We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“42nd Street NYC in Bogota” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morrison 84

Save Saved
You added Hotel Morrison 84 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Morrison 84
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 84 Bis N 13-54, Bogota 350196, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99 (USD)
Ranked #39 of 229 hotels in Bogota
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“42nd Street NYC in Bogota”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The minute I entered my room on the second floor of this hotel it was evident that I could not sleep in that room. It hovers 20 feet over an area which is a riotous mix of 2nd Avenue and 8th Street and 42nd Street and Broadway in NYC. Discos with pumping base, hawkers of fake watches, and pimps offering "chicas" crowd the street. Inexpensive bars and eateries attract a young crowd . Upscale stores increase the traffic. The street noise floods into the room which do not have adequate city window. If you can be on the 5th floor, do it, any room below will necessitate ear plugs and perhaps sleep aids. The 6th floor rooms are on level with a roof top disco so avoid those too. I was on the 5th floor and with ear plugs I slept well. Otherwise the staff is delightful. They are warm, know the city and can not do enough for you. If noise is a problem, spend the extra money and stay off the plaza at the refined Sofitel.

Room Tip: Demand a room on an upper floor, bring ear plugs just incase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    62
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
29
38
18
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Lorenzo, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My daughter and I just spent 5 nights in this charming hotel. The staff was always attentive and most pleasant. Our room was large and bright. There is a business center with the free use of computers. Breakfast was quite good. There is a lot of activity around the hotel especially on week-ends (Bogota is a very lively city) and music until the wee hours,but the windows muffeled the sound so that we both got good nights sleep.. The hotel has it's own taxi drivers who we used often and were always pleased. We set pick-up times in various places in the city and the drivers were always dependable...plus taxi prices are very reasonable ($4 to a friends home and $53 for all day driving and waiting from 10am to 5pm). Our only complaint was a insurance fee on our bill that we questioned and was removed without any problem. Never underwstood what the fee was ever to cover. Located in the Zona Rosa or Zona T, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room with view facing park, fun for people watching, but back may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was my first trip to Columbia and Bogota was our first stop. We were two women traveling on our own, my mother (78) and me (48). We were extremely happy with our choice of Hotel Morrison 84. The room was modern and spacious. Our room looked out on the park in front of the hotel. The staff was helpful in arranging transportation to/from the airport as well as arranging drivers to visit Cerro de Montserrate and La Candelaria. We were told not to trust the taxis unless we called them as there had been issues with robberies from illegitimate taxi drivers in Bogota. The hotel is situated right in the Zone T (some call Zona Rosa) which was convenient to walk to many great restaurants, even at night. We never felt unsafe in the Zona T as there were many people out every night as well as a police presence on the streets, and security guards at all the restaurants.
Pros: Location in Zona T, spacious/modern rooms, comfortable beds, attentive staff, great breakfast included in either restaurant or could be delivered to room
Cons: some music/noise on weekend nights due proximity to night club.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the front of the hotel may be quieter if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Probably the best in this hotel is the friendly and helpful staff from the reception desk. Nice big room, very clean, good breakfast, so the room where they serve it is a bit small, restaurant is ok, but not really extra, sure better options in the surroundings. On weekends ask for a room at the frontside of the hotel where there is a little park, because a lot of discos around the hotel and noisy up to 5 in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms on the parkside, nice view and avoid the noise on the backside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The first 2 rooms we were shown on arrival were both tiny, one only having a small window over looking rooftops (floor 7). We then remembered we had booked a Junior Suite and was then shown the room pictured above and have spent 3 nights here. The bigger room has made a huge difference. I agree 100% with other reviewers that the staff were faultless, all from front desk, room service and restaurant staff at breakfast. Location good, lots of restaurants and shops. Our room has been very clean. The only reason for 4 and not 5 stars is although adequate, the bathroom is in need of updating, the shower difficult to manage over the bath and the plug doesn't fit the hand basin. Very minor inconveniences...

Room Tip: The elevator only goes to floor 6. Stairs needed for floor 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Everything about this hotel was fantastic. Front desk staff were always eager to help and internet access speeds were a lot better than expected.
Food was excellent with a good range of breakfast options and room service was very prompt. The restaurant for lunch was good too.
The general location was handy to shopping centre and I felt safe as there were lots of police in the vicinity. Definitely recommend for those looking to visit Bogota.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Such a beautiful hotel. Everyone who works there is so helpful and welcoming. The girls at the front desk were so open to our questions and helping us decide what we should do in the city and how to get around.
The rooms were nice and very comfortable and had lots of space.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Morrison 84? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morrison 84

Address: Calle 84 Bis N 13-54, Bogota 350196, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bogota
#28 Family Hotel in Bogota
#33 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Morrison 84 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English-style Hotel situated across the Park Leon de Greiff; in commercial & cultural area of the city, convenient to Andino Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Morrison 84 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morrison 84, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.