We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Bogota” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estelar Windsor House

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estelar Windsor House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estelar Windsor House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 95 No 9-97, Bogota, Colombia (Chapinero)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 230 Hotels in Bogota
Tel Aviv
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Bogota”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The room was large and included work space. Decor is rather plain but adequate. Free Wi Fi. Reasonable breakfast, good staff. No A/C, but lack is not crucial. Iron and board included in room Overall good value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    25
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
8
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edm
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel because of its location. It was generally a very nice hotel with good service. However, I found it difficult to get a good nights sleep. The beds were quite hard and this is the first hotel in recent memory that didn't have air conditioning. You could keep the room cool by leaving the window open, but between the construction adjacent to the hotel that finished late and started early, plus a particular car alarm I didn't sleep well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have completed several stays in the Estelar Windsor House. This is a conversion from a condominium building to a hotel. That is the reason for the unusual design with an internal atrium and cast iron staircases reminiscent of Victorian London. When being assigned your room seek one of the suites, but not one of the two story ones. Once you become used to the big window fronting your living room, the setup is actually quite practical. The location is in a very neighborhood in which you can walk around and feel comfortable. The staff gets to know you and is very friendly. take the time to smile and get to know them. There is a gym, but the equipment is old and some needs replacement. Overall, this is a pleasant option for a stay in Bogota.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

On my first trip to Bogota the company put me up close to the office in the safe surrounds of this northern nquarter of this sprawling city.

I lived three days in this narrow strip. The hotel was absolutelyt fine. Almost all you'd expect from a business hotel: comfort, safety, good wifi but not much in the way of natural beauty or exercise options.

The room - I had suite 512 - was huge. A vast lounge but with windows oddly facing inside to the hotel corridor. A blind preserves privacy, but is still strange. The wood-floored suite then opens onto the bedroom with a decent-sized bed and window overlooking neighbouring flats.

The bathroom has a large bathtub with jets as well as....the wardrobes - never seen those in a bathroom before.

I ate breakfast here. had it on the outside terrace (see pic) and it was varied and plentiful. The terrace is heated.

Overall a pleasant three night stay, but not over-excited about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
168 hotel reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
450 helpful votes 450 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Quick summary: safe location. This was a good stay, but the first room I was shown was not good - maybe the last of the unrenovated rooms? I was given another room that was much better. The point: ask for something else if you are not happy.

The hotel was chosen by local colleagues for quality, safety, and location to the corporate offices. The area and hotel feel safe, and there are neaby restaurants and shops worth visiting.

My first room (#511) must have been one of the last to be renovated and seemed to have no ventilation (A/C or heat, but can't be sure.) When I mentioned it, I was moved to a much nicer room (#520) in terms of feeling fresh, upgraded plumbing, feeling safe opening a window, etc. Both were the standard rooms, I think, i.e. not suites.

These rooms each had king beds with nice quality sheets and bath linens, and felt spacious. Good closet and drawer storage, good work desk. Everythig worked well, i.e. wifi, TV, etc. All the usual amenities of a good business class hotel: in-room safe, free wifi, nice toiletries.

Very good housekeeping. Freindly, professional staff throughout.

The restaurant was quite good. The breakfast buffet was a nice spread of pastries, fruits, juices, cereals, good omlette guy making fresh egg dishes, etc. There was some very good talent in the kitchen at dinner, with a range of items to please most tastes. Well-priced wine list. The lounges could serve a good drink.

The hotel is in a nice area, so we often walked to a nearby restaurant, but the hotel's restaurant does a good job when you've had a long day and don't feel up to exploring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I spent four nights at this hotel. The area is very nice and I felt very safe there. The room was spacious. It was quite nice but a little tired. The carpeting in the bedroom was a little old and tired. The bed was *very* hard, as another poster noted. Otherwise, the room was quite nice. Service was very good. The breakfast that came with the room was large - including a full range of breads, juices, really fantastic fresh fruit, waffles, eggs, cold-cuts, etc. The WiFi didn't work well in my room, leaving me to do a lot of internet activities in the lobby (where it worked well). Other than the wifi issue, I had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here during a business trip, and I was given a suite/apartment. On the first floor, I had a bathroom, living room, dinning table, and full size refrigerator, which were great. On the second, I had a nice, big room, closet, and a great bathroom. The only problem were the stairs, as they were spiral shape y very narrow. Fortunately I had a mid size luggage, so getting up and down stairs was not terrible, but a bit challening. This room is not made for people bringing big bags, with health issues, overweight, or with kids ... Hotel in general was well kept, clean, bright, but architectural bridges were different. It gave me the feeling of emergency metal stairs, that connected sections of the hotel. They were hard to roll bags over, and I could see people steeping careful as if they were going to fall down. They were wells secured, but gave that feeling ... Food was excelent, great location, staff super friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The apartment concept was good and different, but make sure you do not have big bags, health issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estelar Windsor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estelar Windsor House

Address: Calle 95 No 9-97, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota > Chapinero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estelar Windsor House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel Estelar Windsor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghl Hotel Windsor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estelar Windsor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.