We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 82Hostel

Save Saved
You added 82Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
82Hostel
Carrera 19 # 80-14, Bogota 11001000, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We moved hear after staying at a hostel in the Bogota area of La Candelaria and we are glad we moved. The Candelaria is beautiful, but the area is dirty and dead at night whereas this hostel is near the Zona Rosa which is buzzing. There are loads of cheap places to eat just around the corner. We ate at the restaurant just across the road which was cheap and tasty; try eat near the hostel because the eateries in the Zona Rosa itself (about 3 streets away) are twice the price, if not more.

We stayed in a private room and the bed was really comfortable. I liked the natural light that came into the room and the heavy curtain that blocked it if you wanted it to. The wifi dropped in and out a little bit while in the room, but generally worked perfectly just outside the door. Breakfast is pretty good. The only problem we had was with the bathroom; it's a bit of a struggle to keep the water warm as it goes cold after a minute and it was a delicate process of turning the faucets slowly to get the right temperature. The toilet also leaked; it wasn't incredibly pricey but the private room was a little expensive compared to other private rooms for the quality of bathroom. Would stay here again though for the location and the street is realtively quiet so you can get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82Hostel, Propietario at 82Hostel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Google Translation
Hola Bella,


Gracias por dejar tu excelente comentario acerca de nuestros Hostel.


Una de las razonas por las cuales este Hostel esta ubicado en esta zona, tu las acabas de mencionar en tu comentario. Sin palabras :)

Saludos y Bienvenida siempre a Bogotá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    18
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
13
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pereira, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

It is a very well located hostel, there are many places of interest to you and you can go walking, the area is very safe, with many shops, bars and restaurants nearby, staff hostel can guide you anywhere and you can ask anything, they are always willing to help, you have fruit and delicious coffee at breakfast, and if you want to take public transportation can find very close to visit other places in town. :).

Room Tip: Dormitories have a similar style and all have lockers to store your stuff, if needed not forget to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82Hostel, Propietario at 82Hostel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hi Aracelly,


Thanks for leave your Very Good Review about us

Hope to see you soon here

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Best location for hanging out in Bogotá. The people running the hostel are super nice and very laid back. The place is clean and everyone staying here was fun! I had a blast and would recommend this hostel to anyone looking to be within walking distance of a great area of the city while staying in a super safe area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82Hostel, Propietario at 82Hostel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Google Translation
Hola Colin,


Muchas gracias por dejar tu buen comentario acerca de 82HOSTEL....

Siempre estamos en la búsqueda de MEJORAR para que nuestros clientes dejen calificaciones como la tuya.

Saludos y bienvenido siempre a Bogotá - Colombia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Excellent location for this Hostel. Very near Bogotas Zona Rosa. Really quiet so a good nights sleep is guaranteed. Really friendly staff that were more than willing to help out in any way possible.

Would definitely stay again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82Hostel, Propietario at 82Hostel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hi Colin,

We hope that you are enjoyng Colombia wherever you stay....

Thanks for leave your opinion about 82hostel


Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Excellent location near Transmilenio Bus station and Exito supermarket. Lots of inexpensive restaurants nearby. Good breakfast, fast WiFi, and plenty of bathrooms for dorms. The staff are all friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Chose dorms away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82Hostel, Propietario at 82Hostel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hi Koh,


Firstly, thanks for leaved you good review about us....

Its nice to know that you enjoy everything arround 82hostel, see you later

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had the double room near the street. It was loud, the sheets smelled like they hadn't been washed, and the walls (both to the street and the rest of the place) were paper thin. That said, it was cheapish (~95k pesos), and conveniently located.

They held our bags for us, which was nice, but when we came back and asked the guy at the desk to call us a taxi, he made ONE call (to one of the DOZENS of possible taxi companies), told the guy where we wanted to go, then told us, "Sorry, they don't have any taxis for you." After that, he went back to playing his video game. Talk about poor customer service.

Next time we'll spend another $25 for the night and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82Hostel, Propietario at 82Hostel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hi Kevin,

Firstly i apologize with if you had a bad experience in our hostel.

For us is very important the guests reviews to improve our service and always give the best coustumer response....

Im going to talk with the Desk Guy about the his service for sure,


Regards and keep enjoyng your trip around Colombia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We wanted a secure and helpful base for our first nights in Colombia and that is what we got. All the staff were friendly and helpful. I liked the communal areas and our private room was huge. The local area isn't that amazing but safe and there's good places to eat plus the transmilenio is close by. Wasn't too full but imagine if it were they'd be a more buzzy atmosphere, but it worked for us as we were happy to chill out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82Hostel, Propietario at 82Hostel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Hi Andrew,


Thanks for leave your good rewiew about us...

we´re trying to improve the atmosphere at the hostel, but always to exercise calm


Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 82Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 82Hostel

Address: Carrera 19 # 80-14, Bogota 11001000, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
82hostel is a cool, modern and comfortable place to stay when you want to enjoy the best of our beautiful capital. Located in a safe and calm area, just a few blocks from many of the city’s best bars, cafes, restaurants, clubs and shopping. Our staff will give you the best welcoming service, so let us know how we can help you plan your stay! Some of our goodies includes free continental breakfast, fresh Colombian coffee and tea 24/7, free WiFi and a fully equipped kitchen. We accept all mayor credit cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your 82Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 82Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.