We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel with nice style.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Dann Carlton Hotel & SPA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Dann Carlton Hotel & SPA to your Saves list
Casa Dann Carlton Hotel & SPA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 94 No. 19-71, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 236 Hotels in Bogota
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel with nice style.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times and for the most part, it doesn't disappoint. Nice style with a friendly staff. I'd say about 50% of the staff speaks English.

The food is pretty good as well, although you shouldn't really be eating in a hotel in Bogota, there's so much out there to try. Room service, Internet access, always car service out front.

It it in a very safe neighborhood, although a touch out of the way. It's a 10 minutes walk down to Parque Virrey and another 5-7n for the Pink Zone. Two or three minutes over to Parque 93 though.

There's a great pool on the roof and an above average fitness center. We had a suite on the top floor with a tiny little balcony, but a nice view. For the size of the suite, and the class of the hotel, it was a really good price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    100
    39
    12
    7
See reviews for
26
42
29
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Impeccable hotel with beautiful floral sculptures, changed ever so often. Not modern feeling apart from the wireless internet. A little bit dark. Takes security seriously.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Since I start my work as a frequent traveller in all the continents, I didn`t found a hotel more luxury, with people friendly and with the better food (out of italy :-) ) all over the world.
Price for europeean people are really low (less than 80 euro by night), all the services you need. Room are like suite, a big gym at the bottom floor with tv and really too many tools (15 people at same time could work).
The exceptional pass from the kitchen: the breakfast is international and also local (try everything). You`ll find out everytime too much people in th structure, `cause the hotel is really big.
It is really luxury also in the internal and external layout and almost close to main mall in north of bogota (less than 30 minutes by feet...).
Try also for dinner their pasta, and especially their meat!!!i think that colombian meat is at the same level of argentina one!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Compared to other hotels in Bogota this hotel goes below average in matters such as: customer service, responsiveness, bed comfort, check-in process, check-out process, internet, maintenance response and effectiveness. While kind, they carry the old culture of customer doesn't have the reason (fares issues) as well as explain why not doing something (que pena) instead of swiftly solving. They don't have no-smoking enforcement neither air conditioning in most of the rooms.
Positive: location and breakfast.
Will not likely return. I'm an intensive business traveler 240d.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe R, Customer Service at Casa Dann Carlton Hotel & SPA, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Guest

We reiterate that the Casa Dann Carlton Hotel staff is always working to offer you a promptly, the efficient service and the product quality that you expect. We hope to have you here soon.

The growth and trust we’ve experienced over the years is because of customers like you, with their important comments that help us to identify failures and thus improve day by day, We appreciate your comments, and we’ll do our best to continue to offer you a prompt and efficient service and the product quality that you expect

Thanks for your comments; we are working to improve our service every day.

We hope you will get a 100% satisfaction service in your next visit.

Sincerely

Customer service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

Casa Dann Carlton is one of those classic hotels with space, comfort and friendly staff.
In a nice looking and special architecture building it's a place that invite you to stay.
It's like the classic European hotel with large rooms, modern baths and a very good room service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, FL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

The overall service is good. You feel safe all of the time. They have a great buffet breakfast daily. The rooms are clean and spacious.

There is no individual temperature control in the rooms, at night the room was freezzzing, the temperature during the morning was okay.
Be prepared there is hardly any light in the room. The bathroom light resembled a night light more than anything else. There were 2 lamps at either side of the bed, fine for reading.
The taxis are extremely reasonable, and you do need transportation. There is nothing close to walk to,(restaurants or shopping).
Computers are available for use.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

If you are planning a business trip to Bogota, Casa Dann will probably suit you just fine. However, if you are a casual tourist, consider alternative accommodations.

The benefits of this hotel have been described by previous reviewers. It is located in a safe area close to Cale 93 and good restaurants. They do have a nice gym and are building a roof-top pool. The lobby bar makes excellent whiskey sour. They do have free internet.

Unfortunately, a number of important features were far less than perfect. First, the beds. Our king-size mattress was so awful, that at first I thought they stacked too box-springs on top of each other. I spend 5 restless nights tossing and turning. Our friends had two twin beds; one of them promptly broke when a single person sat on it. The house-keeping staff is poorly trained. We always lacked towels and toiletries. The first day we asked for a wake-up call and were brought coffee. The attendant watched us pour two cups and then carried of the rest of coffee and milk. The hotel was ill prepared to help with casual tourist requests such as tours, museums, and restaurants. The breakfast bar was fair at best. By 9 am they would routinely run out of various food items. We had to chase after waiters for water, coffee, clean plates and silverware. The hotel is often hosts various conferences. During our short stay, they had at least 2. The lobby area was packed. So, do not expect any peace or personal service.

If you are coming to explore Bogata, you can do much better than Casa Dann.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Dann Carlton Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dann Carlton Hotel & SPA

Address: Calle 94 No. 19-71, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Bogota
#34 Luxury Hotel in Bogota
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
#46 Business Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Dann Carlton Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located with different types of rooms and services of a hotel, we have an excellent SPA, located on the seventh floor of the building, a long stay apartment tower , some equipped with kitchen, an executive floor with excellent personaliced service, some beautiful suites with spacious rooms and many facilities. Our hotel is known for having very large rooms and our recent refurbishment makes them look even more spacious and modern. We have two barroom, one on the first floor and one more modern on the 8th floor with sushi bar. Our breakfast and internet access are free for all our guests. We also have 16 meeting rooms of different sizes to cater your events from 10 to 1,000 attendees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, HostelWorld, Otel, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casa Dann Carlton Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dann Carlton Hotel And Spa
Casa Dann Carlton Bogota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Dann Carlton Hotel & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.