We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fulano Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Fulano Backpackers to your Saves list
Fulano Backpackers
Carrera 10A #69-41, Bogota 11001000, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

A nice place if you want to be able to walk the streets at night. It feels very safe and there is a supermarket around the corner. The hostel has an almost European feel. Alejandro was working at the front desk when I arrived and he made me feel very very welcome. He also helped me out to find accomodation in El Cocuy and tried to call about ten different numbers. Never seen such a happy guy!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    19
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
1
11
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is the first time I've reviewed a hostel because there is something about Fulano that I really enjoyed. I stayed for 5 days while looking for a flat in Chapinero - and the staff and owners were very helpful, and the beds were the most comfortable I've stayed in in a hostel - it feels more like a hotel for the price of a hostel. The type of guest there is respectful and quiet - but I also found it easy to find people to go out and party with. Great Jazz music playing in the morning, and more upbeat stuff in the evening. Try the Italian-made lasagna! Great position, 3.500pesos ($1.5 usd) taxi from Zona T with all the main bars, pubs and restaurants. Much nicer than Candelaria part. Oh, and best showers in Colombia!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Gamechanging brand new hostel. This was the nicest hostel I stayed in during my 3 weeks in Colombia. The owners were always present at the hostel and were super helpful. Location of the hostel was perfect. Much nicer area of Bogota than most other hostels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hostel was very cozy with great beds. The staff was very friendly and professional. The bathrooms were plentiful, modern and clean.

My only complaint is that towel rentals were 5,000 pesos ($2.50). One can buy a towel in Colombia for just a bit more. But I would highly recommend this place. The quality vs. price is outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I'been in this hostel just for one night. The place seems to be nice, with new forniture and cool ambiance. The bedrooms and the bathrooms are good as well. But the security is not their major quality. I was sleeping with my door closed and, at 3am, one guy get into the room completely naked and drunk and goes to my bed,trying to do dont know what. Except for that, the hostel is ok, but I do not suggest it for a friend of mine.

Room Tip: Ask to a room wich is not allowed naked guys get on top of you at 3am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieBlomster, Gerente at Fulano Backpackers, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear guest, first at all thank you for staying with us at FULANO BACKPACKERS. We are sorry that you stayed was not comfortable at all, but we have to be clear the security that we provide in our hostel was not the reason that the other guest went into your room to disturbed you during your sleeping ours.

You spent one night with us in a four Mixed dorm with other guest, you and the other guest were the only ones who had the key to open the door of your room. (All rooms are with different locks and we give the key only for people who are sleeping in it room). Unfortunately there are too many things that can happen with the guest that we don't realize because the guard in the front desk during the night is responsible to not let come into the hostel people that are not staying with us, also making respect the sleeping hours with the loud people but never to get inside the dorms or rooms to check what is going on inside when there is not a signal that something inside is wrong.

Finally, We didn't have your complain in the front desk in the moment or at least the day after to do something about what had happened.

Thank you for your opinion.

Fulano Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hostel is in a very good and safe neighborhood. It has a supermarket and a mall nearby, as well as bars and restaurants. Is reasonably close to the Zona Rosa, the hottest spot of Bogota. The decor is very cool and every day there is a barbecue or something like that. We stayed in the ensuite and we loved it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Fulano backpackers a few weeks ago and it was great. It's in a really safe area down the street from a supermarket, a ton of local restaurants and a few bars. Hostel was very clean and offered dinner a few nights a week. Kitchen is huge with large dining area. Nice bar area with pool tables and a friendly bartender. Rooms and bathrooms were spotless. On our last night a guy got into a fight with his girlfriend and started breaking doors and throwing things. Was very impressed with the staff and how they handled it. If you are lucky enough to go to bogota, this place is well worth your time and money

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fulano Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulano Backpackers

Address: Carrera 10A #69-41, Bogota 11001000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a brand new hostel located in Quinta Camacho (North of Chapinero) with two private en-suite rooms, one double single room and six dorms. Our strength is the common areas, with a well-done design, you will find a bar-yard, al fresco dining, a computer hall, a billiard saloon, a living room, a mini-lounge, a cinema, a long shared kitchen, laundry room, and smoking outdoor terrace. These areas will make you feel in a comfort hotel with a hostel attitude. All of these features supplemented with our art gallery along our walls, documentaries & films in our cinema, and live music or dj set in the bar-yard accompanied by a slow and low BBQ grill or a tasty italian lasagna. Just book and we guarantee the best stay ever in Bogota and Colombia. We will see you soon Fulano! Please Note: We accept Credit Cards Visa/M.Card/Amex Check In: 2.00 Pm Check Out: 11.00 Am Breakfast included. 3 Days cancelation policy. Airport transfer. Happy Hour all days. 7.30-8.30Pm Weekends in Fulano: Most of our guests are young people who are traveling and they are looking for socialize with other travelers or local people. This is the reason that at The Courtyard-bar we have the time only on weekends to hang-out in our bar, drinking some cocktails, playing music, meeting the best local people. After 2am we turn off the music for people who want to sleep and for those who want to keep hanging out or partying we have some recomendations until early in the morning. Friday: Latin party Dj Set by Rojo Fulano 7pm - 2am Saturday: Live Fulano (live music by a guest band) + Dj Set Rojo Fulano 7pm - 2am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Fulano Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fulano Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;