We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Opera - A classicly Colombian Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Opera

Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Opera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel de la Opera
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 10 No. 5-72 La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 224 hotels in Bogota
Charlottesville, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“La Opera - A classicly Colombian Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

I usually stay at the Embassy Suites but they were sold out so I tried La Opera. It was very nice. Clean rooms, very helpful and friendly staff and an elegant feel to the place. It's right downtown which is interesting and gives a different flavour than I was used to. All up - I'd stay here again if the ES wasn't available. Breakfast was adequate but not amazing. Really the staff and cool older styling of the hotel and location make it a nice place to stay. oh - and the massage in their spa was fenomenous (in the words of my Argentine friend!). Definately top notch in that department.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    76
    27
    9
    8
See reviews for
23
92
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

We stayed in room 206 which had a fabulous skinny wrap-around balcony with stained glass windows. The bathroom had a clawfoot tub and shower. This room was worth the rate we paid for 1 evening. Tall ceilings, rich furniture and colourful but tasteful decor made our room feel luxurious. There is a spa downstairs which we used to relax in the whirlpool, steam sauna & dry sauna.

The location is ideal if you are planning to visit old Bogota (the Candelaria). You really get to feel the whole experience of Candelaria when you stay in the charming Hotel de la Opera. Breakfast was yummy - how can you go wrong with Colombian coffee!?

We did notice some of the hotel rooms had windows opening into the interior courtyard of the hotel which we found odd and less desireable than the room we had. Our stay was fabulously romantic and we'd stay again if ever returning to Bogota with money to spend.

  • Liked — Everything - central location, felt safe & secure, spa, boutique hotel...
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

The hotel is good, but i had a problem: I've booked 2 days just to have a confortable time, surpresily, when i came to the room on the second day, they didnt make the room cleaning. I told them i`ve paid 2 days even not sleeping there on the second night, without discount.I talked to the manager and she told she couldn`t do nothing.

  • Liked — The architecture
  • Disliked — The manager
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

My first time to Bogota and hit the jackpot with this hotel. Very traditional South American Property. In a great location in the historic district and near the Musuem of Gold. While it is a good distance from La Zona Rosa or Parque 93 high end areas it is an easy taxi ride to those areas. The neighborhood is old and you really feel like you are in the true Bogota. very near the presidential HQ so there are lots of security on the streets. I found the staff to be incredibly friendly and helpful. In the future, this will be my hotel of choice in Bogota.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

i checked in late at night ready to crash after a long haul flight and was amazed to find out that my room only had windows facing the tiled floor hallways which in turn opened to the hotel's courtyard--every single noise in the hotel seemed to echo into my room. i tried to change my room but it was the also one available--or else, there was another one, but exactly in the same position of mine but in another floor. in the morning i woke up with the delicate noise of cutlery hitting plates of the guests who were having breakfast three floors down--in the courtyard! you can't imagine this situation because it is utterly unbelievable that a hotel can charge over 200USD for a room like this, or else, that a decent hotel has the guts to offer a room like this to a guest. also, the bathroom was a hallway, literally, yet the wireless was ok. i only managed to change rooms in the second night--better, quieter room, though the wireless service was non-existent. and the location of this hotel is terrible.

  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

This is one of my favorite hotels. My partner and I travel to Colombia once a year to visit his family and we always stay here. This is a charming hotel is in the colonial heart of the city away from the hustle and bustle of modern Bogotá.( Modern Bogoat is a cheap cab ride away.) You can easily walk to the colonial sites of the city. The rooms are comfortable and charming with tile floors, the breakfast is tasty, and the restaurant at the top of the hotel has beautiful views of the colonial “skyline”. The staff is always eager to please. I love this hotel. This is always my first choice in Bogotá!

  • Liked — colonial charm
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2007

This was a great find. It is a small boutique style hotel the result of merging two colonial houeses. A small patio has been maintained and the rooftop restaurant Mirador gives tantalising views of the tiled roofs of the surrounding area. The rooms retain a colonial feel but have the usual modern conveniences. The staff were delightful and efficient. The location is fine for the main plaza and within walking distance of the Gold Museum. It was a marvellous alternative to the usual business tarveller's hotel. You actually had a feeling of being in Bogota hotel rather than in a hotel!!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de la Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Opera

Address: Calle 10 No. 5-72 La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de la Opera 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel de la Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Opera Bogota
De La Opera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.