We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag of pluses + minuses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Real

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Real to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Casa Real
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 93A # 9A-53, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 226 hotels in Bogota
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A mixed bag of pluses + minuses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Pluses: A quiet, safe location near Parque 93 and about 10 blocks away from the Zona Rosa. Large rooms with large bathrooms. Excellent breakfast (try the omelette!) and good lunches. The hotel staff can be accommodating.
Minuses: We booked and were shown to a "junior suite". I have travelled and stayed at a lot of hotels, and if the room was a junior suite, then someone has to come up with another name for a real suite! It was better characterised as a twin room in a dark, ground-floor corner of the hotel right next to the conference room and public toilet facilities! I kicked up a fuss and although the girl at reception was unhelpful to begin with, I persevered and spoke to the manager. She agreed to upgrade us to a "grand suite" for a an additional fee, albeit a reduced rate from the usual grand suite rates. The grand suite was very large with 1 bedroom, kitchenette, desk, sofa bed and a very large bathroom. I did think the bathroom was in need of renovation though.
All in all, I was relatively satisfied with the hotel although I wouldn't necessarily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinaholguin, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa Real, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

One of the best things of Casa Real 93 is the size and quality of our rooms and our staff. Junior Suites are our standard accomodations. Grand Suites, as you mentioned, are large rooms with separate bedroom and living room. Studio Suites are the ground-floor rooms, which include a private terrace with a garden. Next time you stay in Casa Real, please make sure you let us know which room you would prefer to stay in. I am glad our staff was able to help you change rooms as you requested. Happy travels!
Catalina Holguin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    37
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
48
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

I just stayed at Casa Real this past week for five nights. This is not a large hotel, which is a positive for me. The room was clean, large and well-organized for chilling out or doing work. A very comfortable place. But the real highlights were two: First, Marta, the manager (owner?), is wonderful. She helped arrange my group's drivers (the best was Eduardo - ask for him), and she was just super friendly. Her English is great if that's an issue for you. Second, breakfast is terrific and included. Great pancakes or eggs, cereal, fresh fruit, o.j., coffee, etc. If you like your gym right in the hotel, you'll be disappointed; but they have an arrangement with Spinning Center, about 7 minutes walking away, which is a fine gym with treadmills, weights, bikes, etc. It's in the great, safe Parc 93 area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinaholguin, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa Real, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Dear Guest:

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay in Casa Real 93. We strive to provide better services for our guests. We hope that the next time you visit, you will let us show you a variety of outdoors activities available next to Casa Real. By the way, Martha continues to serve all our guests with the same charming smile! We hope to have you with us again.
Sincerely,
Catalina Holguin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed at this hotel while in the city to visit my partner's family. The room was very large with a separate sitting area and a bar area. The bathroom was a little dated, as other reviews say, but very large with a whirlpool tub in each. Breakfast is also included and there was a good variety, with fresh omelettes and pancakes made to order. Be careful of the pancakes, though. I ordered one while there and got a single pancake that was about an inch thick. The omelettes were very good and quite large.

The neighborhood was also good, though be prepared to pay American prices in the bars and restaurants in the trendy Parque 93 area a couple of blocks away. There were a lot of police around and we felt safe enough to walk the several blocks to my partner's mother's apartment even after dark. The Parque 93 area has a Bogota Beer Company location and, if you like American microbrews, this is likely to be the best beer you find in Colombia and I highly recommend trying some.

I will caution that if you need a taxi, especially late at night in this area, either have the hotel call one and wait or walk down to Calle 11, which is a main street. If you know ahead of time that you will need one, have the hotel call ahead and reserve one, to skip a long wait at night. Failing this, be very careful of getting into a taxi in the isolated part of the neighborhood nearer to the hotel. If you do, check that they have the proper card identifying them as a legal taxi.

The staff of the hotel was also great and very friendly. There was a bit of a mixup with our reservations, which was not discovered until we checked out after our first night (we returned for two nights later in our trip). The manager was able to resolve it after about 10 minutes of discussion, and she was very apologetic about the misunderstanding. On our return to the hotel a few days later, we were presented with a nice little cake to make up for the trouble on the earlier day. It was a very nice gesture.

Finally, I agree with the other reviewer recommending earplugs. As in any big city, you will have some noise from the outside. Mainly this dies down at night and the neighborhood is quiet. The only issue I had with this hotel was a bit of noise from two things inside. First, the floors are laminate. If your upstairs neighbor walks around their room with shoes on, you will hear it quite clearly. Second, the rooms mostly open off a main alcove, which is open all the way to the reception area. When traffic at the front desk and restaurant start to pick up in the morning, noise can carry up to the guestrooms.

Overall, it was a very pleasant experience and a great value for the location and features.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Our room was ready upon check in. It was large, with a separate living area and had a terrace. We had a safe in the room and had absolutely no problem with the hotel's wifi. If you want to check your mail and surf the net the connection is fine just don't try to upload photos because it will take forever. They changed the curtains in our rooms one day from the bright red ones in the pictures to modern, white roman shades. The room looked much more modern and a lot brighter. The breakfast is fresh and delicious. By the third morning the staff had figured out that we loved the almojabanas and saved us some every day since. Talk about service! The front desk clerks are friendly and they have private drivers available to take you anywhere you want to go. This hotel is located in the best area of Bogota within walking distance of good shopping and dining. The area is very safe. I was able to watch NFL games in my room including Monday Night Football. I would definitely stay here again during my next visit to Bogota.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

I stayed in this hotel becuase my other choise was was booked. The hotel is okay a bit oudated on furnishings but is okay. We stayed in what they call the presidential suite. The hotel is quite and nokay part of time walking distance to Park 93 which has many restaurants and night clubs. The breakfast and staff were good. The furnishings are outdated and I would have expected a little better for the price. All in all the stay was nice if they would remodel the rooms would be great. Also the presidential suit is the only room that has KING size bed the others are queen size.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

After staying in the disappointing La Candelaria area of Bogota, this hotel and its Parc 93 (Zona Rosa) location was a delightful change. Room was very large, size and layout of an apartment. It was well decorated, quiet, clean, jacuzzi tub, good WiFi, no flatscreen but two TVs--bedroom and living room). Quiet and temperature controlled--nice and warm (last hotel was freezing and loud). Friendly staff, well-done modern and artsy lobby, good room service, great included breakfast. Location was great...much nicer and fresher than La Candelaria, and the hotel wasn't much more.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed with open arms. Everything this hotel does is amazingly good. The people are incredibly friendly and helpful. I read the reviews before I went and the only thing that bothered me was that it was loud. Our experience for the weekend we stayed there was exactly the opposite. The hotel is quiet and we had some great sleepful nights. What it does have is a lot of style. The decor is unique and nicely done. Large rooms with a fantastic location. You can walk to some of the better nightclubs and restaurants in the city. I would stay here over and over again. Oh and the breakfast was fantastic also.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Real

Address: Calle 93A # 9A-53, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 226 hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Real 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Real is renowned for its warm and friendly service. Our guests also love our priviledged location. One block away from Park 93, Casa Real is in the heart of the city's business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Casa Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.