We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic and Reliable Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porton Bogota

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Porton Bogota to your Saves list
Hotel Porton Bogota
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 84 # 7-55, Bogota 110221, Colombia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 242 Hotels in Bogota
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classic and Reliable Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here for 1 week on business. This hotel was classically decorated, clean and decently comfortable. The location is in a safe, well-off neighborhood and the hotel also had security guards- although I never felt like it was needed. My room was a bit dark and stuffy, it seemed like there was no reliable climate control. The bed was comfortable. The restaurant was fine, with a decent breakfast. The food selection for dinner was very limited and heavy on pasta. I enjoyed the restaurants in Bogota city much more.

Most of the staff were friendly, but some were very aloof and not welcoming. The staff did not appear to speak proficient English- I understand I am in their country and cannot speak Spanish-- but as a business traveler this stands out compared to the other places I have been worldwide and it is a mark against a hotel's service in my book.

I did not have time to sight-see on this trip so I cannot speak to the hotel's proximity to local attractions, but it is a long drive to the U.S embassy and the airport. The traffic in Bogota overall is horrendous however. I would recommend this place to a friend, keeping in mind my comments about service and the rooms. This may not be an issue for many people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    10
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
6
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip and enjoyed the stay. It's situated in a very nice part of Bogota that's clean, safe and euro feeling. The deluxe room was comfortable, decent sized with a very firm bed. The decor in the hotel overall is an interesting collection of antique, elegant furniture that makes it feel warm and somehow from a more adventurous time. Free wifi. The dining room is upscale, as is most of the hotel, but doesn't feel stuffy. Staff was very friendly with just enough English to get by...but don't expect long conversations if you don't know Spanish. Large shopping mall with high end brands a few blocks away. Some nice restaurants in the area. Was treated to a meal at the nearby Club Colombia--be sure to try the national soup dish called Ajiaco...delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at the Porton in early Oct, 2012. First this is nothing like your normal corporate hotel. It is almost like staying in a huge home. Friendly checkin, very relaxing restaurant and interior lobby/sitting area. Restaurant was excellent for both dinner and breakfast. My room was very large, the bed was huge. There is no heat or air conditioning which you normally don't need in Bogota but if you have to open a window there is quite a bit of noise from the surrounding area. I will go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I booked this hotel last minute based on reviews. I was very pleasantly surprised by the location near Zona Rosa's hip restaurants, shops and safe top notch neighborhood. The hotel itself has an English manor house traditional decor. The room was spacious with nice linens and free internet access. The service was friendly and competent. I will return and recommend this property to anyone who enjoys a boutique hotel atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was a very nice hotel but way overpriced for what it had to offer. Great location though, near shopping centers, Zona T and nice Bogota neighborhoods.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is a nice hotel. Clean, well maintained. It is a bit quirky, both in style and layout. Because it is in a residential area, it is easy to lose the tourist feeling pretty quickly. The location seemed quite safe and it was easy to walk to great restaurants nearby, even quite late. Breakfast at the hotel was included in the price, but it was a bit underwhelming.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Needs little improvement like prompt service and a better restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTON, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Porton Bogota, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
The hotel staff receives your comments, they are
important to improve every day!

Best regards;

ANYILIS ARTEAGA A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Porton Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porton Bogota

Address: Calle 84 # 7-55, Bogota 110221, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 242 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porton Bogota 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the north of the city, at the exclusive area of La Cabrera. Close to the main corporate and financial centers, the most exclusive shopping centers and the best of dinning entertainment and nightlife.Our classic, detailed and refined style, definitely makes every space of the hotel a special place to satisfy the most demanding standards, for both corporate and leisure. Hotel amenities include 1 restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. 1 Bar, fitness center, business center, 1,060 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Porton Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porton Bogota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.