We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel in old centre of Bogota close to Bolivar Square” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Opera to your Saves list
Hotel de la Opera
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 10 No. 5-72 La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Historic hotel in old centre of Bogota close to Bolivar Square”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Perfect location from which to explore historic centre of Bogota. Hotel is in lovely traditional Spanish style with open courtyards fireplaces etc. Low rise nature of hotel means rooms are all close to street level and therefore quite noisy at night. Staff excellent and happy to help in anyway they can.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    96
    35
    10
    9
See reviews for
26
114
36
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Except for the sales manager and the spa operator on duty on that date, everyone else was friendly, helpful, and was striving to provide a great service. Breakfast was quite good with a variety of fruits and great omelettes.

HOWEVER, the spa facilities are not well distributed and lack sufficient space and lounge chairs for guests. The jacuzzi's water temperature was cold and the lighting was low, the steam room was not properly clean, the sauna lacked a proper temperature regulator. Upon check-out, we pointed these deficiencies to the manager on duty but she brushed us off with a simple " write it in the survey and we will follow up".

Needless to say, I will never recommend this hotel and certainly feel that I wasted my hard-earned $$$.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Stayed in Jan 2010 as my friend was celebrating his civil partnership here. I am very surprised that the Hotel de la Opera is not further up the rankings of Bogota hotels. It is a delightful hotel attractively designed. Were very pleased with our rooms (we had a split visit) and the facilities. Breakfast served in the very attractive central courtyard and I thought very good with slightly different offerings daily. Lovely spa although very difficult to get a booking for any treatments which then appeared to be done publicly in the changing room which I thought odd.
The wedding function was lovely - beautifully presented and reasonable (but not excellent) food considering the occasion.
I found the staff very helpful and quite knowledgeable. Tip - if using the hotel car service this is much more expensive than a taxi but would recommend if being collected from the airport and you don't know where you are going. Still very cheap.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Hotel de la Opera has beautiful architectural character, sweet-tempered staff, and a superlative spa-- all at a great value. That said, at this level of property, the front desk should be better versed in area attractions and practical information, and probably English language skills, assuming they're aiming for a share of non-Spanish-speaking tourists.

One night, we asked for directions to a certain address in the neighborhood. The desk personnel gave directions on a map and assured us it was within safe walking distance. In actuality, the location was several blocks further away and it certainly not the best idea for two women to walk alone at night. We managed to make our way, but with no credit to the hotel. Bogota is a beautiful and welcoming city, but not safe enough for mistakes like this one.

If we hadn't a smattering of Spanish, we would not have been able to stay comfortably at this hotel.

Other hotel notes:
- Bogota is damp, so you may have to run the small space heater.
- Food and cocktails are passable and fairly priced for hotel fare.
- Breakfast is good/included, but ends at 10am which is a drag when you party til 4am.
- The location is great, very close to museums and other points of interest.
- The wi-fi is unacceptably spotty, unfortunately.

Other Bogota notes:
- Abasto, a cafe in Usaquen, is excellent.
- I also recommend La Taperia, a restaurant in La Macarena.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

It was so wonderful to stay in such a lovingly restored hotel. It's in a great location.
Staff are a bit rude though.
The spa is AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Spent two nights here - so quaint. The hotel is just one block from Bolivar Square and the Presidential Palace. The rooms are good sized, and the hotel itself has a nice atmosphere. Our first night there was a wedding party which was fabulous to watch from the second floor. However, my favorite feature was the large bathtub! Staff were friendly but we would have appreciated a bit more guidance on where to go, eat, see, but overall a lovely experience. Very central to downtown Bogota which was great.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

It is a charming hotel in the heart of historic Bogotá. The colonial rooms, the patios and restaurants, are beautiful. At first I had a room in that area, then due to some problems with the works at the nearby Teatro Colón, I was moved to the "Area Deco", that I quite disliked - anonymous rooms, awful view on the back allies and on the favelas on the hill in front. The personnel is very courteous - Colombian style - but they are not so efficient. One night I had no water in my bathroom, and it took almost 24 hours to fix the problem - no shower next morning. Their first reaction was that it was not possible, and they did nothing for hours. The two rooms I had were clean, but some corners of the hotel (e.g., the living room in the Area Deco) were not so immaculate. The restaurants are too pricey for local standards - you need more than 100.000 pesos for a meal with some drinks, while in the neighborhood there are some of the best restaurants in Bogotá where you spend half of that. They have wifi internet connection but it works only in some rooms (for instance it did not work in the second room I had). Altogether, ways too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Opera

Address: Calle 10 No. 5-72 La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Bogota
#22 Spa Hotel in Bogota
#47 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de la Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Opera is located in La Candelaria, next to the Cristobal Colon Theater, in front of "Palacio San Carlos", currently headquarters of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, one block from Bolivar Square and a fifteen minutes walk to the funicular for Monserrate hill. Thanks to its strategic location, our guests can easily visit the most characteristic places of the city, for example the Gold Museum, Botero Museum, Primary Cathedral, etc. Also, many important government buildings are nearby. Walking its roads you will be part of its stories, legends and myths which are preserved in each of its houses. Questions like, why do the houses have doors of two meters? Where did Manuelita Saenz live her idyll with Simon Bolivar? Which is the window through which Simon Bolivar escaped? These are just some examples of the cultural treasures that you will find in La Candelaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de la Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Opera Bogota
De La Opera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.