We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for South American Standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estelar La Fontana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estelar La Fontana to your Saves list
Hotel Estelar La Fontana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av.127 15A-10, Bogota, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 240 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great for South American Standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had a suite here and I really loved the room. It felt very comfortable and home-like. I saw a standard room and that was fine too, however, I prefered my suit. The bathroom was full of all the amenities one might need. I availed of the dry cleaning service and they even sewed a missing button on that had been missing without me pointing that out. I was impressed. The atmosphere is very charming, the staff not so much. The breakfast restaurant is a little bit chaotic. If you order a non buffet item you will most likely have to ask for it three times. They don't really seem very happy to be there and they won't let you in if you are wearing shorts. Plus if you are not finished with your food you better guard it with your life. They clear plates and flatwear instantaneously when you stand up and it takes forever to get a new fork. The breakfast buffet is jusk OK. Nothing to get excited about. The location is great and safe to walk around or to the mall that is just across the street. The gym is also just ok. Some colleagues were very pleased with spa facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    110
    38
    23
    9
See reviews for
41
53
27
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

nice hotel, the breakfast buffet is good and the staff is overly helpful and attentive, BUT the internet wifi service is among the WORST i have ever seen. if they can fix that, this is a great place to stay in bogota.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaRomeroRuiz, General Manager at Hotel Estelar La Fontana, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guest

Your opinion is very important for us, I´m glad you enjoy our service and our food quality.

We are improving a new system to resolve our internet problem.

Thank you for let us know your experience, I hope you stay again on your next visit to Bogotá.

Ana Romero Ruiz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

A phantastic breakfast buffet, delicious fruits of the season!!!!!
Everybody is very helpful and attentive.
All in all a pleasant stay!!
Bogota is a busy, noisy city and in " Estelar la Fontana" you find peace and quiet to relax from the hectic of city life!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaRomeroRuiz, General Manager at Hotel Estelar La Fontana, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Google Translation
Buenas tardes

Muchas gracias por publicar su experiencia en Tripadvisor.

Nos alegra que haya encontrado en el hotel, el lugar ideal para realizar sus actividades en la ciudad de Bogotá.

Esperamos nos visite pronto.

Ana Romero Ruiz
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had lived in Bogota for 23 years and going back to Hotel La Fontana was not a good idea. On arrival very late nobody told us where the room was. It had a balcony where the sliding door had been forced and had no lock. The toilet overflowed and so did the shower. Calling maintanance we were told to not use toilet paper. It kept happening so the plunger was kept in the bathroom. The room overall was not cleaned properly and looked like it was a leftover, since we would stay 16 nights.Room service is good. Restaurant, very slow service and most of the time a long waiting time to be served, breakfast request for 2 boiled eggs took always 25 minutes. After a week we found out, after being told that there were no tables to go to the 3rd floor were they also had breakfast. What a difference in service. We never returned to the main dining area. Coffe shop? most of the time closed and if open extremetly slow service. Meetings were there priority. As to security it could not been better. Keep grounds safe. Taxi service is good but if you sign off to your room you will impose a lot of extras and 16% tax. As a foreigner we are not supposed to pay the daily tax impossed on nationals. We had to pay anyway. Local calls were charged at us 6.50 per call and addicional minutes. Do they expect us to look for a outside pay phone? Our total local calls which were house numbers, no cellphone numbers added to us 452,50 which is something you do not expect from a hotel that charges us 175.00 per night. The grounds around the buildings are well kept and the small chapel is something that used to be there even before the hotel was build. On Sundays there is a local arts fair. It is a shame that this hotel really lacks supervision in all aspects, from rooms to restaurant, the staff really tries their best, but they do not have a superior that trains them so it is not there fault. There is the white per hour taxi service which works very well but do not use there regular taxi service , when a route is charged $ 5-6 thousand pesos we were charged 12 thousand. No control what so ever. We both are older and lived in Colombia for many years to return to what we thought a nice hotel, to find out it is not worth the trouble and would not repeat staying at this hotel. The mall Unicnetro is across the street which makes things a little easier. I changed dollars for pesos at the mall because when I asked at the front desk if they could do this, the answer was no. Days later at the concierge there was a note saying they did. For the rest the trip to the airport at 5.30 a.m for a 20 min. trip cost $30 thousand. The airport is under renewal and take your time because you need to walk and walk. For the rest the aerea around the hotel is well kept ad is nice to see an old building with the Christmas decorations they were putting up.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is very noisy due to traffic but also nightly disco music
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaRomeroRuiz, Gerente at Hotel Estelar La Fontana, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments they help us to know how to become better at our service for you.

I would like to apologize for the experience you had your last stay.

For your description about the restaurant, I deduce you where at the ESTELAR Apartamentos, no in the Hotel ESTELAR La Fontana, we have two different products on the same property.

However, we will review carefully each situation you had and improve solutions to avoid these situations submitted again.

I hope to have the opportunity to attend you again, with a complimentary night for your next visit to Bogotá.


Warm Regards

Ana Romero
Gereral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The staff goes out of their way to serve and help your requests . Well located next to Bogota's biggest and best shopping malls. (Unicentro Mall) Secured and clean. Thier wireless internet is weak at times but besides that it is a great place to stay when visiting Bogota. I will stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Most of all I am impressed with the staff of the La Fontana. I have come here many times over the years and I am always welcomed with such a big heart. The rooms I have enjoyed staying in were spacious and beautiful. The layout and location of the Fontana are very nice and good. Especially I like the Chapel in the courtyard of the hotel.
Again, most of all it is the staff, the people who make this hotel an experience I do not want to miss when I am in Bogota.
Lothar Rapior

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaRomeroRuiz, Manager at Hotel Estelar La Fontana, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
I really appreciate you express your opinion on trip advisor.

We are so glad you enjoy our service and value our product.

You will always welcome

Ana Romero Ruiz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is unique in its architecture and well regarded by the locals. The location is excellent and the rooms quite comfortable and at a very reasonable cost. The only problem I experienced was noise during the night -- alarms going off on the chauffeured cars, drivers laughing, traffic on the main road, which frequently interrupted my sleep. I stayed for two nights and left feeling tired.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front parking area and the main road, or the noise will keep you awake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaRomeroRuiz, Gerente at Hotel Estelar La Fontana, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for share your experience in the Hotel Estelar La Fontana

I apologize for the inconvenient you had to rest in our hotel.

We have started a maintenance program to improve our no noise windows to guarantee our guest have the quiet ambience to rest.

We are always eager to hear what our guest liked and hoe we might improve

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Hotel Estelar La Fontana the next time you're in Bogota.

Ana Romero Ruiz
General Manager
e-mail ana.romero@hotelesestelar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estelar La Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estelar La Fontana

Address: Av.127 15A-10, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Bogota
#38 Luxury Hotel in Bogota
#51 Business Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estelar La Fontana 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the only hotel in Bogotá within beautiful squares and gardens. Conveniently located near Unicentro Shopping Mall, Estelar La Fontana is the symbol of the Estelar hospitality service culture. A unique architecture between open corridors and gardens with a spectacular central square is the perfect scenario for cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Estelar La Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estelar La Fontana Bogota
Estelar La Fontana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estelar La Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.