We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dann Carlton Bogota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dann Carlton Bogota to your Saves list
Hotel Dann Carlton Bogota
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cr 15 No 103- 60, Bogota 91602, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 240 Hotels in Bogota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just OK!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is small and not in the best location for tourists or easily getting to see the nice parts of Bogota.

It's a little old fashioned and tired but everything was clean and decent and service was good.

The gym is tiny and for one person, the breakfast is a bit rubbish and restaurant is quite nice and cheap.

Unfortunately the location is not great for the uninitiated in Bogota and there is nothing except a dunkin donuts in immediate vicinity and I wouldnt want to be walking around at night exploring

Overall a very average European 3 star standard hotel

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannCarltonBogota, Servicio al Cliente at Hotel Dann Carlton Bogota, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear guest:


Best regards to all staff of the Hotel Dann Carlton Bogota.
Thanks for choosing us to stay and let us know your comments about the service received. We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your last stay with us. We have reported the case to our different Managers who will take the necessary steps to correct the faults, avoiding repeat a similar situation.

We hope what happened don´t affect the image that you have and give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Your information help us to review our procedures and help us to improve the quality of our service.

We reiterate our commitment to continue serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    65
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
26
37
21
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

fairly decent, clean hotel. not well located for tourists wishing to spend time in the candelaria and other 'downtown' areas. Not an area to walk around at night either. Well located for the many banking offices in the area.

Room Tip: back of the hotel, away from the main road outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannCarltonBogota, Community Manager at Hotel Dann Carlton Bogota, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest...

Pleased to assist you, the team of the Hotel Dann Carlton Bogota appreciates your comments.
It is an honor for the Hotel have guests as you, because your nice comments are very important to us because these encourages us to continue improving day by day for being excellent.
We hope the Dann Carlton Bogota Hotel continues being your home when you visit the city of Bogota to corresponding your confidence and expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This a very well located hotel, with good value and good service.

Rooms are nice and big, very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed 3/2 to 3/4. Check in normal but Room #317 just ok nothing charming. Almost drank a mini bar water before noticing it was $17,000 COP WT-F. 9 bucks for water in S. America. Nearby shop had EXACT same agua for 6X less 3100 full retail. Comp Breakfast OK no omelette bar or egg cook. Sausage / salsicha was no bueno. During our entire stay no towel or linen service at all weird. But Restaurant Mgr.had time to call and invite us to their empty overpriced dinner spot Pass. CAUTION: Any online rate will include a a surprise fee for Americans of 17.200 COP per day. No warning til check out. View was pitiful busy street w/ road noise. Staff pleasant but NO Airport P/U service. Even cheap hotels in BOG offer it. Try Lancaster House or Hotel Park 97. Trust me i've been to BOG 8 times in last 18 months. Many better choices online rates are bait and switchy. Hotel feedback form promptly ignored.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danncarltonbog, Community Manager at Hotel Dann Carlton Bogota, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear guest:


Best regards to all staff of the Hotel Dann Carlton Bogota.
Thanks for choosing us to stay and let us know your comments about the service received. We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your last stay with us. We have reported the case to our different Managers who will take the necessary steps to correct the faults, avoiding repeat a similar situation.

We hope what happened don´t affect the image that you have and give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Your information help us to review our procedures and help us to improve the quality of our service.

We reiterate our commitment to continue serving you.


Thank your very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed there for overnight so as to catch an early flight the following morning and we were swiftly taken to our room. I had specifically ordered one of the the upper floors during my booking arrangements (booking.com) and was delighted to see that it was indeed honoured.

They also didn't let me down on transport to the airport. Very punctual. The room itself was comfy and even had a home theatre!

Room Tip: Make sure (as I did per recommendation from travellers commenting @trip advisor) to choose the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

I have stayed in much better hotels in Bogota for the same rate --a number of them located on the avenue that connects El Dorado airport with the city- The hotel is about 40 minutes from the airport --on a rare but possible good traffic day. There is no hotel shuttle from the airport so before you travel make sure to find out where the licensed taxis' booth is at the airport. The building has seen much better days but now it needs more than an urgent face lift. Think about a hotel from the 80's and you'll get the picture. I did stay a total of 2 nights but paid for 4 nights in total, because of an early check in and a late check out. The room I got the first night --323--was dated but clean, the bathroom was small but using the toilette was as a challenge because of virtually no leg space. There it was an old Panasonic karaoke player with its 4 speakers spread around the room which made me wonder whether this room is rented for entertainment when the hotel is partly empty. Room 323 sits on top of the restaurant which I'd suspect would be noisy during week ends. Staff was courteous and friendly, but they lack of training. The restaurant was mediocre so I would not recommend to have any meals there. There is a Baskin's Robins across the street and a small coffee shop right next to the hotel where you can grab good Colombian coffee. Security can be annoying most of the time, but there is still a reason for it in Bogota, although the Country as a whole has improved hugely in the last few years. Unfortunately the hotel's location is far from adequate. The closest attraction would be Unicentro, a shopping mall about 10 blocks N of the hotel. Nice leather goods

Room Tip: Ask for room 326 or 327. Amenities seem better there and rooms are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danncarltonbog, Community Manager at Hotel Dann Carlton Bogota, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear Guest:

Thanks for choosing us to stay and let us know your comments about the service received.

We regret the inconvenience during your last stay, we have reported the case to the managers of each process involved, which are taking appropriate actions to correct all the faults, and avoid repeat similar situations in future.

We hope that what happened does not affect the image that you keep from us and give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Nice hotel, worth to be booked when in offer. Clean, pretty good restaurant inside, good free wi-fi internet connection accessible also from the desktops on the lobby but, but... pretty far away from downtown. Unfortunately saturday night is open a disco and if you have the room on the back of the hotel, well... easier to dance in the room than sleep.

Room Tip: Non in the back, in the direction of the disco on the saturday night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danncarltonbog, Community Manager at Hotel Dann Carlton Bogota, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
It is an honor for the hotel have guests like you. When we know your comments about the drawbacks in your room, inmediatly we made tracks and monitores to avoid a recurrence of a similar failure in the future, to improve our quality of service.

We reiterate our interest in being your hosts in Bogota to assist with future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dann Carlton Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dann Carlton Bogota

Address: Cr 15 No 103- 60, Bogota 91602, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bogota
#32 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
#37 Family Hotel in Bogota
#45 Business Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dann Carlton Bogota 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
En el Hotel Dann Carlton, la amabilidad y excelencia serán quienes lo guíen durante el transcurso de su estancia.El Hotel cuenta con personal especializado que estará a su disposición para ayudarlo en cualquier momento. Disfrute de la comodidad, sienta la tranquilidad que tanto busca y déjese deleitar por los diversos espacios que se han creado para usted. Permítanos ser los encargados de su estadía y disfrute sin afanes de todo lo que tenemos para ofrecer. Una vez mas bienvenido y gracias por esta visita. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Dann Carlton Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dann Carlton Bogota Hotel Bogota
Dann Carlton Hotel Bogota
Bogota Dann Carlton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dann Carlton Bogota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.