We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - would highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candelos Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candelos Hostel to your Saves list
Candelos Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Kra 3 # 12c - 94 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
“Excellent stay - would highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of my time in Colombia and absolutely loved it! The location was great, right in the heart of Candilaria - within walking distance of many attractions and shops - and the hostel was lovely. We were made to feel so welcome by all the staff upon arrival. Their priority is to look after you and to make sure you enjoy not only your stay at the hostel, but also your time in Bogota. On the first night they invited a local band to play on the rooftop bar/patio before we all went out together to a club in the nearby area. It was a great way to meet other travellers as well as experiencing Bogota with the help of people in the know.
The next day we all went out with the owner once again, to a BMX competition one of her friends was judging downtown. Again, we were made to feel so welcome by her, as if we were old friends she wanted to show around the city, and in the evening we all retired to watch films in the spacious common room around a big fire.
The rooms were very clean and the hostel was cleaned from top to bottom daily. There is a large kitchen should you wish to cook for yourself; and eggs, bread and coffee were complimentary each morning.
I really enjoyed my time here and would urge anyone else to come and make friends in the most hospitable hostel in Bogota!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    4
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Candelos is a very nice hostel in a central cozy street of Bogota. It has everything a hostel should have; friendly helpful staff, the possibility to get some rest (no all-night-parties and noise), cleanliness, good location, good quality mattresses and the chimney is a very nice and original touch as it can get cold sometimes in Bogota!

To top it off it is quite cheap if you call them and book directly with them or just drop by (avoid booking websites, I noticed they sometimes charge quite a hefty markup!).

Room Tip: Call them and book directly with them (avoid booking websites, I noticed they sometimes charge quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

You'll make instant friends with the super friendly and helpful staff. You'll feel like a real local as they introduce you to their friends and invite you to go out with them at night. They'll keep you advised of which days the museums are free, the best dance spots each night of the week, etc. They'll point you to the best cheap eats in the neighborhood. Communal kitchen and refrigerator available for your use. Free wifi and computer available for use. TV and stacks of DVDs available for use if you get stuck inside on a rainy day. Beer and soda available for purchase.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Candelos was a great hostel. The best part was hands down the staff. They were so welcoming and full of information. They invited us out with them and their local friends for nights on the town and for meals or shopping. It really made me feel like a Bogota local. The location is also great right in the center of the Candelaria district, within easy walking distance to many sights and attractions.

As for the facilities, two great lounge areas and good wifi. All the bathrooms are shared and there was usually hot water. The bathrooms could have used a bit more light. It would have also been great if there were mirrors in the room but other than than, I have NO complaints! Great place!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor to avoid noise from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candelos Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candelos Hostel

Address: Kra 3 # 12c - 94 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candelos Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candelos Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candelos Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.