We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place, family run, best of the best ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sayta Hostal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sayta Hostal to your Saves list
Sayta Hostal
Calle 12B #0-57, Bogota 1000, Colombia (La Candelaria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 162 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Awesome place, family run, best of the best ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Informal living in a hostal can be soo rewarding. Aside from being economical hostals tend to be places where you can really meet people from other places and enjoy rich cultural experiences. This hostal is close to lots of activities.
Safe and clean, the family staff will make sure your experience in bogota is fun filled. From climbing Monserrat to just hanging out in chorro de quevedo or "el chorro" as it's known, you will really dig this part of bogota. Don't speak Spanish? No worries, Jonathan is bilingual!
As it is a hostal, you have access to the kitchen and in the morning there is always coffee on the house!
If you like hostals, you will love this one. It even has views of the city from the upstairs!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    14
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
28
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Busan, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hostel is located in the centro of Bogota where you can see their culture and museums and easily take the metro bus to go anywhere you want.

The hostel is very well managed by John and his family who are very nice people. Especially the bed is clean and comfortable.

If you go there, you must drink the coffee that John make every morning.
You could feel the best colombian coffee.

The best hostel I've found in South America!!



  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

At a quiet end of a popular, buzzing street, this beautiful, clean, quiet, friendly hostal is the perfect place to stay. Thirty seconds further down the street you have a small, charming plaza surrounded by buildings steeped in history and with cosy, bohemian bars and cafes - really popular with students. It's in the heart of Candelaria, which is a great place to stay, and just a 10 minute walk to the main square. The hostal is a sanctuary - it's really peaceful, the rooms are light and clean with huge windows and John, Steph and their mum are the best hosts you could wish for - endlessly kind, incredibly welcoming and always free for a cup of coffee and a helping hand to help you make the most of Bogota and Colombia. Thank you so much John for looking after us so well and for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed here for a night after having to leave another more touristy hostel because it was fully booked. It turned out to be a great surprise. The staff were super friendly, the room comfortable, the location perfect, and I kind of wished I stayed here during my entire stay in Bogota. It's small with not a lot of frills, but it has a very nice feel to it. Thanks Sayta for being so hospitable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Great location, clean sheets. Small hostel with around 13 guests with 2 bathrooms/showers. Really helpful giving tips/informations. Was touched when I went out late at night- this hostel called a taxi and even wrote plate numbers to make sure. Fresh brewed coffee everymorning with breads.
As some of the reviewers mentioned, hot water is not very plenty like your own home of course, but if you try best to save some while taking a shower, that shouldn't be a problem. And actually isn't that the basic rule to keep our earth green anyways? Great hostel in Bogota!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

If you want a party hostel this is not for you. Family run, this hostel is prefect for a nice relaxing stay in an otherwise hectic Bogota. John and his Mum are lovely and will do anything to help your stay be more comfortable.
It is right on the outskirts of La Candelaria, and walking distance from everything you need to see.
We booked for 2 nights, and ended up staying a total of 8 nights!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is my second attempt to publish a good review about the Sayta on tripadvisor. The first one - a very good one like this - got deleted for no reason and still no answers to my mailing. Dear tripadvisor, I hope this time it will work out eventually.

But let´s come back to Sayta Hostal and its hosts I was blessed to meet in July 2012. Just a one-night-stay, but one I will always gladly remember. John and his mother are simply cute and love to make their guests feel comfortable in every way.

The building is typically colonial, so beautiful and full of character. I loved my clean and spacious double bedroom and enjoyed every little chat I had with John and his mother.

You should walk around La Candelaria extensively during daytime. If you return late a night by taxi from Zona Rosa or other places it will be easier to give directions to the driver. Addresses do not always take you very far in places like this.

I hope many visitors of Bogotá make it to the Sayta to get a good night´s sleep and so much more:0)) Hasta la vista.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sayta Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayta Hostal

Address: Calle 12B #0-57, Bogota 1000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 162 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2012 SAYTA HOSTAL opens its doors at a brand new location to enhance our guests' experience.Our house is a beautiful construction, years of history make it part of the architectonic patrimony of the city of Bogotá (Our house has been restored, however it's structural integrity remains).We have 4 rooms at your disposal, all of them with a stunnign view of the surroundings, balconies and ample windows.Also at your disposal are shared bathrooms with hot water 24 hours a day, a fully equipped kitchen free to use at any time, common recreational areas where you can meet other guests,play or simple relax, Wi-Fi,cable TV, free colombian coffee, an internet equipped PC for anytime use, security lockers and luggage storage.We are located right in the middle of Bogota's historic centre just a block away from "El Chorro De Quevedo" and a few blocks away from the 7th avenue(carrera séptima) and every museum and tourist highight in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Sayta Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sayta Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.