We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Loved It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Real

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Real to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Casa Real
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 93A # 9A-53, Bogota, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 222 hotels in Bogota
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Just Loved It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I recently visited Bogota as part of our first trip to Colombia and, in selecting this hotel in Bogota, one of our first requirements was to stay in what we felt to be a safe neighbourhood. In Casa Real, close to Parque 93, we made an excellent choice in that regard. Not only is the area safe to walk around, both during the day and the night, but the hotel is within a couple of minutes walk of the restaurants of Parque 93, and within 15 minutes walk of the shopping facilities of Zona Rosa. La Candelaria is a bit further, but ultimately only a 10,000 peso taxi ride away.
We stayed on 3 separate occasions and hence have had the pleasure of staying in both the Junior and Senior suites - both ridiculously large on comparison with other hotels in which we've stayed over the past 4 months. We didn't necessarily need the kitchen facilities in the rooms, but the overall level of comfort provided compared favourably with anywhere else we've stayed in South America. The bathrooms and showers were excellent and, although the Jacuzzi had seen better days, our happiness wasn't really dependent on that!
They provide a really good breakfast buffet for a hotel of this size, and decent evening food if the weather prevents the short walk for the afore-mentioned Parque 93 amenities.
Others have mentioned the straightforward nature of the hotel's transfer to and from the airport, and we also took advantage of the trip to Zipaquira, an arrangement which worked well for us.
We have limited to non-existent Spanish but, so friendly were all the staff, they felt like family by the time we finally tore ourselves away from this peaceful oasis in the noisy city of Bogota. After 5 highly enjoyable weeks in Colombia we will return, and certainly this hotel will be the first place we stay.

Room Tip: Whilst none of the rooms are especially noisy, those at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinaholguin, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Real, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time and writing about this issue you had with one of the drivers. Casa Real strives to have warm, helpful and honest staff. I am terribly sorry about the issue you had with said driver (not the father of anyone at Casa Real). While we have a clue about who this person might be, we would really appreciate if you could help us identify him, take the necesary corrections and retunr you the extra money paid. Could you please contact us? About the fee to the airport, I am afraid Bogota is a city 8 times as big as Cartagena. All the taxis in town charge a legal surcharge to the airport. The ride from Casa Real to the Airport is close to 45 minutes and the total cost should be around what you paid: 10 dollars = 20.000 pesos . I wish you happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    38
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
48
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I'll try to be concise here, after just over two nights at Hotel Casa Real 93. On the upside the location is excellent; less than a five minute walk (entirely safe) from Parque 93 and the multitude of bars and restaurants surrounding it. The Jr. Suite is very spacious for a room in this upscale area that one is likely able to book for $110 ~ $132 per/nt, the bed large and firm, sheets very nice, and a good sized bathroom with a smallish jacuzzi/tub. Breakfast was more than adequate. The primary downside to this hotel is that its interior is an acoustically poor design; the multistory atrium feature and tiled floors causing all sounds to be magnified within. All sounds...
If you are a light sleeper (as I am) or place a premium on peace and quiet within your room, perhaps reconsider this choice. If you think the noise will not be a bother, then it's a good value for the location.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinaholguin, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Real, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for taking the time to write about Casa Real. We really appreciate the comments as well as the recomendations. We are currently undergoing a few renovations and one the top priorities is, indeed, to implement acoustic adjustments to the main hall. I do hope we have the pleasure of having you once again at Casa Real. I wish you happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here for five nights on our first trip to Bogotá. Downside: It's a bit far from the sites of the southern neighborhoods and Candelaria, and a longish walk to the Transmilenio. Upside: it's beautiful, quiet, and offers a complete respite from the urban hubbub. The staff are gracious and the rooms are simple, elegant, and spotless. Good breakfast. It's walking distance to Parque 92 and an easy taxi ride to Usuquen if you like upscale life. I did miss being closer to more downscale options. But just plan your day in advance, use taxis, and eat your big meal downtown early in the day. Highly recommend and I wold stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A lovely little hotel tucked away in the Embassy area of Bogotá and quite near shops, dining, nightllife. Rooms are clean, modern, and very comfortable. Breakfast is plentiful and delicious. I had one evening meal there that was also very good (I recc'd the empanadillas) They will arrange for pick up and drop off from airport (extra charge but quite worth it)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I recently got married at a venue near the hotel and we booked 13 rooms for ourselves and our guests. The hotel staff went above and beyond to make sure we were all comfortable. They organized transport to/from the airport, a city tour and a trip to the Salt Cathedral (in Zipaquira). We can't thank them enough for their support and attention to detail. The rooms themselves have a nice modern feel with quality beds, furniture and bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinaholguin, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Real, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Of course we remember you and your group of guests who came to Bogota for a wedding! We are so happy that you had a good time and felt like at home. As you could tell, we all strive to offer our guests a warm and honest service. On behalf of all of the Casa Real staff, I want to thank you for taking the time for writing this wonderful review. !Best wishes to the newlyweds and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed 8 days for family wedding in Bogota (with 17 rooms of family members). Excellent large comfortable room at good price, in excellent location near large selection of restauraunts, parks, shopping. Great and filling hotel breakfasts with selection of fruits, eggs to order, and local cuisine. Lobby lounge with huge wood burning fireplace was perfect spot for afternoon beverages and planning for the evenings. Very safe area - we comfortably walked all over the neighbourhood.

Drivers with vans were on site - professional, clean and safe driving in spite of local terrifying traffic. Drivers spoke Spanish, but hotel staff arranged tours, transport to events, shopping, etc - every trip worked out perfectly and we always were comfortable and felt very safe.

Can't say enough about the hotel staff and owners, who truly worked extra hard to insure every need or desire was satisfied. Tours and event transport for our often large groups were quickly and happily arranged, even last minute arrangements were done with a big smile. Casa Real would be my first choice hotel for a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I agree with many of the points made by other reviewers. I found my room 304 comfortable and spacious. It is at the back so away from street noise. The bathroom is slightly retro and old fashioned but it all worked. The only issue is the noise echoing from reception all the way up the open staircase. The soundproofing between the rooms is poor; embarrassingly so, and when the garbage truck does its rounds at 2.00 am it sounds like it is in the room.

Renovation work was being carried out in some rooms during my stay.

Room Tip: I think that rooms 204 and 205 have a large balcony which will suit smokers in an otherwise smoke fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Real

Address: Calle 93A # 9A-53, Bogota, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 222 hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Real 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Real is renowned for its warm and friendly service. Our guests also love our priviledged location. One block away from Park 93, Casa Real is in the heart of the city's business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.