostels
#19 of 168 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#10 of 168 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
La Candelaria
Zohar Hostel
Zohar Hostel
#16 of 168 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chocolate Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chocolate Hostel

Address: Calle 12F # 2-43 | Centro Histórico La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 168 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chocolate Hostel is located in a beautiful colonial house in the historic center of the city where you will find a friendly, warm and welcoming atmosphere with all the comfort you deserve to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Chocolate Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chocolate Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.