We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Opera to your Saves list
Hotel de la Opera
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 10 No. 5-72 La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 240 Hotels in Bogota
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a charming hotel in the historic section of Bogota. I have stayed here twice. On the first occasion I managed to get a suite with a balcony in the historic part of the building. This was much preferred to the standard room and was spacious with good views to the street. The hotel reminds one of a pensione in the Italian style and is decorated as such in all the common areas of the hotel. The rooms themselves are simple and adequate. Go up to El Mirador restaurant to see the rooftop view of the city. Breakfast here is ample and tasty with of course very good coffee. The ajiaco is also very good. The street is secured at night. If this is your first time to Bogota, I would suggest staying here a few nights then heading to Zona Rosa or someplace in the North to experience the other side of Bogota. It is truly a city of many faces. As for hotel de la opera, I think it is one of the best if not the best in La Candelaria. I enjoyed it both times. The spa and relaxation pool are pretty.

Room Tip: Opt for the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    106
    38
    10
    9
See reviews for
27
132
40
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

my wife and I stayed here in December 2012 for 2 days and we loved it. we have been coming together to Bogota every year for 8 years (her family is here) and we always take time to get away on our own and experience something for ourselves. I always loved the candelaria area and the centro (central commerce area) and this hotel is very close with easy access. the hotel is beautiful - LOVED the pool - you can't really do laps, but after a day of walking in the high altitude the warm waters were welcome and rejuvenating. we also used the sauna and steam room and that was welcome as well. the staff were very helpful and some even spoke English - my wife is Colombian but I always find that comforting. I have to say the mirador restaurant served the best meal I've had in Colombia (chicken with gorgonzola with ham), my wife had Ajiaco (a chicken soup type dish that is the signature dish of Bogota) - she said it was good, but not as good as her mom's. Colombia is not known for it's cuisine but the food here was very good, comforting, the wine selection quite good and at a good price, and the entertainment was wonderful. breakfast was included and along with an omelette I had a croguette filled with coconut and rice that was delish. WIFIworked great - I watched a Netflix movie on my laptop as it's hard to find English language channels here. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone, and we'll be coming back here. pluses here are the great hot water, really good water pressure, location, friendly staff, good food, and a beautiful historic building. we were in a junior sweet on the 7th floor with an amazing view of the city - we opened the windows at night, but the street noise became too much-what do you expect in a very large city!!! we closed them and they kept the noise out.

Room Tip: you can get rooms on 1,2 or 7 - on 7 you can get great city views....1 and 2 is a beautiful interio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Steve

We appreciate you shared your experience in our Hotel.

Please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogotá.

We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

Lina Caro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our "acclimitisation" stop over so that we could get used to the altitude of the high Andes. The Hotel was superbly situated and the building was lovely - but the hotel staff did not seem to have their heart in serving their guests -
I was not sure whether it was comforting or frightening to see armed security guards on the corners of many of the roads - but Bogota was fascinating and is certainly work while visiting - and i was sorry not to be travelling around Colombia more.It was disappointing that the Theatro Colon was not open during our stay as the proximity was tempting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
414 helpful votes 414 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were upgraded to this hotel when Casa Deco had a problem with rooms. The hotel has an excellent location in La Candelaria, right beside the Theatro Colon and within two blocks of most of the main sights. There are security guards/police stationed at both ends of the street. We visited the last weekend in October which was unusually busy due to a festival and this made it more pleasant to wander around into the evening.

The hotel is similar to an older style European hotel, comfortable and well maintained.

Our room, 201, was a older style room with high ceilings. There was a table, desk, chair, twin beds, night stands, flat screen TV, and closet with safe. The bathroom (shower) was small but had everything required including bathrobes, slippers, hairdryer and amenities. Wifi was on/off/on in the room, a cable in the room would not be helpful as we travel with an iPad.

Our room was an inner room, but there was still noise from other guests and also from the plumbing noises.

There are a number of common areas to relax and read in and the sitting room has some interesting books on Colombia.

Breakfast included fruit, juices, cereal, yoghurt, eggs, an assortment of four hot dishes one of which was rice, toast and pastries. The pastries and hot dishes were rather dry . At first we thought it was because it was the weekend but they were the same during the weekday.

We had two lunches, one in La Scala and the other in La Mirador. The food was okay but the service was rather remote. The staff were less welcoming and friendly than any of the other hotels we have been in this trip.

Would recommend for location and the European feel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is an absolutley gorgeous hotel in the middle of the La Candelaria. This hotel itself is beautifully maintained and exceptionally clean. It has a lot of similarities with a European style hotel. It's within walking distance of all the major sights of La Candelaria (Museo de Oro, Botero Museum, etc) and has some decent options for dining. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 709 and had a beautiful view of the city. I would reccomend that room. The breakfast was excellent, we had all sorts of choices (eggs, cereal, juice, coffee).

There were only two negative things I would mention here:
1) The wi-fi did not work for us. After trying countless times to connect we decided to just use the cable. The internet worked but no wi-fi.
2) While this is situated in a fantastic location and the hotel itself is very safe, the surroundings at night are not very good for tourists. I was with locals and even they did not want to walk around some of the streets at night. Be forewarned, cab it.

I would highly reccomend this place for couples looking for a romatic getaway, folks that want to be close to downtown, and people that are not looking to walk around the streets after dark.

Room Tip: Room 709 has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Mr. Michael

Thank you for share your experience with us, our mission is that you enjoy your stay.

I apologize, we had troubles with WIFI connection for that reason we decided to have the cable in the rooms like a second option when connection does not work.

For to be in the historical and gubernamental area of Bogotá, each day thousands of people walk the streets and at night university students, but we haven´t many residents so streets are so quiet at night, but is guarded 24 hours because is in front of the foreing affair relationship ministry and closer to the nariño´s palace.

Thanks for visit us and we hope you come back soon

Lina Caro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We enjoyed a brilliant couple of days at Opera Hotel ,good location and fabulous friendly helpful staff .The restaurant was a delight for breakfast, where there was an excellent choice with a lovely view .I hope to go back one day soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for sharing your experience at our hotel.

Your description is really accurate, please consider Hotel de la Opera like your home in Bogotá.

Best regards,

LINA CARO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

What a treat to stay at the De La Opera Hotel! Located perfectly in the historic district of La Candeleria, it features restored rooms of two Spanish Colonial townhouses embracing two courtyards. Our room had a small balcony. The eating area for an excellent breakfast is in one of the courtyards. We enjoyed a dinner there, as well as another dinner in the adjacent dining room. The quality of the food is outstanding. The hotel also has a spa and a lovely indoor small swimming pool. The business center offers free internet service. We appreciated the friendliness of the staff throughout the hotel.
Because of its location, it is very easy to walk to museums, historic sites and restaurants. This hotel is a real find!

Room Tip: Rooms on the pedestrian street are a little quieter. Ask for the second floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicioalcliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear guest

We appreciate the time you take for share about our Hotel.

It is so good for us, to hear about clients like you, who enjoy the stay, we work every day for to be better.

Please consider De La Ópera Hotel your home in Bogotá.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Opera

Address: Calle 10 No. 5-72 La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Bogota
#34 Family Hotel in Bogota
#44 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de la Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Opera is located in La Candelaria, next to the Cristobal Colon Theater, in front of "Palacio San Carlos", currently headquarters of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, one block from Bolivar Square and a fifteen minutes walk to the funicular for Monserrate hill. Thanks to its strategic location, our guests can easily visit the most characteristic places of the city, for example the Gold Museum, Botero Museum, Primary Cathedral, etc. Also, many important government buildings are nearby. Walking its roads you will be part of its stories, legends and myths which are preserved in each of its houses. Questions like, why do the houses have doors of two meters? Where did Manuelita Saenz live her idyll with Simon Bolivar? Which is the window through which Simon Bolivar escaped? These are just some examples of the cultural treasures that you will find in La Candelaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel de la Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Opera Bogota
De La Opera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.