We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 82Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added 82Hostel to your Saves list
82Hostel
Carrera 19 # 80-14, Bogota 11001000, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We wanted a secure and helpful base for our first nights in Colombia and that is what we got. All the staff were friendly and helpful. I liked the communal areas and our private room was huge. The local area isn't that amazing but safe and there's good places to eat plus the transmilenio is close by. Wasn't too full but imagine if it were they'd be a more buzzy atmosphere, but it worked for us as we were happy to chill out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82Hostel, Propietario at 82Hostel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Hi Andrew,


Thanks for leave your good rewiew about us...

we´re trying to improve the atmosphere at the hostel, but always to exercise calm


Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    23
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
15
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hostel is clean and secure. It's not much to look at from the outside, but nice enough when you climb the stairs to reception.

We stayed in one of the private rooms with bathroom, Pacifico. It was roomy (one of the other private rooms we saw with no bathrooms was teeny). The furniture they have looks nice but we found our bed to be pretty awful. The mattress and pillows were okay the the sheet looked like it belonged in the room of a teenager despite the modern designs reflected on the website. But the frame itself was so busted it creaked loudly with the littlest movement and really should be replaced. There is also not a single piece of furniture in the rooms. A bed-stand table and lamp would be a big and inexpensive upgrade for them to make. A new shower fixture that sprays the water instead of streaming it out like a garden hose would also be nice. The shower also only had hot water very briefly.

It's not a loud party hostel, a big plus in my book. But the rooms by reception at least (which include Pacifico and at least one of the doors), are bad bets because you can hear the loud buzzer whenever it rings in the middle of the night for people to be let in. That plus the creaky bed can make it tough to sleep.

They were responsive in my emails to them, happy to call a taxi for me. Other people staying there that night took advantage of the Saturday night trip to Andres Carne de Res in Chia they advertise, about $30 for the transportation, admission, and maybe some booze, quite a good deal if you're looking to get up there. Instead we walked to the Zona Rosa district and it's Andres and everything else going on, a safe 10 minute walk.

Though they don't take credit cards to hold reservations, you can pay with a card there (with a 6% fee), dollars, or Colombian currency.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82Hostel, Propietario at 82Hostel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Google Translation
Buenos días Josh,


Primero que todo muchas gracias por dejar su comentario y ayudarnos a mejorar siempre..


Bueno.... en cuanto vi este mensaje, de inmediato a las 8am hora en la que entro a trabajar en el hostel entré a revisar la cama de la habitación en donde ustedes se hospedaron.

La verdad y le soy sincero, nada de lo que usted dice en le comentario de los ruidos de la cama, del espaldar roto y del colchon eran verdad, pues la verdad revise todo y todo se encontraba en perfectas condiciones. La verdad me sorprende que aveces muchos comentarios no sean tan ciertos como parecen ser....


En cuanto al ruido de la recepción y del timbre, estamos buscando la manera mas inteligente de cambiar el timbre, y que este no sea molesto a la hora de que los viajeros que normalmente vienen a disfrutar de la ciudad de noche lleguen tarde.



Saludos y bienvenidos siempre a Colombia, Bogotá y 82hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The location is ideal, you are a 5 minute walk from the party/restaurant life of Zona rosa but you are in a quiet area where you can hang back. 2 university security guards sit on the block all night long so you feel extremely safe. The hostel itself has like 4 bathrooms so you never have to wait for one to free up. There is a nice hang out area with tables to hang with your friends. Everything is cleaned daily by the super nice cleaning lady. My favorite guy working there was Enrique, very cool and helpful guy! Getting one of the private rooms is ideal for 2 people, otherwise you may feel cramped. The rooms are simple and adequate but are not super nice - it is a hostel after all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The hostel is in an ideal area (nice, safe, good food), has nice staff and is clean. However, we were hardly able to sleep while there. Our private bathroom backed up to another bathroom and we could hear clearly every time someone used it. Also, since the private rooms are off of the reception, any time someone rang the bell to get in, we heard it. We had the windows open to have some air flow but unfortunately business got started early and in the mornings we were woken up by people on the street setting up for the morning rush.

Overall, I would not recommend getting one of the private rooms (with private bath) if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82Hostel, Gerente at 82Hostel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Google Translation
Buenos días Sarah,

Primero que todo agradecemos tu opinión de 82hostel en TripAdvisor ya que para nosotros todas las opiniones de los viajeros son de gran ayuda para mejorar en los aspectos que estamos fallando.

En cuanto al ruido, estamos trabajando para que ni muy temprano ni muy tarde la gente este haciendo ruido en esta zona del hostel que en realidad si esta cerca de las habitaciones privadas.

También estamos en la búsqueda de mas adelante instalar algún tipo de aislamiento de ruido en las ventanas para que el ruido de la calle( Afuera del hostel), no moleste tanto en las horas de la mañana, cuando el movimiento de cualquier gran ciudad empieza.

Agradecemos tu opinion y estaremos mejorando....


Saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geleen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had some difficulties finding a nice hostel in Bogota with good location. Luckily a friend recommended 82Hostel! The hostel is fairly new, the decoration of the rooms is very nice and the common areas are very neath and oganized.

The biggest plus are the HOT showers with a lot of water! The breakfast is good, croissants, marmelade, granola with yogurt/ milk and fruits, coffee/tea.

We spent 5 nights in 82hostel and will definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Bogota!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

82 hostel is a nice little hostel in a great bar/club area of bogota. The decoration and the rooms are really nice and everything is very clean. There is a lot of bathrooms so you will never have to wait in order to take a shower. It is a safe area and it's close to the transmilienio with which you'll be in the city center in less than half an hour. The breakfast was really good for hostel (cereals with fruits & milk and bread with marmelade).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82Hostel, Propietario at 82Hostel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Hi,

First of all

Thanks for choosing 82HOSTEL for your recent Stay in Bogota.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed everything here

Hope that you will come back to Colombia soon

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for a night and had a great experience, the Caribe room was large, good hot shower, very clean, great location. There was a bit of street noise but nothing you wouldn't expect from central Bogota. So we came back for another stay....and had a slightly different experience. We asked for the same room which as again great - but it's just off reception and the noise meant we had a totally sleepless night. There was music playing in reception all night and people sitting and talking to the receptionist until the early hours - I have a feeling they don't quite realise how thin the shared wall is between the room and reception! Ideally the receptionist would stop people gathering there at night and provide wifi in other areas of the hostel to prevent people from keeping other guests up all night! It's a shame as otherwise this could be the perfect hostel.

Room Tip: Caribe is lovely and large but just off reception so don't expect any sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82Hostel, Propietario at 82Hostel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Guys,

We must first apologise for the bad experience in your last night in 82hostel.

For us is very important this review because we are going to improve these bad situations and give the best service to the travellers.

Hope to see you again in 82hostel.


Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 82Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 82Hostel

Address: Carrera 19 # 80-14, Bogota 11001000, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
82hostel is a cool, modern and comfortable place to stay when you want to enjoy the best of our beautiful capital. Located in a safe and calm area, just a few blocks from many of the city’s best bars, cafes, restaurants, clubs and shopping. Our staff will give you the best welcoming service, so let us know how we can help you plan your stay! Some of our goodies includes free continental breakfast, fresh Colombian coffee and tea 24/7, free WiFi and a fully equipped kitchen. We accept all mayor credit cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your 82Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 82Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.