We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel a bit far from the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GHL Hotel Capital

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added GHL Hotel Capital to your Saves list
GHL Hotel Capital
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 25 B N0 69A-50, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 238 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Düren
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A good hotel a bit far from the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

The Hotel is a good middle class hotel. It is at the beginning of Bogota when you come from the the airport. To the city center it is 5 minutes by taxi. It is very safe with security guards. A nice Pizzaria is just around the corner. Bogota is a cool city with good food and parties. Also shopping is nice.The staff is very very friendy. Rooms are good, Breakfast is great a huge choice of fruits. A very nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    116
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
55
33
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Got back last night. "A" for service effort, D for service execution. Wish I could give it high marks, since it's in a nice quiet area and was very modern. Unfortunately, there was no air cond. and there were only 2 small windows to be opened. They did quickly provide a small a/c unit, but it wasn't installed properly and quit for the SECOND time at 1 am the last night I was there. Also, the fitness center was a joke. Then, when they sprang some unexpected charges like local calls and INSURANCE, I was livid. Unfortunately, I was waiting for my airport shuttle, which of course was late, so I did not have time to haggle, and since the charges were in pesos, I'm not yet sure if I got ripped.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

The Capital hotel experience was wonderful ! The staff were very acomadating. We had a very early flight and had room service make us breakfast at 4 30am. They were .very prompt and curtiuos.The area that the hotel is located felt very safe. Next visit to Colombia will include a stay at this property.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

My friend and I stayed at the Capital for 1 night on the way back from the Galapagos. We were a little worried about staying over in Bogota but the airport staff and hotel staff at The Capital made us feel safe and treated us like royalty. There was a hotel staff member at the airport waiting for us and there were security guards every where at the hotel including a security dog that met us at the door. The lobby was beautiful, the rooms were spacious, clean and quite fancy. The beds were comfortable with 5 pillows on each bed. The food at the restraunt was fantastic and the complimentary breakfast was delicious. The airport shuttle starts at 5:30am and leaves every 20min there after. I've decided to plan a trip to Columbia and I will definitely stay at the GHL Capital.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Clean place, efficient staff. Nice welcome, no hassle, and complied in a timely manner to all of my requests (which weren't many to be honest). It's close to the airport which is kind of nice after a long flight.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

This is a good hotel that is in a truly central location in Bogotá. It is located in between downtown Bogotá and the airport. Security is great. They have a 6 year old antiexplosives dog in the front entrance of the hotel (see picture below), who sniffs packages that people bring into the hotel.

Breakfast is awesome. The egg station guy has an amazing memory, cooking five egg orders at a time. Rooms are extra clean, service is awesome, and the hotel is located in a smart neighborhood.

The only minus was the rate. At 350,000 pesos + tax (approximately $180 at the time of this writing), I found out during my stay that there are equally nice hotels in Bogotá for about $100. Nevertheless, if my company gets to negotiate a lower rate next time, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Woodman
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

Very impressed with the security and cleanliness of the Hotel Capital. In the public restroom downstairs, you could literally eat off the floor it's so clean. Outstanding breakfast is included in the morning and wireless Internet access is complimentary for guests. Only negative is the rooms can be a little warm if you don't open the small windows. If you do open them, the cleaning crew will close them and you'll return to a warm room. The surprisingly large fitness center has quite a bit of free weight and an old Universal system that's in pretty good shape. Exercise bikes are useless and there's one functional treadmill. They claim the fitness center is getting new machines and bikes soon.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GHL Hotel Capital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHL Hotel Capital

Address: Calle 25 B N0 69A-50, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Bogota
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
#23 Family Hotel in Bogota
#31 Business Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — GHL Hotel Capital 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GHL Hotel Capital, se encuentra estrategicamente ubicado a tan solo 5 minutos de distancia del aeropuerto internacional El Dorado, el recinto ferial Corferias, muy cerca de la Embajada de los Estados Unidos, el centro comercial Salitre Plaza, Gran Estacion y el Centro Interactivo y tecnologico MALOKA (unico en Suramerica con un cine domo). El Hotel Capital se encuentra en la zona de mayor desarrollo urbanistico de Bogota, y el area de influencia de las principales zonas industriales de la ciudad. El Hotel Capital se encuentra rodeado de un sin numero de atractivos turisticos entre los cuales se destacan el Parque Metropolitano Simon Bolivar, el Parque Salitre Magico y el Jardin Botanico Jose Celestino Mutis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your GHL Hotel Capital reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel Bogota
Hotel Capital Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GHL Hotel Capital, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.