We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice in Bogota !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zohar Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Zohar Hostel to your Saves list
Zohar Hostel
La Candelaria Historic Center | Carrera 4 # 9-80, Bogota 11001, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 168 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon City, Oregon
2 reviews
“Excellent Choice in Bogota !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hostel is more like a boutique hotel type with hostel prices, we stayed 4 nights in a beautiful colonial room with TV and they even serve you coffee in the room every morning great service from all the staff, great owner who speaks excellent English and he's always there to help you on anything you'll need. The security around the hostel is very good there is a couple of military guards right in front of the hostel which is great to go in and out late from the hostel. Showers are very clean and have hot water all the time. I recommend this hostel to anybody is very family oriented. Thanks to all at Zohar...

Room Tip: We stayed in a triple room facing the solarium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    11
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
22
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Excellent location, beautiful colonial house, secured area near to the bolivar plaza.
Warm rooms and hot showers.
TV in the room connected to "direct Tv " is a plus because normally hostels don't have tv in the rooms.
Excellent service from all at the hostel.
I recommend this place, very safe.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet rooms. Because Bogota is a big city so it can be noisy during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This hostel has a great location - about 3 blocks from Plaza de Bolivar, a large supermarket, and just around the corner from a couple of good museums. It is about a 20 min walk to the Gold Museum, and the Museo del Oro TransMilenio bus stop, from where you can easily get to Portal Norte (for buses to locations such as Villa de Leyva) and the Las Aguas stop, from where you can get a bus to the airport (note that it is not a direct bus - you catch it to the end of the line (portal el dorado) and then switch to a green shuttle bus that will take you to the airport).

I had the 4 bed dorm to myself for the 4 nights I was there, so that is always going to leave a better impression! The beds were very comfortable, each with an individual lamp. There are small lock boxes in the room, and the room itself was a good size. The dorm room is located on the road, so the traffic noise in the morning was quite loud, but not enough to stop me from sleeping in until 830am. There was shutters on the windows, which kept the room nice and dark. The bathrooms were always clean, although, as other reviews have said, the water pressure in the showers was absolutely rubbish.

Now, important to know that you cannot cook in this hostel. There is a very small kitchen, with a very small fridge and a microwave. So fine for breakfast. They supply coffee and tea each morning at 830am. I do not recommend you stay here if you are looking for a typical hostel. There are no comfortable common areas, and there was very minimal mixing of guests while I was there. The owner, Josh, is very pleasant, and will provide advice, and call taxis for you. However, they do not offer a 'tour desk' service, but will instead direct you towards the information centre in Plaza de Bolivar. It really is more like a hotel than a hostel.
The security is very good. Yes, you do have to ring a buzzer to get in and out however this was never a problem. The wi fi is really good in the common area, and reasonable in the dorm room.

Room Tip: If you can't sleep through road noise, don't stay in the 4 bed dorm. Choose a private room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The staff and host of this hostel have made my first time trip to Bogota a happy and exciting one.
Joshua and Beatrix are more than welcoming. With a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding area and local tourist attractions. Advice about personal safety and tourist hot spots.
The Hostel is beautifully finished with comfortable mattresses and generous room sizes, this place can feel like home from home after the first night.
Its location is fantastic, as is the security.
These factors allowed me to enjoy the city for all it beauty and wonder.
Many thanks Zohar !!!
I hope to visit again soon

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Excellent service from arrival to departure, the manager Joshua speaks very good english and spanish so that was a great help for us. The location is the best at only couple blocks from the colombian president's house ( casa narino) and very secured place with 2 or 3 presidents guards 24 hours a day right infront of the hostel. We stayed for 5 days at Zohar Hostel, the rooms have WiFi and TV connected to Direct Tv so I got to watch some of my soccer games. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows too, excellent showers with hot water all the time, the house is beautiful colonial type well kept by the owners, rooms are big and warm and extremelly clean. They have coffe and tea every morning. Thanks to all at Zohar Hostel for making us feel like we were at home. I RECOMMEND THIS HOSTEL TO ALL.

Room Tip: Room in the second floor facing the solarium ( queen bed )
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Excellent service from everybody , very clean and very secured hostel, comfortable rooms the best mattress I slept in Colombia, wifi in all areas including the rooms, coffee every morning and tea. I recommend this place in La Candelaria Bogota.

Room Tip: I stayed in room#6 beautiful colonial room ,queen bed and quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at Hostal Zohar for a total of 4 nights in two different rooms (6 & 2).
At first appearance the hostel presents well, with rooms arranged around a bright central light well with a walkway around 3 sides of the first floor. The house is old but very clean and well kept. Wifi and two computers are free for guest use. It is located very close to major sites within La Candelaria with Plaza Mayor and the Botero Museum less than a 5 minute walk away. There are a few restaurants and a laundry nearby. It is also within a comfortable walk of two of the Transmilenio bus stations which we found convenient for visits to the salt cathedral at Zipaquira and to Villa De Leyva.

The hostel has a kitchen which contains some basics (including a small fridge, some crockery and limited cutlery). It is otherwise rather poorly equipped. The host, Joshua, speaks excellent English having lived in New York. He was helpful and informative when asked questions about the local area, transport etc but generally didn't otherwise offer information.

All the rooms we saw opened onto the central light well. Natural light is limited to this source. The ground floor of the light well is also the common area where the two computers are located. If you want natural light in your room you consequently have no privacy. With shutters over the windows closed for privacy (venetian blinds in room 6) light is from dim electric bulbs which we found inadequate for comfortable reading and generally gloomy.

The hostel says it offers luggage storage but our request that a bag be kept for two days while we visited Villa de Leyva was refused on the basis that we were not staying a night on our return. This was inconvenient and disappointing, particularly as we had already stayed 4 nights. Similarly, be aware that while the hostel advertises that it accepts credit cards it charges a 6% fee to do so.

The hostel was generally quiet, although noise and conversations in the central common area permeate the building. There are no comfortable chairs in the common area (apart from chairs at the computer desks, the other seating has hard vertical wood backs) so our experience was that this area only had limited use which kept noise down but limited interaction with other guests.
Room 6 was a first floor double room with share bathroom. Ground floor Room 2 was sold as a deluxe double with private bathroom. The ensuite bathroom is about 2m by 1m. The shower is almost over the toilet, which I guess can be convenient if you are in a hurry but was otherwise unpleasant. All of the showers, including the ensuite and two other shared bathrooms, have hot water supplied by small electric heaters attached just above the shower head outlet. We were unable to get a good shower during our stay as the rate of water flow was woeful in them all.
The hostel is located on Carrera 4 which carries a large traffic volume in the mornings and evenings. Diesel fumes from the numerous buses permeated into the ensuite bathroom of room 2. Not a problem provided we kept the door closed.

The hostel has excellent security. You need to ring a bell to be let in AND to be let out. In addition to a security camera in the street above the front door there are security cameras inside the hostel which while good for security we found a bit creepy. On the day of departure we were unable to leave the building until Joshua had checked our room. No explanation for this was given.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
Abadia Colonial
Abadia Colonial
#78 of 244 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#2 of 244 in Bogota
5.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel de la Opera
Hotel de la Opera
#69 of 244 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Masaya Intercultural Hostel
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#11 of 168 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
La Candelaria
Explora Hostels
Explora Hostels
#18 of 168 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zohar Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zohar Hostel

Address: La Candelaria Historic Center | Carrera 4 # 9-80, Bogota 11001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 168 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular arquitecture house located in La Candelaria Historic Center of Bogota, the house is adapted to all the modern amenities with warm and comfortable rooms ,television connected to cable, feather comforters and pillows and also very comfortable beds. We offer free of charge,tea, coffee, high velocity WiFi and desk top computers for your use. Thanks to our excellent location we have two presidential guards right in front of our hostel-hotel (24 hours a day) because of that we are the most secured hostel-hotel of the area and we also have security cameras thru the whole property. Our Hostel-Hotel is located at only two blocks away from the main Plaza de Bolivar and the presidential house and only few steps to the Botero Museum, Coin museum, Gold museum, Gabriel Garcia Marques cultural house and also at 10 minutes walking distance to the Monserrate Mountain. We are at only15 minutes drive from the main international airport El dorado and 10 minutes to the main bus terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Zohar Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zohar Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.