We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but it all depends on your room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Opera to your Saves list
Hotel de la Opera
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 10 No. 5-72 La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great, but it all depends on your room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a two night and then later, a one night stay. Wishing to experience the original atmoshere of the building, we had reserved a colonial suite for both bookings but the quality of the rooms was enormously different. Our first stay, at the start of our journey in Colombia, was an adequate room, but just that, a room. It was comfortable but fairly minimal. The service was charming although we had no hot water in our fairly minimal bathroom and apologies for this were only forthcoming when we mentioned it at reception the following day - "sorry, but we have had problems" - no mention of this at check in when the problem was obviously already known. The difference was very obvious when we checked in on our return and were taken to a stunning suite with all the extras that are commensurate with the description 'suite'. We subsequently discovered that rooms are allocated according to arrival and that we had been unlucky with our first allocation. The groundfloor bar/ restaurant served our purpose on arrival, providing tasty snacks and beers at 10pm but a subsequent visit to the rooftop restaurant offered expensive food and wine without the service and style to match. Breakfast was always very adequate - fresh juices and fruit, but be sure to ask if stocks are depleted when you arrive in the morning, they will provide anyhting you ask for. We have nothing to compare it with, at this level of of hospitality, in Bogota - possibly it represents good value in a very expensive city, but on reflection, and after a further 7 weeks travel in Colombia, we still feel that it underperforms. It is in a superb location within the historic district, it is also a truly beautiful building with sensitively restored architecture. I would also suggest that guests organise their own transport to and from the airport - the hotel will send a regular taxi to make these transfers at $45,000.000 peso when the real cost is anything from $15,000.000 to $25,000.000 depending on if it is pre booked through a taxi company or ordered at the airport - it will be the same quality of car regardless. However, never get into a taxi without establishing the rate first and never pick up from a rank or from the street - always pre negotiate.

Room Tip: We opted for the colonial style suites which can differ enormously, if you wish to be secure in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    88
    34
    10
    9
See reviews for
26
106
32
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Small hotel close to the Opera house in the old town and not far from main square and presidential palace.
Bufféstyle breakfast and nice for lunch and dinner.
Don´t forget to go to the Botero museum, it is just a few blocks away.

Room Tip: The hotel has different style and types of rooms, make sure to have a look before you accept a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments; it encourages improving every day and continuing working to give you and excellence service.

We hope to see you back, please consider De La Opera Hotel your home in Bogota.

Sincerely,

Luz Angela Barbosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Candelaria area of old Bogota. The hotel was in a great location. Our room was very loud the fist night and we were moved to the back without problems. The character of the area made it seem like we were on vacation in an exotic locale. To be honest, our travel agent had booked us in the newer part of town because of safety concerns. Part of our city tour would have been to walk around the area we were staying in. We felt safe the entire time. The restaurants we walked to where like eating in someone's home. They were small, quaint, and every dish was prepared just for us. The spa at the hotel was a secret treasure.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are much quiter
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments; it always helps us to improve and give you an excellence service. We hope to see you back and have the opportunity to overcome your expectations.

Please, consider De La Opera Hotel your home in Bogota.

Sincerely,
Luz Angela Barbosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Hotel de la Opera is a short walk to the Plaza de Bolivar and close to many museums and restaurants. The rooms are modest but have everything that you'll need. Many rooms face indoors to the courtyard and can be noisey. Bathrooms have only a shower. Free internet is available on the ground floor. Breakfast is served on the top floor and has a pretty good selection of breakfast items as well as eggs to order. There is an indoor pool on the lower level of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServicioalCliente, Customer Service at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments, it encourages us to improve every day and work hard to exceed your expectations next time.

We hope to see you again, consider De La Opera Hotel your home in Bogota.

Kind Regards;

Luz Angela Barbosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It is a good option for couples spending a couple of days in Bogota. Great location! Perfect to go around the downtown area. Good restaurants and museums near by. Beautiful view from the room that we were. Delicious breakfast and very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Floor 7! It's nice and quiet there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear guest

We appreciate the time you taken for shared about our Hotel.

It is a pleasure to hear about clients like you, who enjoy the stay, we work every day for improve our service.

We hope to see you back, please consider De La Ópera Hotel your home in Bogotá.

LINA CARO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last week on a quick first-time visit to Bogota. The hotel is okay, but I was expecting a little bit more based on the hotel's website.

First the good:
1. The hotel is located smack in the middle of La Candelaria in a beautiful old building.
2. The staff were all very friendly.
3. Very nice breakfast included in the room price.
4. I found the spa to be quite nice for a small hotel.

And the not so good:
1. Despite the fact that I had a printed e-mail confirmation of my reservation when I arrived, the hotel had no record of my booking. I has reserved (and preferred) a room in the older portion of the hotel, but they were not able to honor the reservation in that regard. No explanation or apology was offered and instead they just kind of pretended like it hadn't happened. Obviously I never got to see the more traditional rooms, but the "deco" rooms were rather charmless and drab with dated furniture.
2. While the hotel is good for sightseeing during the day, the surrounding area is absolutely desolate once the sun goes down. There is not an open restaurant or bar anywhere at night. To have any real dining/nightlife options you have to take a 20-25 minute cab ride to the northern part of the city.
3. I was put off by the emphasis on tipping. There are signs throughout the hotel stating that a gratuity is added to your bill, but such gratuity is optional and you can request that it be removed. How awkward for the guest! You have to affirmatively state that you do not want to tip them or else they just add it to your bill?!? The added gratuity was not significant, but in my opinion, the decision to tip should always be at the guest's discretion and they should not be made to feel uncomfortable by having to state that they do not wish to do so. One evening I said I was going to Zona Rosa. Instead of flagging down one of the million yellow taxis, the hotel just gave me a driver affiliated with the hotel. Upon arriving in Zona Rosa in addition to charging me an inflated fare (as compared to what I paid a yellow taxi on my return), the driver specifically said "this does not include the tip." I have to say on this issue the Hotel de la Opera is really poor.
4. The "gym" is basically non-existent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments, it help us to improve our services.

We are working in each point you mentioned, about the tip in Colombia we have a law which requires us to publish and ask aprobation of the client.

We hope to have the opportunity to see you back and improve your expectations.

Sincerely;

LINA CARO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Old hotel with a unique arrangement of rooms. Rooms were very nice and spacious. We were on the 7th floor with no rooms on floors 4, 5 or 6. Have no ideal what was on those floors as neither the elevator or stairway had access to them. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Restaurant was very good with excellent breakfast options. Close to government buildings, Cathedral and Bolivar Plaza. A very secure area with an abundance of police and military presence. Wi Fi and computer service with printer free. Close to numerous restaurants, super market and shopping.

Room Tip: Would suggest one of the upper floors for a quiet evening. Elevators are slow but they get the job d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest

We appreciate the time you take for share about our Hotel.

It is so good for us, to hear about clients like you, who enjoy the stay, we work every day for improve our service.

Please consider De La Ópera Hotel your home in Bogotá.

LINA CARO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Opera

Address: Calle 10 No. 5-72 La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Bogota
#23 Spa Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de la Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Opera is located in La Candelaria, next to the Cristobal Colon Theater, in front of "Palacio San Carlos", currently headquarters of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, one block from Bolivar Square and a fifteen minutes walk to the funicular for Monserrate hill. Thanks to its strategic location, our guests can easily visit the most characteristic places of the city, for example the Gold Museum, Botero Museum, Primary Cathedral, etc. Also, many important government buildings are nearby. Walking its roads you will be part of its stories, legends and myths which are preserved in each of its houses. Questions like, why do the houses have doors of two meters? Where did Manuelita Saenz live her idyll with Simon Bolivar? Which is the window through which Simon Bolivar escaped? These are just some examples of the cultural treasures that you will find in La Candelaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de la Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Opera Bogota
De La Opera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.