We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & View fantastic, some issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Opera to your Saves list
Hotel de la Opera
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 10 No. 5-72 La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Location & View fantastic, some issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

If sound was controlled, better toiletries and spa was open would be 4 to 5 stars.

I had the luxury of staying at a couple of hotels in Bogota. This one and one in the Financial district. Hands down if you want to be a tourist this is the place - during the day. Zona Rosa is the place to have dinner and such if you want to walk around. You will however find a happening area a few blocks NorthEast where restaurants and hostels abound.

What I loved:
We had a room on the 7th floor in the "deco" wing. These rooms actually are attached via a hallway to an elevator, all interior, to the top floor of a neighboring building. The views from Room 712 were just incredible. Directly looking at the church domes, plazas and colonial dwellings. I doubt there is a better view in the La Calenderia area. There was no church bell noise as you expect in some European towns. The rooms was nicely furnished with basic furniture but lovely hard wood floors. The bathroom was spacious but not huge with a shower only (which I prefer).

The hotel location was great for what we wanted. During the day we happily walked all around the area and enjoyed the Botero Museum, Gold Museum, churches and plazas. There is a Juan Valdez a block away. Even at night we walked together and felt safe. I would be cautious but overall nothing more than when in a city in The US.

Breakfast was included and it was nice. They offered cook-to-order omelets and a variety of fruits and fried stuff.

Improvements:
The room was noisy. The windows are single pane and even though on the 7th floor you hear a lot of street noise. Also when someone walks down the hallway you also hear their footsteps. In all my years of travel noise is rarely an issue but when it is, it's maddening. The hotel was not even that busy when we were there so I can only imagine when the hotel is full with all the noise of walking around.

If you are expecting a nice time in the Spa/sauna area good luck. We arrived on Sunday and although the hotel was pretty much empty they held to a strict 3pm check in. No worries but then we were told the spa area was only open until 6 and closed on Mondays. We had expected it as a nice way to unwind after days of busy sight seeing but that did not happen. The front desk staff was also very uninterested in us not being happy with this.

Asking for a taxi was efficient and the hotel did not surcharge to do so. HOWEVER when I asked for a taxi to one of the Northern Suburbs to see the historic charm he suggested a much nicer location - a modern shopping mall near the airport. A total waste of a day and money. Still not sure what that was about.

I found myself twice at the front desk asking for help and while trying to help they assisted other patrons who were checking out or had room questions before they helped me. Not sure why, but it did make me feel less important and I had to wait while they helped others.

Overall it was a nice hotel but with the price you'd expect better hours for the sauna and quieter rooms. The view and location do counteract those issues if you are prepared.

Room Tip: Room 712 in the deco area has the view! Spa has limited hours. Bring your own toiletries - the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time you have taken to make a review of our Hotel.

Our guests are the more important part of our organization that is why we have to make a regular maintenance each monday in our Thermae Spa. Additionally, our staff are commited with the excellence and are trained to advised you about nice places in Bogotá. We hope you give us the oportunity to demostrate it in a next stay.

Please, consider De La Opera Hotel your home in Bogotá.

Kind Regards,

Luz Angela Barbosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    88
    34
    10
    9
See reviews for
26
107
32
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Don't get me wrong...a nice, safe choice for the government area...at night it is rather dead (or unsafe?) nearby...this hotel has charm, old world charm,..staff is genuinely nice and helpful. A bit pricey for what it is...

Room Tip: When you get your room...MAKE 100% SURE that you cannot hear any noise coming from the restaurant ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments.

We are working improve your expectations, and we hope to have the opportunity to see you back in the Hotel.

Sincerely;

LINA CARO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

While staying in Bogota for an extended period of time, we booked Hotel de la Opera, at an exceptional rate, for a weekend get-away in the Historical Center, and were very pleased.

There are two sections of the hotel, a beautifully restored Colonial section, on two floors, with rooms facing an internal courtyard, and a contemporary spa-inspired section on higher floor.

Our room was in the contemporary section, it was big and comfortable, light and airy, and quiet, with nice little amenities - robes, slippers, bottled water, and pleasing toiletries. The bathroom was large - with a great tub for soaking, and there were plenty of hangers in the wardrobe - always appreciated. I wasn't so crazy about the bedding - primarily the blanket and spread - finding them a bit dated and worn, though nothing horrible. Still, in the best interest of the hotel, I brought this to the attention of the staff and my concern was well-received and noted.

There is a peaceful little spa on the first level of the hotel, and use of the facilities are included in the room rate. There's a steam/sauna area, as well as a jacuzzi, and a small pool - and several comfy chairs/loungers for relaxing. The hours of operation are schedule-accommodating - from 7a.m. til 10 p.m. - and we found it a great place to unwind.

Service here was excellent, and the staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs. An issue with room service - forgotten items, poorly prepared food and plopped-on-the-plate presentation - was handled with finesse and corrected immediately.

Breakfast - also included in the room rate - was tasty and ample.

Overall, if you're looking for a hotel in the Historical Center, close to museums and other points of interest, Hotel de la Opera is a very good choice.

Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments, it help us to improve our services and look for exceed your expectations in your next stay.

We hope to see you back in the hotel.

Sincerely;

Lina Caro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel de la opera is strategically placed in one of the safest areas of Bogota, this delightful hotel is in a heavily policed historic area , lots of students walking and for those wanting to get lucky with a columbian emerald a good place to start.
Do not believe the negative western press on Bogota as wether you are in New York,Sydney or London all cities require a degree of caution.
Do not forget to try the potato and chicken soup,
The hotel has two court yards and exudes a Latin ambiance , the breakfast was great with lots of fresh fruit, the rooms are good and the 7th floor has great roof top views.
There are five stars on the front of the Hotel but I think it may be self rated as it is not like five star hotels I have stayed.
All up good spot at a fair price.

Room Tip: Get motivated and travel to Bogota and Columbia before the rest of the Gringo,s discover how nice t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Customer Service at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time you took to share about our Hotel.

It was a pleassure to have had with us and even better being able to meet your expectations.

We hope to see you back, please consider De La Ópera Hotel your home in Bogotá.

Sincelery,

Luz Angela Barbosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel was the first part of our Colombian honeymoon in December of 2011.
We thought the building was beautiful with lots of character.
Our room was overlooking the street with a wraparound balcony.
I loved the balcony and the old windows. The view was lovely, top of buildings and churches.
I also loved the big bathroom with the old tub.

Short walking distance to most of the sights we were planning to see.

The hotel staff was very helpful when we needed taxi services or had questions.

The included breakfast was nice.

We also witnessed a small wedding in the courtyard - that was lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Customer Service at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments. This encourage us to keep working in order to offer you an excellent service.

We hope to see you back in the hotel.

Sincerely;

Luz Angela Barbosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel is one of a very few in the historic Candaleria section of Bogota. It is said to have been the home of Simone Bolivar during at least part of his time in Colombia.
The hotel is very well restored and maintained. The staff was helpful and friendly. The food was good, but not great. Breakfast, which included a made-to-order egg bar, came with the price of the room.
The hotel is just a couple of blocks from Bogota's main plaza, and is walking distance to places like the Botero Museum and the Museum of Gold. The Candaleria is not known as a safe place to wander at night, so we usually stayed in the hotel after dark and ate dinner there. The security on the street in front of the hotel seemed very good because there were guards blocking each end of that segment of street.
Our room had a balcony that overlooked the street, and we enjoyed the temperate Bogota weather each night as we slept. There was some street noise at night, but nothing that kept us from sleeping. Our daughters slept in a room to the rear of the hotel, and reported that some nearby construction would awaken them around 7 a.m.
While we could have stayed in suburban Bogota and enjoyed a wider choice of light life and restaurants at night, we were very pleased that we stayed at this attractive hotel in the heart of Bogota.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Customer Service at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments, it help us to improve our services every day and keep working to exceed your expectations next time.

We hope to see you again, consider De la Opera Hotel your home in Bogotá.

Sincerely;

Luz Angela Barbosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I spent only one night in Dec 2012. Hotel rather old, with old equipment and really should be asap renovated. Hovewer bathrom was clean and well maintained. Room spacoius but as I mentioned, furniters, walls, curtains quite used and demaged. It is not a 4 star hotel. Breakfest was very good with wide variety of vegetables, meats and perfect kolumbian coffee. Unfotunately the biggest surprise it was check-out... I am not sure if it was by mistake or not, during check-out they requested to surpaid for addititional guest that according their opinion was in my room! They were rude and only after my firm request to show movie from video monitoring, and to immediatelly contact with an agency who made a booking, they told me: we a sorry, it was a mistake, this woman visited another room...

Dear De La Opera Hotel Manager, you should train your staff at the reception desk!
Hence, no more visits in Opera hotel in Bogota.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time you took to share about our Hotel.

Our guests are the more important part of our organization that is why our staff is committed with the excellence and kindness. We hope to see to back and overcome your expectations in the next stay.

Please, consider De La Opera Hotel your home in Bogotá.

Kind Regards,

Luz Angela Barbosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Opera

Address: Calle 10 No. 5-72 La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Bogota
#23 Spa Hotel in Bogota
#44 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de la Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Opera is located in La Candelaria, next to the Cristobal Colon Theater, in front of "Palacio San Carlos", currently headquarters of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, one block from Bolivar Square and a fifteen minutes walk to the funicular for Monserrate hill. Thanks to its strategic location, our guests can easily visit the most characteristic places of the city, for example the Gold Museum, Botero Museum, Primary Cathedral, etc. Also, many important government buildings are nearby. Walking its roads you will be part of its stories, legends and myths which are preserved in each of its houses. Questions like, why do the houses have doors of two meters? Where did Manuelita Saenz live her idyll with Simon Bolivar? Which is the window through which Simon Bolivar escaped? These are just some examples of the cultural treasures that you will find in La Candelaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de la Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Opera Bogota
De La Opera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.