We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Max (traveler)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tip Top Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tip Top Backpackers to your Saves list
Tip Top Backpackers
Carrera 1 #12 B 81, Bogota 11001, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
“Max (traveler)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Hi all, it is very good hostel, with good and kind Hostceepers (Owners).
Not expansive!
Wi-fi work all time. Important.
Very clean.
No junkies. Important for money, cameera and other...
You can washing your clothes.
From 1 to 10. It is 10. Especially becouse very quiet, (if somebody was in Kandelaria he know what is it quiet in this territoria in Bogota) it is important for students.
They have two hstels, and i was in second, same situation.
10 of 10.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a nice hostel in the historic Candelaria, thus within close (walking distance) to many attractions in the center of Bogota. The hostel is built from an old colonial type house, and thus has an open courtyard (with a clear roof) and rooms that branch-off from it.The owners are friendly and helpful, the hostel is clean and comfortable and the stay comes with a good breakfast and tea/coffee. We stayed as a small group, liked it and recommended to friends of friends planning a trip to Bogota.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed in this hostel for few days and explore the centro historico which is walk away.
Every nite there are police making turns to check the place.
There is a complete kitchen, microwave, refrigerator to cook our meals.
Breakfast is served daily with hot coffee.
Maria makes you feel at home and has the information all you need.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nice hostel tucked in a cool corner of Bogota. The staff are incredibly friendly here and like to have a chat about what you are doing and help suggest things that you can do. There is a lot going on in the area (La Candelaria) and the hostel is even hosting part of a theatre festival taking place over the next few weeks.
There is free coffee and a nice social area. Breakfast is basic, but always a bonus. The kitchen was a bit small for the self-caterers, but you can work with it.
The room we had was pretty standard - it was a dorm room but they gave it us as a private, which is what we wanted. Very security conscious too.
Nothing seemed too much for them to help with.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siam Reap
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived at Tip Top Backpacker in the night, and a man opened a door for us (husband of owner) and he said they have a rooms for 60 000 pesos. But one hour earlier i checked in a airport they have different rates for rooms, specified in a hostelworld web site. So i asked him why in a booking site you have different prices? As an answer he just turned around and checked something and then he returned he said there is a beds for 16 000 pesos per person. My boyfriend at that time took our backpacks out of a taxi. So i agreed for the price of 16 per person. But i just didn't see how my boyfriend paid 50 000 and a senior didn't give him any change. Senior eft us in a dorm room with 6 beds inside.
So in the morning we wanted to pay for next night, but i realised that difference between paid money and negotiated price between us. I asked how it is happened and why senior didn't giva any change, and he asked for the owner and she said that if there is nobody in the dorm room it is considered as a private room and charged equally: 60 000 pesos. And we can't complain because we even had a good discount. So i was perplexed by this double prices and weird standarts. Im okay to pay the price, doesn't matter that, but i don't like this little scamming with double prices. If the price is specified and agreed- i want to pay this price, not second price. And for my view, empty dorm doesn't make a room private and allow you to speculate the price.
We just left his place in a deepest disappointment.

Room Tip: better to book this hostel before coming
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Tip-Top Backpackers is a colorful, family-run hostel near one of the main plazas of La Candelaria. The hostel is bright with fresh flowers and an open courtyard and has a fun, laid-back feel. The owners are very friendly and are always around to help you orient yourself in Bogota, getting to know them was a real treat -- Maria even made borscht for the guests while I was there! I didn't take any of the offered tours, but participated in some of the activities organized around the city, including a tour of Plaza Bolivar and the different palaces, which helped me meet some of the other guests. I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a different vibe in La Candelaria, I had a great time and felt safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

this is our fourth time staying at tip-top -- it has always been a great experience! the last three times we stayed at tip-top hostel, a few blocks away, and a great, calm location. this time we tried tip-top backpackers and we were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful colonial house the owners have managed to convert into a safe and vibrant international community. we made a lot of new traveling friends at the activities organized by the hostel. the location is perfect, at the top of la candelaria, far from the bustle and noise of the lower streets but still close to public transport, restaurants, and bars. our favorite part was talking to the owners, maría and felipe, and getting their advice and help planning travel around colombia. we will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tip Top Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tip Top Backpackers

Address: Carrera 1 #12 B 81, Bogota 11001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tip Top Backpackers is a new, small, cozy and lovely renovated colonial house dormitory hostel. It is located in the centro historico of La Candelaria, within walking distance of the major cultural attractions, restaurants, bars, banks, ATMs and moneychangers. This hostel makes the perfect base to explore the vibrant city of Bogota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tip Top Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tip Top Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.